We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kirkenes one night before Hurtigruten trip”
Review of Scandic Kirkenes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Kirkenes
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Ok size of the room. Hotel in the middle of the city but not walking distance to the Hurtigruten if you have bags. The breakfast is good like most Scandics hotels. You know what you get with Scandic and this was good as it usually is.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Roger K.

Thank you for choosing Scandic Kirkenes and leaving such a nice review here on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed both the hotel and especially our various breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you back at the next occasion.

Wish you a great autumn back home!

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager
Scandic Kirkenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

This hotel is a little basic but perfect for a quick stop before embarking on the Hurtigtuten. The bus to and from the airport and the one to and from the Hurtigruten stop directly outside so it's very convenient. It was very good value - easily the cheapest of our hotels on this trip. It's right in town, although not on the waterfront but that is only a five minute stroll away.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 535family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear guest (535family)

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after you stay with us here at Scandic Kirkenes. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our facilities and the convenient location.

Wish you a great summer and welcome back to us at the next occasion.

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly reception on arrival from Russia. A little bit hostelesque but it fits this frontier town. We appreciated the freebies for Scandic Friends. Pool ok, breakfast excellent- plenty of choice but not excessive. Restaurant crowded in evening so we had falafel and pizza in a very friendly kebab joint five minutes walk away instead.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear John P!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback after you stay with us here at Scandic Kirkenes. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
It a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and our various breakfast buffet. I wish you could get a chance to experience our new a la carte menu as well so you could get a taste of some tremendous local products.

Wish you a great summer and welcome back to us at the next occasion.

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

The good part: The food. Excellent dinner and breakfast.
The bad: Ill-advanced by the staff. We asked for the bus to the Hurtigruten, but were sent in the wrong direction and ended up walking. They also claimed you couldn't check in at the Hurtigruten too early, which also turned out to be rubbish.
So to sum up: Enjoy their food, but don't even think about asking for any information.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank drengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear guest.

Thank you for giving us a feedback regarding your stay.

I am very sorry to read that there have been some misunderstandings here.
Regarding the check in time on the coastliner; Our clerks at the reception providing and forwarding only a information we are receiving from the company. When it comes to misleaded information regarding the busstop, i have to appologize on behalf of my staff. The regular busstop have been moved due to some events ongoing in the town centre at the moment. Also here we have provided the information we have recieved from the bus company. I am really sorry for the inconvinience, bur we have tried to provide the information with only good intentions for our guests.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed service and food in our restaurant.

Wish you a good summer and safe travels.

Best regards
Jevgeni M
General manager
Scandic Kirkenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

On our tour with Hurtigruten we stopped at Kirkenes and decided to walk into town as all the tours were pretty cheesy. We enjoyed tramping over the snow-covered roads and there were plenty of signs showing us which way to go but, being a Sunday, nothing was open when we got there and we realised that by that time we were pretty cold! Fortunately the Scandic hotel has a lovely coffee shop/area next to reception and the receptionist was more than happy for us to sit there and warm up with coffee and cakes. And in Norwegian terms very reasonable prices. Well done Scandic!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewer23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevgeni M, General Manager at Scandic Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear reviewer23_12!

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay at Scandic Kirkenes.

It is a pleasure to read that you liked our friendly staff and our various breakfast buffet.

I am happy to inform you that we have started with renovation of many of our rooms and our public areas. I hope that you will get the chance to experience our new standard at the next visit of Kirkenes.

Have a great summer and welcome back!

Best regards
Jevgeni M
Scandic Kirkenes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.3 km away
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
#1 of 5 in Kirkenes
660 reviews
0.1 km away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
44 reviews
8.5 km away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
36.9 km away
BIRK Husky Accommodation B&B & cabins
39.6 km away
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
#1 of 1 in Vadso
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kirkenes

Address: Kongensgate 1-3, Kirkenes 9915, Norway (Formerly Rica Arctic Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range: €106 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located, close to the Snow Hotel and the Varanger museum. Take a trip on snowmobiles, ATVs or dog sleds along the Russian border. Flexible meeting and conference facilities. Why not finish off with a session at our spa, which offers a swimming pool and a sauna? Scandic Kirkenes offers a whole host of possibilities for anyone who wants to explore the region. The hotel has flexible meeting facilities, with 10 rooms and capacity for up to 450 guests. Set aside some time to visit our spa with swimming pool and sauna. If you are arriving by car, we have many outdoor parking spaces. Free WiFi for all hotel guests. With its ideal location and access to authentic Norwegian nature, Scandic Kirkenes is perfect for anyone looking for a fantastic experience, whether you are on holiday or at your next conference. Try out king-crab fishing or a snowmobile safari when you visit us. We can also recommend a husky dog tour for experiencing the majestic nature of Kirkenes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing