We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
166
45
15
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
45
15
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilton hotel bed apartment cascatas apartments indoor heated separate reception shuttle bus comfortable couch collect towels hilton breakfast washer dryer free sun beds beautiful apartment hotel buffet kids club great resort years running cafe del arte
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

These apartments are adjoining the hilton hotel,a very luxurious setting. It is a little out of the way especially out of season as the shuttle to and from the centre stops earlier and the two local restaurants were closed sun,mon and i only stayed 3 nights. However despite this i wouldn't stay anywhere else as once you get your bearings its an easy 20 to 30 min walk into the centre in the sun or take the shuttle/tourist train during the day and there's a supermarket 10 mins walk max or intermarche a little further. The hotel is idyllic surroundings with waterfalls and palm trees& everything is so clean. Staff are very friendly which i didn't find at the marina. For me the hotel was ideal as i just wanted(&needed) a few days downtime in the sun. Its definitely suited to that rather than those who want to venture out or be at the marina. As for vilamoura its flash and nice to see but I probably wouldn't return as its not my kind of place apart from if i came back to the hotel itself again as its excellent value and ideal for a bit of luxury and relaxation. I didnt try the restaurants but the pool bar was perfect. Had no problems with pool loungers but i did stay out of season. The apartments are out of this world and huge especially as i had mine all to myself;) Kitchen has all mod cons you need. Huge fridge,washer, dishwasher. Good gym open 24hrs,didnt use indoor pool as it was too nice in the sun. I only marked it down as 4 star rather than 5 because of its location especially as i was travelling solo but as a hotel it deserves 5 stars

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsCascatas, General Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your solo stay at our idyllic resort and trust you returned home feeling completely relaxed and recharged.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope you will consider returning at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We are just back from a lovely 12 night holiday at As Cascatas. Overall, my husband daughter and I had a lovely time however there were a few things that we we were a little disappointed with, which is why I could not rate the accommodation 5 stars.

Positives: Our 2 bed apartment was very clean and had most of the things you need for a self-catering holiday. There was a range of swimming pools at the resort that you could choose from, including the indoor heated one, which was welcome when the other pools had gotten too cold for our 2 year old. The breakfast buffet at the Hilton was great, lots of choice. The shuttle bus to the marina and the beach was great, although would have been even better if there had been a bus leaving the hotel in the evening at some point between 6 and before 7pm as there was one at 5.30pm and then not another til 7pm. The park at the kids club was lovely.

Negatives: we arrived at the resort around midnight, checked in with Reception and were shown to our 2 bed apartment. The apartment itself was nicely decorated and spacious. However, despite having emailed a few weeks in advance of our arrival to request a cot for our daughter and a quiet room, we were given an a apartment next to the lifts, where laundry trolleys were kept at all times - and the member of staff who showed us to the apartment confirmed that this was probably one of the noisiest areas of the resort. Also, having carried out sleeping two year old into the apartment, there was no sign of a cot for her so my husband had to go back to reception to request this. Both of these things were very disappointing as although I appreciate it is not possible to guarantee a quiet room, I would have expected a room that was at least not in 'one of the noisiest parts of the resort'. Additionally, when you arrive late with a sleeping child, it is fair to expect that a bed is in place as you have requested. We only tried the evening buffet at the Hilton once but found it to be very disappointing (overpriced and food was cold, despite arriving when the buffet opened at 7pm), which was a shame as otherwise this would have been very convenient. The other thing I would say is that it would have been useful to have a small shop onsite, selling some fresh fruit, bread etc. There was a small shop in the hotel but for self catering apartments, I would expect a shop where people could pick up some basics.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank KReviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsCascatas, General Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our resort for your recent family holiday and sharing your feedback.

In light of the disappointments you mention, we very much regret the inconvenience caused by the oversight to place a cot in the room at arrival and the inadequate location of the apartment.

We are sorry your preferences weren't adequately catered for and apologise for all inconveniences caused.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future and give us the opportunity to restore our faith in our services.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Went in May 2017 with a 4 and half month old baby. Apartment was perfect lots of space we were on ground floor which was really handy. Place very clean and had everything we needed including travel cot. was great to have access to everything in the Hilton we had half board. Only problem was lots of steps with buggy.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank cailindeas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsCascatas, General Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled you were particularly impressed with the accommodations and found the amenities perfectly suited to your family needs.

We thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back again next year.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Went in September 2017,we had ground floor apartment couldn't fault it,maids cleaned the room every day with clean towels,kitchen fully Equipped,dishwasher,washing machine.The shop is a long walk for people in the sun carrying bags of food,we hired a car as they have a underground private car park with a lift,as there is no way we could have done without it.There was a dog which barked all the time so sleep was a little problem.Good facilities for young children play park paddling pool,my complaint was there is 6 pools to choose from the bottom of the pools are rough concrete had a few scapes on my knees,the lilo's are a joke they are getting bigger than ever so take up a lot of the pool,I asked about the subbed situation and was told if people put there towels on the sun beds that they are taken off within an hour if they are not back that was not the case when we were there they were left for hours with no one on them as some people went to the other pools on the complex then came back when they felt like it,very frustrating when people needed the sun beds but staff did nothing,also smoking around the pool they could find a dedicated area for this,I would not go there in the summer months.

Room Tip: Room 21 ground floor is the best I saw 3 weddings while sitting on the patio lovely view of the gardens.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank _john_bridges70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsCascatas, General Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We regret that your recent holiday at our resort wasn't entirely to your satisfaction. We thank you for your feedback and hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver an improved experience on your next stay at our property.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Stayed for 10 nights in a 1 bed luxury s/c apartment at the beginning of September.

Firstly I have been a keen member of tripadvisor for many years and believe it is a valued tool when deciding holiday destination and requirements hence always review.

I have been to Vilamoura several times previous, staying in 5* accommodations but this was the first time in the As Cascatas. We chose this apart hotel based on the many good reviews and also having the use of the amenities of the Hilton hotel adjoining.

Week prior to arrival emailed the hotel requesting a high floor room and if possible a pool view room (noting not all requests possible). Received confirmation saying request noted and would be provided where possible. Imagine my frustration and disappointment when shown to a room on the ground floor with a view of enormous shrub in front of patio window, along with a location next to reception access.

Not happy. Returned to reception requesting room change. Sorry sir all booked up, was the response, try again in couple of days. I have been in many hotels far better than this and you know when you are getting the runaround.

Anyway stuck with a room in a horrendous location from that requested.

Now the positive, the s/c apartment is quite good and spacious esp for families or groups (ie golfers) such as those staying at the hotel. But we use a balcony and this room 001 did not have anything resembling that and it was definitely not pretty or private. So for 10 days it remained unused.

Now the room itself is quite good but like most apts there is tendency for excessive wear and tear and this was evident in certain areas. The apt is large and 4 separate rooms comprising of bathroom, kitchen, bedroom and lounge.

The bathroom is decent sized and his/her wash basins and bath/shower combo. The kitchen is well fitted out with everything you would need for a s/c holiday and family use. Excellent in my opinion, esp the use of a large fridge freezer to store all those drinks and water required during the day. Bedroom has decent storage and large comfortable bed. Lounge was large and spacious but oddly shaped due to location near reception. A tv is provided with basic English to channels and Sky news thankfully. But lounge was always in darkness due to location and shade from shrubs. All in all pretty dismal.

Now our intention was to take breakfast and dinner at the Hilton hotel. But Due to their stance on room allocation then we decided to spend our money elsewhere. We saved a fortune by eating breakfast made by ourselves and dinners mostly at the marina. Now we did take breakfast and dinner at the Hilton hotel once only and I have to say it was excellent with plenty of choice and quality food. But it felt so much better not giving them any extra money.

The pools at the Cascatas are far better than the neighbouring hotel (gets busy and noisy) and better for swimming or lounger availability. Although it can get busy and beds disappear by 10am if busy.

The shuttle bus service to the marina and beach is excellent. The driver needs rewarding for this service. Hotel is remote from anything worthwhile and is 25-30 min walk to marina or 10 min on shuttle. Supermarket is 15 min walk.

Now day prior to checkout we enquired about changing facilities as our flight was of an evening. Checkout is 10am so you do need something available. We were informed that no rooms were available and we would need to use the public locker room near Hilton pool. My wife questioned the reception staff whether this was 5star service or that typical of a Hilton hotel. only to be berated only to have. A second manager appeared to comment that you can use the courtesy room at the Hilton hotel just see us on morning of departure. Guess what we checked out at 9.30 and requested use of courtesy room in hotel after 5 mins telecon the response was it was fully booked. Now totally frustrated and thinking this is like a comedy sketch. We now realised that we were dealing with incompetence so we decided to use the public locker rooms at the pool. Now it gets silly. There are male and separate female locker rooms having key locked lockers, toilets and showers. All this is open to anyone using the pool area. We requested a key for a male and female locker only to be informed they had no keys available as they hadn't been returned by other users. There are approx 50 lockers in each locker room, now totally useless re security. We again made complaint to reception and one hour later one key for a locker in female area was provided. Does that mean males don't need secure lockers? This is unacceptable standards esp when you are carrying your valuables inc money, jewellery passports. Imagine making a claim on insurance and telling them your valuables were open for public access. I don't think that would go down well.

Now you've guessed it. Would we go back? Definitely not. The service and standards were far below we should have received or expected of a 5 star or Hilton brand.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are best ideally with pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IanM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsCascatas, General Manager at As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

As much as we try to accommodate guest preferences and requests, I'm afraid that with the exception of number of rooms, apartment floors and views are always subject to availability on arrival. We understand your frustration and disappointment but this is something we cannot confirm in advance.

We apologise for the inconvenience this caused as well as the courtesy room on departure but again at this busy time of year, meeting demand does prove very difficult. We are however working on better solutions for next year and hope you will reconsider your decision not to return.

Kind regards,

Dinis Pires
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews