We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, amazingly friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, amazingly friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I absolutely love this hotel and its staff. Our wonderful experience began even before we got to Portugal. We are HGVC owners and about a week before our check in, the staff emailed me to get an idea of when we'd be checking in to ensure our suite would be ready upon our arrival. Through this communication, Beate, my point of contact, was very gracious and helpful. He provided me information on pricing of a half-board option as well as in room internet. He was also able to reserve a car for us on one of the days we wanted to drive to Spain.

We spent 3 nights in Vilamoura, traveling by train from Lisbon (got off at Loule train station and took a taxi to the resort). Check in was simple and quick and we got to our 1 bedroom suite to relax after a long day. We found a nice welcome gift which was very thoughtful. Our suite was beautiful and had everything we needed. (I only had two criticisms of the room but in the grand scheme of things, it was very minor as it didn't affect my sleep quality too much - I found the bed too firm for my liking, and the plumbing was a bit noisy.) Our room overlooked the greens and the small courtyard which was very pretty. We did explore the resort grounds and walked around the beautiful pool. (We ended up not using the pool during our stay as it wasn't warm enough outside.)

The first night, we were so tired and hoping to just stay at the resort, but since Cilantro was closed (it was a Monday) and we weren't feeling the buffet, we took advantage of the complimentary marina shuttle to find a nice restaurant to eat. (We walked around the marina and had dinner, and stopped by the casino for some video slots. We then took a cab back to the hotel.)

The next morning, we had the breakfast buffet. (A good selection for the price, but I personally am not a breakfast buffet type of person, but there is also a made to order omelet station.) After relaxing after breakfast, we went to 7Spa via the spa elevator and spent some time relaxing in the multiple whirlpools of different temperatures as well as the saunas. Very soothing! Afterwards, we decided to head back to the marina to enjoy the lovely weather and had an hour to kill before the shuttle would begin running. We stopped in the Rubi Bar for a drink. Joao the bartender was very charming and great to talk to. He suggested that from we walk from the marina along the beach to Quarteira, his hometown to escape the tourist trap nature of the marina. We took his suggestion and had a wonderful time in Quarteira and found a wonderfully affordable churrasqueria for dinner. Bought some breakfast items to prepare in-suite for the next morning.

The next day we headed out in our rental (we got a Fiat 500!) with Sixt, who have an onsite representative in the lobby in the morning. We didn't have the foresight to reserve a car with GPS, so we asked for general directions. Our Sixt representative provided us with a map and HGVC staff provided us a printout of general directions on how to get to Seville.

We checked out on Thursday. Our issue was that on that day, there was a planned transit strike. The front desk was so helpful in trying to find a car rental for us (no luck as the one way rental started at 130 euro...we attempted to extend our rental with Sixt, but they did not have any available vehicles to rent out to us). The gentleman at the front desk tried one last ditch effort and was able to find a private bus line that was still making trips up to Lisbon for 20 euro per person. He went above and beyond to help us as we were in a bind. We were so grateful to him! The bus departed from the marina so we were able to take advantage of the shuttle one last time.

In conclusion, we had a wonderful stay at Hilton Vilamoura, made even more special by hotel staff that really cared about our experience. We highly recommend this hotel and will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    669
    197
    57
    20
See reviews for
884
1,036
46
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just spent a week in a one-bedroom appartment in this resort. The appartment is very well appointed although it was facing the pool and so the small balcony reduced the size of the living area. Although the weather was warm mid-day at this time of year, its not warm enough to use this balcony for breakfast or dinner and so it is not of much practical use. The appartments facing the golf course hav bigger balconies which do not protrude into the living space.

The staff were excremely couteous and helpful and all had an excellent command of English. The food is top quality but this quality comes at a price. The drinks are very pricing too but we made use of the half price offres for St Patrick's day

It this time of year there are few takers for the pools and sun loungers. I think most of the guests are golfers. Therefore it is almost like having a private pool

Room Tip: There are not many one-bedroom appartments but the ones facing the golf course are a little more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

From the minute we arrived until our departure our 5 night stay was perfect. All of the staff are friendly, very professional and really seem to enjoy their work. Nothing is too much trouble.
I am a very light sleeper but slept really well - so quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was to die for - and linger over. It went on until 11am so we didnt have to rush. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was really very good, and another evening had a bar meal - again excellent.
Although its a little way out of Vilamoura (so not close to beach or shops) they run a free shuttle bus. A taxi into Vilamoura is less than 4 euros.
We also used the spa twice - peace, perfect peace.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank royston63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonVilamoura, Director of Operations at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your "excellent rating" on Tripadvisor. The team and myself are always extremely pleased to read your positive comments and appraisal about the staff.

Your good comments about all three meals have been passed on to our food and beverage teams.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future at the Hilton Vilamoura.

Kind regards,

Lars Sammelius
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a nice hotel, and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are great rates in the winter.
In summer it is extremely busy and the pool area very crowded, but in winter you virtually have the pool and hotel to yourselves (about 10 rooms occupied when we were there). There is a large spa which is not cheap, given the part of the world you are visiting. The only downside is the hotel is literally nestled in the middle of a large housing estate, so you have to travel by car or taxi everywhere. There is a shuttle to the marina but this stops in the evening. If you want a quiet break away from everything this hotel would suit in the winter. In summer renting a local villa or apartment with access to a pool would be a much better idea.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool or if a basic room then get a south facing room, as outer north facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MossandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonVilamoura, Director of Operations at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for the positive comments regarding the team members. Also I would like to mention that during the day in the winter season we have two transfers to the Marina of Vilamoura.

Kind regards,

Lars Sammelius
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband arranged a 25th wedding anniversary celebration break for us at the Hilton Vilamoura, once the Hilton was aware of this, they offered my a Husband a lovely upgrade/celebration package which they managed to keep as a suprise!
I was totally unaware of what was to come, we were met at the airport by a VIP blacked out transfer vehicle, then as we pulled up to the front "the Hilton" team sprang into action welcomed us and showed us to our room, as I opened the door I was totally amazed to find that they had arranged the Presidenial suite and had even laid out rose petals in the shape of a heart on the huge bed as well as around the edge of the huge jaquzzi and champagne
I have to say that every single member of the management and staff at the Hilton made the most lovely effort to make sure our stay was perfect...even the sun shown for the duration of our stay and we even had a sun tan after soaking up the sun on the lovely balcony.
I really would like to thank the Hilton Vilamoura for doing themost fantastic job of ensuring we "celebrated in style"
We always like to holiday in style at top brand hotels and I have to say that this Hilton is amongst the very best solely due to its wonderful customer service andvattention to detail.
once again thankyou to everybody at the Hilton Vilamoura and we are already planning to return to this gorgous area and first class hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank charzmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonVilamoura, Director of Operations at Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear guest,

It is exciting to read the great comment you have written about your whole wedding anniversary holiday that you spent at our hotel.

Whenever the team can we try to make it an unforgettable stay. I have passed on the congratulations to both the guest relations and housekeeping team for going the extra mile.

Please do contact me personally when you have decided on the return date to stay at the Hilton Vilamoura and I will be pleased to assist wherever I can.

Warm regards,

Lars Sammelius
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
2.3 km away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,043 reviews
2.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.5 km away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
8.0 km away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,545 reviews
2.4 km away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Rua da Torre d'Agua Lote 4.11.1B, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-615, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a fabulous spa weekend, enjoy a fun-filled family holiday, or experience the perfect golfing break at the award-winning Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa, one of the leading family-friendly Algarve hotels. This attractive, modern Algarve hotel is situated in five acres of glorious manicured gardens in the heart of the sun-kissed Algarve, Portugal. Set amid the lush greenery of some of Portugal's finest golf courses, the Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa is replete with distinctive Moorish architecture, spectacular covered and outdoor pools and glorious cascading waterways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort And Spa
Hilton International Vilamoura
Vilamoura Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing