We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Portuguese cuisine”

Restaurante O Marisco
Reserve with
Restaurante O Marisco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 213 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$51
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Closed 15 November to 10 February . This restaurant has excellent views over looking the Marina Vilamoura.Its Cuisine offer the best Algarve Gastronomy has to offer.Fresh fish and excellent meats are daily presences in this one of the busiest restaurant in Vilamoura.
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Well worth a visit if you’re keen to try some authentic Portuguese cuisine. The service was excellent and the restaurant cool in the heat of midday sun. We chose sardine and peri peri prawn starter which were both superb. For mains we chose tuna steak and cataplana. I wasn’t aware of the Portuguese version of paella and think I much prefer it. 100% recommend

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank CazMcDonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We searched all over the Marina looking for a restaurant that served Paella on our last afternoon before we departed to the airport.
We were quite pleased when we found this restaurant and other people’s lunches appeared nice.
I think we made the wrong choice with the Paella as it was shockingly poor.
At €45 for two I expected better but immediately upon arriving at the table with no enticing aromas leaving the dish and a very quick service (paella takes time) we were instantly concerned.
We were right to be, the dish didn’t even have paella rice but long grain more like packet bachelors instant golden rice with a handful of frozen mixed seafood that was over cooked and shrivelled thrown in with just two king prawns for decoration.
This dish had never seen any form of authentic fresh paella ingredients or method of cooking. Instead of rabbit or chicken thigh chunks of tiny bland what appeared to be frozen pre cooked dry chicken breast were used. There was no taste of being cooked in wine, saffron, paprika, chorizo or garlic very very bland and truly disappointing.
We did complain twice and gave the chef the opportunity to correct but it came back worse with just an addition of some hot sauce in a separate pot ( I don’t think she understood when I said it contained no flavour or spice) .
As we had run out of time we couldn’t wait again for another and was hungry so reluctantly ate some.
However they did in the end succumb to not charging for this dish, but this had spoilt our last day meal experience in the marina ... we won’t be returning to this restaurant and I’m absolutely amazed at the other positive reviews Re the paella unless they use different chefs at different times and we got the lunchtime poor one.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank muddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Service amazing, quick, and attentive. Fresh and tasty sardines. Good value for fresh seafood. Recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank gardenkatyshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We are here tonight and we really enjoyed our meal! We had the sharing paella and both agreed that it was better than the paella we had in Spain during the summer! It was full of delicious seafood and some chicken as well! We shared the piri piri prawns for starters and they were also delicious! Even the couvert was top class! Really recommend this restaurant on the Marina!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MaryKDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant many times when in Vilamoura and it always serves great Paella and the service is very good.
If we went to the Algarve and didn’t visit O Marisco, the whole family would be disappointed!
Give it a go!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Eyesri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante O Marisco also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Restaurante O Marisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing