We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$204
Booking.comUS$204
Hotels.comUS$204
PricelineUS$204
CheapTicketsUS$204
HurbUS$235
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,031)
Filter reviews
4,031 results
Traveller rating
2,554
1,067
281
77
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,554
1,067
281
77
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews emo restaurant golf course beautiful hotel sister hotel star hotel free shuttle pool staff pool area turn down service relaxing stay half board spa facilities tivoli marina courses sunbeds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 4,031 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2021

We went to Portugal after having to cancel two other short breaks to countries that were not put on the Green list. But we filtered on 5* hotels to ensure we did not end up in a Benidorm type hotel, unfortunately we turned up and because there was a lack of staff we immediately encountered poor service, no greeting when we arrived, and because the flights from the UK were all early morning flights we arrived at the hotel at midday but were just told to go and sit by the pool because our room would not be ready for a while. In fact it turned out we had to wait 3 hours even though they told us they would let us know as soon as it was ready, which they did not, we had to go back to reception to chase. There was no shade by the pool, and all sunbeds etc were taken, so we sat in our travelling cloths sweltering with no shade. While waiting for 3 hours we were told by other guests about the long queues at breakfast, the other guests getting up at 6am to put towels on sunbeds, the fact that many guests who had booked via BA had been put in rooms overlooking a car park (there is no mention of car park view rooms on the website), other guests were waiting to have meetings with management to go through their complaints. We heard about unavailability of the restaurants for dinner bookings, that guest services never answered the phone and so on. So, when we went back to reception to chase up the room we immediately told them about all the things we had seen and heard and insisted on booking restaurants for all of our stay there and then, and asked about sunbeds, because there were some by the adult pool that had a sign saying they were reserved, but no one on reception knew how they were reserved. We finally got given our room key, and discovered what was described as a garden view room actually over looked the tennis court, it was like sitting in a sports arena when you went on the balcony. We changed and went back to the adult pool, where they pool bar people told us they didn't know how the sunbeds were reserved either, but they gave us the name of a guy who they thought dealt with the reservations, it turned out he was the butler manager for the three most expensive suites and basically he reserved some of the sunbeds for his guests every day whether they wanted them or not. So we went back to reception later and asked to speak to him, and we told them we were not happy with our room. The butler manager came and spoke to us, and when I said the grabbing sunbeds at 6am was what I would expect if I had gone to Benidorm he told me the trouble was all the Brits that normally go to Benidorm had come to their hotel when Portugal was put on the green list. He promised us two sunbeds in the reserved area for the rest of our stay but I pointed out that no of their staff knew what the procedure was and they had no way of communicating to people that the reserved sunbeds were free if his guests did not want them, he had no answer to that. Reception offered us an alternative room on our second day, and it was much better, looking out over the golf course, and nearer to all the facilities so we moved to the new room. Portugal changed to Amber on our 3 day and half term was over so the hotel emptied out vastly compared to when we arrived and it was noticeably better, no queues at breakfast, lots of sunbeds available etc. One last thing, Joao at the Cascades adult pool bar was fantastic during all our stay, he was trying to help guests find sunbeds all the time, and was constantly making sure guests had drinks and tried to help with anything that guests needed help with, he should be put in charge of the pool bar as he works not stop throughout his shifts at the bar.

Room tip: Insist on a true garden or golf course view room
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana Belo, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Dear Guest, 
The Team regrets the stay has not lived up to the expectations as you experienced constrains on services and facilities during the period visited, which we assure does not reflect the Hotel regular operation, its standards and the brand values. 
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the situations reported. 
Truly hope you consider returning anytime in the future as we believe you would enjoy a completely different experience restaurant your trust in the Resort. 
Kind Regards, 
The Management 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

We were so excited for this holiday, given the chance to escape 14 months of being stuck in the UK, however the hotel was really not what we were expecting and we were really very disappointed. The main issues were:

- Horrendously busy pool, tiny pool area and insufficient sunloungers available (nothing to do with social distancing, there just weren't enough). People were perched on benches and deck chairs as there were no suitable loungers. Cabanas and day beds are all well and good but they need the accompanying luxury surroundings to be enjoyed which this did not
- No kids club or kids activities (apparently due to covid but given the peak levels around the pool and in restaurant, this wasn't a real concern of the hotel) A terrible 'games' room right at the bottom of the hotel with 1 sad PlayStation with only 2 games. No one ever in it and no wonder given the state of it!
- No guest services via room! Supposed to be available for usual room requests but just rang and rang. When had to go to reception for what was required, they looked surprised even though this is clearly a common complaint. There was an option via the room TV, but this also didn't work! Absolutely infuriating, especially when you have spent £4k to stay for the week.
- Housekeeping wasnt great. Some days didn't come at all, sometimes not until late. Had to chase up several times just to get fresh towels. Worst of all they changed my son's bed and took his favourite teddy and it has now been lost forever. He was extremely upset about this and still is.
- The price of certain things, 5 euros for a bottle of water that costs 0.50c. Also on check out they had charged us 2.50 euros per teabag to have a cup of tea in the room! I mean, come on!

The poor staff were trying their very best and I thought they were all lovely they were on a losing battle in the circumstances. I accept that some changes needed to be made due to covid but most of these could have been avoided if the owners hadn't been so disgustingly greedy by filling the hotel to bursting point. Disgraceful behaviour which has really tainted my view of the Anantara brand.

Absolutely do not recommend this hotel (even with all of the above issues resolved it would not be a 5* hotel)

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana Belo, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Dear Mark,
Regret to understand that you experienced such issues during your recent stay and this have affected your perception of the Hotel and brand.
Your detailed feedback was duly analyzed and will allow us to learn and improve.
Truly hope you reconsider to return in another period or to other Hotel within the brand as we are sure you would enjoy a different experience and we would be able to restore the trust in us.
Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

I have just returned from 11 days here and while there are some positives overall the hotel could improve greatly with a few tweaks.
The check in experience is quite bad, no advice given or help about the resort, just a key handed and in my case grudgingly! We had to wonder around trying to find the restaurants and bars.
The pool area was so busy when we arrived, largely due to the 120% occupancy and the 20% of people who had been given one of the residence rooms outside the resort but were still using the pool at anantara.
We had to set our alarm and get up at 5am or there were no sunbeds left by 6!!!
Not the luxury experience we expected.
Some of the staff are just plain rude and unhelpful and some are really nice but the ones who arent colour your judgement overall and so a staff retrain may help.
I had booked 5 rooms for a large family trip and have been to several Anantara resorts, i also work in travel and have booked this hotel many times for my customers. It may be that the current situation with covid and the traffic light system has turned this hotel on its head but i paid an awful lot of money for the trip and do feel short changed.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tracyg553
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana Belo, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Dear Tracy,
The Team appreciates your detailed review on TripAdvisor.
All aspects mentioned deserved our best attention and will be reviewed for future improvements as we really want our Guests to enjoy the same level of service throughout all visits to this Hotel or any Hotel within the brand.
Regret to understand how we've failed to meet your expectations and hope you reconsider to visit in another occasion as we assure you this was a punctual situation and does not reflect the Hotel standards and services.
Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

I had 3 family rooms for 8 days thinking this hotel. Having stayed several times at other Anantara hotels in the Middle East. I was familiar with the brand. The hotel was at full capacity so there was never beds available. The pool was a JOKE. ( my condo has the same size pool) the only difference is that it caters to normally 20-30 guest instead of 300-400. The house keeping was a disaster. It never fully cleaned the room & I had to constantly call the front desk to fill up the mini bar or specifically tell them to clean places they missed during the cleaning. The hotel itself is 5-6km from the beach. ( on the website they have a picture of Puro Beach & the Ocean.) clearly false advertisement as this hotel is nowhere near the beach. The food is HORRIBLE at the pool bar. Every-time e I ordered a club sandwich most of the times it was either cold or near frozen. The only positive about this hotel was Guilherme or Claudio ( both Brazilian) that work at the pool restaurant. They were always in good spirits & I genuinely felt bad for them… ( as they were not to blame for the horrible food)
Most of the Portuguese workers were self entitled & rarely greeted the guests or had any positive vibes. Instead it felt as if they were doing you a favor serving you. ( remind you this is a $500 per night hotel. This is what I paid) Needless to say I had a hard time giving it higher than 2 stars… if it weren’t for my positive interactions with Claudio or Guilherme. ( that were very nice guys) I would of rated this hotel a 1. It is a JOKE when compared to other Anantara hotels. Overall, will not be back.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TravelExpert010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana Belo, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your honest opinion regarding your recent experience at our Hotel, which has deserved our best attention and was shared with all concerned in order to learn and improve, preventing such situations from ever happening in the future.
We are terrible sorry if in this instance you felt that we were unable to meet your expectations.
The Team truly hopes you consider returning as we can assure you the experience does not reflect the Hotel standards and believe we would be able to revert.
Kind regards.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021

We arrived home last week after an amazing 10 days. the hotel is gorgeous. Our room was large and comfortable with a seperate dressing room, large bathroom.
Im saddened by the very negative reviews. The hotel was obviously short staffed but everyone was working as hard as they could.
We had breakfast every day at 7,30am so never had a problem getting a sunbed, there was a really good choice of food at breakfast with sparkling wine. The breakfast staff were really good.

We gave a large tip on the first day to the pool bar staff so we never had to wait for a drink.
We had champagne in the evening before we went out outside the lobby bar, it was lovely.
A shuttle service is provided but we chose to use uber as its only a few euros and you only wait 2 or 3 mins.
We were so glad to be away we forgave the few minor hiccups of being short staffed.
There is no other hotel of this class near to the marina.
We will be back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank boltotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joana Belo, Guest Services / Front Office at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Dear Guest,
The Team is thrilled to know you had such a lovely time during your recent visit to ANANTARA Vilamoura.
Thank your for your kind words of appreciation of the service received by the Team who give their best daily to provide memorable experiences to our Guests with passion and professionalism. Will make sure to share your comments with them.
Looking forward for your return visit in a near future!
Kind Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews