We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cityhotel Stadskanaal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The Best Western Stadskanaal was a slightly disappointing hotel in an unremarkable part of town.
The rooms were a bit sad looking. Our advance booking was also messed up, so we ended up in a worse room than expected.
The dinner was all right--not anything special though.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank N. D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016

Here for a wedding, staff could not have been more helpful, the food was great, especially the reception buffet and the cheeses. Rooms did have a ceiling fan and a freestanding fan but room was very warm.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Great hotel with very comfortable beds and good location. Myself and 3 friends stayed in this hotel (2 twin rooms) for the weekend so we could attend the MotoGP in Assen. The hotel is in a central, easy to get to location. All of the staff were exceptional and could not have done any more. The bar is a decent size and is well stocked, couldn't comment on the restaurant or food as did not use these facilities.

Just a helpful hint, we got a taxi from the hotel to the race track (approx 30 minutes drive) and this cost 120 euros which is quite expensive but in all fairness the hotel staff did pre-warn us of this.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

As a wedding gift we had received a night in the "pre-historical room" of this Best Western. Having stayed in BW in London, an unexectedly nice hotel, I was looking forward to spend a night in a theme room for our anniversary, expecting the same quality. And, boy, was I wrong!

The surprisingly small room was cheap looking, poorly decorated, and with a round bed that only children would fit. The bathroom was not a 4* bathroom either. Considering that we drove 3 hrs to get there, we had no option but staying. The room was so depressing that we preferred walking in the cold outside until dinner time, than staying there. So much for the romantic night we had in mind!

When we returned from dinner and entered the room, suddently the lights were not working. We had to call the reception to come and fix it.

First thing in the morning, after some simple breakfast, we headed back home. The room is a very good idea, but it needs some serious renovation! I can't even imagine why they would have 4*, it's more like a 2 or 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Thank Anthi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

It's modern building in the town centre. The hotel is near the shopping centre, a lot of restaurant and a theatre in next to the hotel.The room is good except the smell of the cigarette. We don't smoke and we're not asked if we want a non-smoke room or not. It's too warm in the room and the aircondition didn't work. The sauna (an infrared cabin) is in the basement but there is no shower. Breakfast is oke but the buffet was untidy. It's because they cover the bread with a piece of clothes and when people take the bread they didn't put the clothes back. I did tell the staff about it. The space for the breakfast is small for so many guests.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cityhotel Stadskanaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Stadskanaal

Address: Raadhuisplein 30, 9501 SZ Stadskanaal, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal)
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Stadskanaal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Price Range: €50 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cityhotel Stadskanaal 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cityhotel Stadskanaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stadskanaal
Stadskanaal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing