We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Grotenend(Gasselte)
US$75
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$84
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
De Hiddinghhoeve(Stadskanaal)
Booking.com
View Deal
B&B Creatieve Chaos(Stadskanaal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
7
39
34
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
39
34
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Great hotel with very comfortable beds and good location. Myself and 3 friends stayed in this hotel (2 twin rooms) for the weekend so we could attend the MotoGP in Assen. The hotel is in a central, easy to get to location. All of the staff were exceptional and could not have done any more. The bar is a decent size and is well stocked, couldn't comment on the restaurant or food as did not use these facilities.

Just a helpful hint, we got a taxi from the hotel to the race track (approx 30 minutes drive) and this cost 120 euros which is quite expensive but in all fairness the hotel staff did pre-warn us of this.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

As a wedding gift we had received a night in the "pre-historical room" of this Best Western. Having stayed in BW in London, an unexectedly nice hotel, I was looking forward to spend a night in a theme room for our anniversary, expecting the same quality. And, boy, was I wrong!

The surprisingly small room was cheap looking, poorly decorated, and with a round bed that only children would fit. The bathroom was not a 4* bathroom either. Considering that we drove 3 hrs to get there, we had no option but staying. The room was so depressing that we preferred walking in the cold outside until dinner time, than staying there. So much for the romantic night we had in mind!

When we returned from dinner and entered the room, suddently the lights were not working. We had to call the reception to come and fix it.

First thing in the morning, after some simple breakfast, we headed back home. The room is a very good idea, but it needs some serious renovation! I can't even imagine why they would have 4*, it's more like a 2 or 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Thank Anthi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

It's modern building in the town centre. The hotel is near the shopping centre, a lot of restaurant and a theatre in next to the hotel.The room is good except the smell of the cigarette. We don't smoke and we're not asked if we want a non-smoke room or not. It's too warm in the room and the aircondition didn't work. The sauna (an infrared cabin) is in the basement but there is no shower. Breakfast is oke but the buffet was untidy. It's because they cover the bread with a piece of clothes and when people take the bread they didn't put the clothes back. I did tell the staff about it. The space for the breakfast is small for so many guests.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

On the plus side, Comfy beds, nice balcony, great friendly staff, especially Inge and Richard, good food and location was perfect for us. On the down side, room extremely warm, however stayed during a heatwave and in fairness not a lot the hotel could do about that. All in all good value for your money. One day we will make it to the Wiz Art Cafe .....

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We booked this Best Western with a GiftFor2 arrangement voucher for 1 night. The hotel is located in the modern centre of Stadskanaal in the province of Groningen, near a theater and shopping centre and free parking around the corner. The staff has been friendly and were willing to help and assist. Unfortunately we had been allocated in a smokers room and the room really smelled bad and there was no way to open the window. It was just for one night, but strange anyway. Ususally it is the other way around, that you have to ask for a smokers room. Officially there is a sauna in the basement, an infrared cabin, but without a shower. What good is that? Breakfast: Buffet is basic but small and a bit chaotic, because all the bread has been covered with towels. The breakfast seating capacity is also small. When the hotel is fully booked, you might have to stand in line.
The beds were ok, but the atmosphere is too warm. Using the ceiling fan was no option for us during the night.
So for us this has been a one night only stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an non-smoking room if you are not a smoker
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dgoedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews