We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in a pre-historical room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cityhotel Stadskanaal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Reviewed 30 April 2016

As a wedding gift we had received a night in the "pre-historical room" of this Best Western. Having stayed in BW in London, an unexectedly nice hotel, I was looking forward to spend a night in a theme room for our anniversary, expecting the same quality. And, boy, was I wrong!

The surprisingly small room was cheap looking, poorly decorated, and with a round bed that only children would fit. The bathroom was not a 4* bathroom either. Considering that we drove 3 hrs to get there, we had no option but staying. The room was so depressing that we preferred walking in the cold outside until dinner time, than staying there. So much for the romantic night we had in mind!

When we returned from dinner and entered the room, suddently the lights were not working. We had to call the reception to come and fix it.

First thing in the morning, after some simple breakfast, we headed back home. The room is a very good idea, but it needs some serious renovation! I can't even imagine why they would have 4*, it's more like a 2 or 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Thank Anthi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015

It's modern building in the town centre. The hotel is near the shopping centre, a lot of restaurant and a theatre in next to the hotel.The room is good except the smell of the cigarette. We don't smoke and we're not asked if we want a non-smoke room or not. It's too warm in the room and the aircondition didn't work. The sauna (an infrared cabin) is in the basement but there is no shower. Breakfast is oke but the buffet was untidy. It's because they cover the bread with a piece of clothes and when people take the bread they didn't put the clothes back. I did tell the staff about it. The space for the breakfast is small for so many guests.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solodam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015

On the plus side, Comfy beds, nice balcony, great friendly staff, especially Inge and Richard, good food and location was perfect for us. On the down side, room extremely warm, however stayed during a heatwave and in fairness not a lot the hotel could do about that. All in all good value for your money. One day we will make it to the Wiz Art Cafe .....

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We booked this Best Western with a GiftFor2 arrangement voucher for 1 night. The hotel is located in the modern centre of Stadskanaal in the province of Groningen, near a theater and shopping centre and free parking around the corner. The staff has been friendly and were willing to help and assist. Unfortunately we had been allocated in a smokers room and the room really smelled bad and there was no way to open the window. It was just for one night, but strange anyway. Ususally it is the other way around, that you have to ask for a smokers room. Officially there is a sauna in the basement, an infrared cabin, but without a shower. What good is that? Breakfast: Buffet is basic but small and a bit chaotic, because all the bread has been covered with towels. The breakfast seating capacity is also small. When the hotel is fully booked, you might have to stand in line.
The beds were ok, but the atmosphere is too warm. Using the ceiling fan was no option for us during the night.
So for us this has been a one night only stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an non-smoking room if you are not a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dgoedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Stadskanaal is not easy to reach. I had to take a train (2 hours) to Assen and then because it was late at night, a taxi to the hotel. The taxi ride cost 85 Euros.

The elevator is PAINFULLY slow.

I only ate in the onsite restaurant at breakfast and it was adequate but not anything special.

The room was fine. The usual small european hotel room with two single beds pushed together to make a larger bed.

The location is fine - beside outdoor shopping centre and right by the canal which is very picturesque.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a lower floor so you can use the stairs - the elevator is SO slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawgigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cityhotel Stadskanaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Stadskanaal

Address: Raadhuisplein 30, 9501 SZ Stadskanaal, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal)
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Stadskanaal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Price Range: €50 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cityhotel Stadskanaal 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cityhotel Stadskanaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stadskanaal
Stadskanaal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing