We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
23
38
15
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
38
15
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice friendly hotel small charge room was large train station square town caves balcony amenities
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Visited Valkenburg again and stayed at the Palanka which is brilliantly located for the town. Easy walk to everything you want to see but nice and quiet, especially in the evening when the town bars are very busy.
Very comfortable stay at the hotel, we were well looked after and the breakfast was very good.
Would recommend anyone staying in Valkenburg to use the Palanka.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Found this Hotel by Off Chance and So Glad We Did!!....The Hotel Was Nice and Very Reasonably Priced but for Us a Beds a Bed... BUT Its The Staff and Owners that Make Your Stay Memorable!! ...And Here at HOTEL PALANKA The Staff and Owners went Above and Beyond there Duties ... We will Definetly Be Coming Back In August But This Time We Have Decided too Bring The Whole Family so They too Can Experience the Way A Family Run Hotel should be Run!!...We Had Good Food, Great Beers & Wines But The Laughs Were First Class!!!...Definetly Worth A Visit or 3 as I Can Assure you Once youv been you will Be Going back again & again!!!....Thanks for A Break we will Never Forget! ....See You All Again In August with the Rest of Our Clan!!...

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

This hotel is well located in a square near all the restaurants. The foyer is attractive, but once you go up the wonky stairs to the rooms it is like going into a time warp,as I don't think the hotel has been renovated for many years. Our room was very basic, but I suppose you get what you pay for. The beds were clean and comfortable, but the walls were paper thin and it sounded like Niagara Falls when the people in the room next door were having a shower. There was peeling paint on the window sills. The bathroom was large, but there was no plug in the cracked sink and the light didn't work in the self-contained fibre-glass shower, which had an opaque concertina door, so you had to leave it open slightly so that you could see. The staff were pleasant and the owner was a real character and very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Great position. Very close to bars/restaurants/shops and Christmas market caves. Rooms need updating, especially the bathrooms. Showers need thermostats. Breakfast was good, evening meal was average. Lovely staff, owner very pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Spent a week here in this ramshackle old place. However, it's ideally located in a quiet square, the staff are hard-working and friendly and the food is good. Rooms are very clean and it's a nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews