We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$96
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bergrust(Valkenburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
23
36
15
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
36
15
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvery comfortable staynice friendly hotelsmall chargeroom was largetrain stationsquaretowncavesbalconyamenities
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Relatively old fashioned and tired decor, this hotel is central but as a result suffers from the noise generated by revellers in the early hours. We spent three nights there and were woken each night between 2-4am by screeching/singing/shouting outside. Because the weather was warm but the rooms have no air conditioning it was absolutely vital to have windows open, so we were repeatedly disturbed.

If we ever go to Valkenburg again we certainly won't stay at this hotel, but nearer the outskirts.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sansbup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Was able to get a decent priced room on a busy late May Saturday night. Good location in old town on quiet square near castle. Fairly quiet as town is noisy on weekends, especially main pedestrian streets in old town. Had budget room which was rather strangely set up; no window but glass door to bathroom that had the window. Basic furnishings but slept fine; many Valkenburg hotels I saw look similar - slightly out of date. OK breakfast. WiFi worked well though signal weak. Didn't know about pool - would have been nice to use. Staff who checked me in was very nice. Hotel closed on Sunday evening when I was there off-season.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc-hiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This is a huge old building and when entering the reception looks very lovely, aesthetically, and is probably the best looking area of the hotel overall and there's a slight wood polish smell here. The lift is swift and quiet but the stairs are something else... they look all shades of wrong in the sense that they're not straight and go up in little stages in a variety of directions. All is creaky when walking around the place which is forgivable for an old building and does bring character. The 3 different WiFi accounts do not work (!) and I was told to keep trying all 3 on all different hotel levels but none worked nowhere at all - at any point - which was very disappointing in this day and age (Due to connection behaviour it could potentially have been sorted with a simple router switch off/on)

I had chosen this hotel for 2 nights due to its decent reviews, it seemed value for money and had mainly "good sleep" ratings - but we experienced anything but (even after an 8+hr drive and nice meal out in town). The parking lot behind the building was easily accessible - closes with a barrier for which you get a key and has ample parking space but is expensive at EURO 10 per night. We had to pay up front for this and the entire 2 nights stay, which I thought strange. Our room was OK, apart from the non-WiFi, with a great shower and you could have a party in the bathroom, which was huge. It was clean, the beds seemed OK albeit it with separate matrasses which were a tad hard, as is usual for EU hotels. No tea & coffee making facilities though which was a let down. At 1pm people returned in the room next door who were rather merry and loud - walls seemed paper thin. In the morning the toilet broke and when returning in the evening we got moved to a different room opposite. This room was smaller and had a small bathroom which had a door with a large window; so light from the street coming in via the bathroom window (without curtains nor blind) streamed into the room all night.
The main light did not work due to a broken bulb.
My suggestion is for the owners to overnight in each room to experience what guests actually experience - and then improve things. The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast which was like I've seen in some 4 star hotels; and the staff. We didn't try the pool although I peeked into the room which looked a bit small and dark, and not a favourable choice on a cold and dreary day. Even though the hotel was relatively cheap, I would have rather not paid the amount I did when staying here. Half would have sufficed, if that, regretfully. We were offered a free night's stay though which was a lovely gesture.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Write2Eye4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

This hotel is convenient for seeing the town of Valkenburg, Holland. The single bed fit well in the room for one and everything I needed was there. The shower was great. The view out the window included the castle. The included breakfast was very nice and had a good variety of choices. We were there for the Christmas Festivals in the caves and the parade, which were added bonuses.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank GlendaG330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Nice friendly hotel in the centre of Valkenburg but a few improvements required.

The improvements are:

Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms required - this is a standard thing people expect when staying in a hotel

The door in the shower requires replacing. The existing one is damaged and in need of a good clean (room 28).

Poor wifi service - needs upgrading. Did not work for 2 of the 3 days.

Staff friendly and good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews