We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
222
261
100
35
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
261
100
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room facing the pool hour walk relaxing hotel riviera travel tour outdoor swimming pool table and two chairs neighbouring villages spent nights here tuscan countryside wifi connection setting is lovely fantastic hotel taking place good size hotel is situated mezzanine floor highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

The first impression outside is OK. This however changes immediately when meeting the unfriendly staff at the reception and only gets worse. We booked a superior room but I don't even want to know the condition of a classic room! Very small, dirty and worn out bathroom with fungus in every corner, no free water, very badly insulated - could hear everything the neighbors said or did at any time of the day or night. The pool is a scandal: full of algae and fungus. The breakfast could do for a motel. No service, juices, coffee, yoghurt, jam etc all through dispensers. A real very expensive rip- off!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piccolo Castell... H, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Piccolo Castello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear customer we take note of his complaints and we are sorry you write to have lived such a bad experience. The comments and suggestions of our customers are held in high regard as they help us to improve where necessary.
It is our precise task satisfy as much as possible the demands and expectations of guests. The entire staff is always available to best accommodate guests. Our breakfast room with its buffet and the staff offer a large selection of fresh produce such as fruits, tomatoes, eggs and bacon, sausages and cheese, yogurt, bread and pastries fresh baked by the hotel together with a wide choice of cereals and jams . The decision to use the vending machines was dictated by the demands of the guests for greater efficiency, speed, for a 'wider offer and to the wishes of international customers. As far as maintenance is constant, given the strong number of customers, and we regret if it has found little efficiency in the cleaning of the swimming pool due to a suction problem that we proceeded to solve. Following his report, we can confirm that by intervening at the underlying case, we finally eliminated the spots in the corners of the bathtub.
We will be happy If you want us to give the chance to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel with every confort set in a location that allows to reach the amazing Tuscan landscapes. It has a nice swimming pool and the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is all self setvice and in high season too crowded. I didn try the restaurant, but from the outside it looks beautiful.
I will certainly come here again.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank cinziaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This is a place to stay when you have a car as there is ample parking. The hotel is fairly old and the rooms are all on the ground floor all facing the pool or the garden. There is a good restaurant which serves typical Tuscan food. The breakfast in the morning is ample and even has a DIY pancake maker!
There is also a small fitness room and spa which looks okay. I think there is a charge for the spa but the fitness room is free.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Prosecco17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

My partner and I stayed for a week in this lovely hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with Air-con, bathroom, wardrobe, television and safe box. Each room overlooks either the garden or the swimming pool area.The swimming pool has a bar open all day and chairs to lay down, with parasols. There were few families with children and you could tell it was a very good space for the kids. However was quiet enough for adults to be there as well and read, sunbathe, etc. All the surroundings are very well taken care of: hats off to the gardener and maintenance.

Breakfast has many options from eggs and bacon to natural yogurt, local meats, pancakes and not to forget the local tarts and cakes (amazing). It all felt fresh and nice quality.
We had dinner at the restaurant a couple of times and the food is really good.
I also had a massage and it was great.

Especial mention to the lovely attentive and professional staff. They were genuinely warm and caring which made us feel very comfortable. They obviously value their customers.
Access: approx. 2h from Pisa by car. Most of the roads in this area are two lane road (one each direction) and quite narrow so take it easy. The hotel is next to a main road that goes from Florence to Siena. Plenty of things to see around: Chianti area, Siena, Florence, San Gimigiano and many more.

No need to say that all the area has excellent food and wine and the landscape is absolutely stunning.

It was great experience and we definitely have left wanting to see more of Tuscany. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are in ground floor, some closer to the restaurant area so they are maybe a bit more noisy but not sure.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thelondonpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

I have read the reviews for this hotel and most are fair , there are several pros and cons to this hotel, it really just depends on what you are looking for, and how much some of the cons mean to you.

Excellent location, close to Siena, Florence etc
You will need a car, even to go out somewhere of an evening to eat, local town not walkable as first bit is on a busy main road.
Hotel lies between two main roads, this does give some traffic noise during the day, whilst lying by the pool, but you have to listen very hard to heard it.
Whilst we where there the hotel had two large functions on, the first a wedding went on until early am, and was loud, very loud!!
The wedding took over the dining room and some of the pool area.
We went out to eat this night, and when we came in, did a bit of people watching!! Very entertaining!!
The hotel didn't seem to be bothered that the wedding inconvenienced some guests, I was a bit peeved to open my room doors, to find wedding guests sitting on the table outside my room, drinking and smoking!!
Pool area is lovely and tends to be quiet during the day, only getting busy once people return from their days out. Pool bar is open from about 11am, serving snacks and drinks, the waiter is good and very helpful.
We ate in the main restaurant a couple of times, the menu may be a bit restrictive for kids, but the maitre de, was happy to do a spaghetti bolognaise for our kids.
The hotel has a sister restaurant in the town, we ate there once, this was the worst meal we had all hols!'
There are nicer (and cheaper) pizzeria in the main town square. The rooms are a decent size, and big enough for a family of four with the mezzanine floor. However the rooms are sadly lacking in storage, with limited draws and hanging space. I hate living out of my suitcase on holiday , especially for a week. There is plenty of room to put an extra set of draws in.
Room does not have the little extras that it is nice to have in a hotel, convenience tray for a cup of tea etc, or an iron/ironing board.
Breakfast was good, with a decent choice, the pancake machine was a big hit with the kids, although it did break down a lot!!
Also if items ran out, ( it was busy) there was a long wait for them to be replenished.
Tried to get a drink in the main bar a couple of times, but it was too much faff, going to find someone to then get a drink, bar was not staffed in the evening!
We had a drink in the room ourselves and sat outside by the pool.
Overall a decent family hotel for a week exploring , with a few tweeks could be excellent!!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews