We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for City Centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ILUNION Merida Palace
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The title of this review could not be more accurate as the hotel is absolutely in the centre in the Plaza España. Often city centre hotels have difficulty with parking but the valet service offered by the hotel is very efficient so no problem.
Merida of course is famous for its roman heritage and most certainly doesn´t disappoint. Even after visiting Italy and Greece, this city still impresses.
The hotel is sympathetic to its history and is designed beautifully. Our room was over-looking the plaza but was still quiet even though it was the eve of a public holiday. The double bed was very large, more like a super-king, and comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size. We stayed for two nights but did not use the dining facilities as you are spoilt for choice with the restaurants around.
Finally, and most importantly, all the staff without exception were friendly and helpful.
The only reason I have rated it 4 stars is that I think a hotel that has 5 stars should have a decent size pool and fitness centre. Both were quite small. Nevertheless, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My wife and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fredcheckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Director General at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Fred, thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida. Yours faithfully. José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This is a very stylish hotel in an excellent location. We were accommodated in a spacious suite which, like most of the hotel, was lavishly decorated. The housekeeping staff and the people at the front desk were outstanding. Dinner at the restaurant, on the other hand, was a text book Fawlty Towers experience.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Zenobia240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Zenobia240,

Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida.

Yours faithfully,

José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Selecting hotels for an overnight stop is never easy. This was a good find. Comfortable double room, good facilities and efficient air conditioning.
A character Hotel dating back in the main building to 16 th Century. Roof pool and Terrace. Small fitness area.
Local Typical food in the Main Dining Room but as the hotel is central on the main Plaza, there are many places to eat. The plaza opposite is a lively place. Late night noise as it was Saturday night. Room was not double glazed, can be noisy. Room 213.
Plenty of choice for Breakfast.
Helpful and attentive staff. English spoken.
Car valet parked from outside main door.
Request return for departure as off site.
Hotel is perfect to walk to all the wonderful Ruin Sites.
Double Room 220 euros. Parking(19€ ). Dinner and Breakfast extra(15€). Total bill with drinks and a bottle of Wine. 354€.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Mr Peter,
Thank you for filling the quality questionnaire and for choosing our Hotel in your stay in Mérida. We are very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Mérida.
Yours faithfully.,

José María Valadés (Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed in six, 4-star hotels in our tour of Spain and Portugal. They were all very good, but the Ilunion Palace was our favourite.
The Ilunion Palace is located in a building with a lovely stone façade, on the main square in the centre of Merida. The reception area is beautiful. The hotel is built on a Roman theme and there is a large central atrium, with a beautiful tiled floor, a fountain and rather stylish marble tables and wrought iron chairs. The corridors on each floor look down from balconies on to this bright airy space below.
The Roman concept is continued in the guest rooms with a delightful mosaic bedhead. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms spacious, with double basins and lovely tiling. Some of the rooms overlook the very attractive central square, the Plaza de Espana.
Parking always seems to be a bit of an issue in these Spanish towns. However, there is a drop off area outside the Ilunion Palace and the hotel offers a secure parking option, which comes at a standard 24hr rate. For an additional charge of 5 euros, they will valet park for you. In the morning you indicate when you would like your car returned. This worked very well for us, as our car was waiting for when we got back from our sightseeing in the town.
The hotel is in a great location for walking to the main historical sites such as the Roman theatre/amphitheatre, the Alccazaba, and the Roman bridge which are all worth a visit.
As was the case in all of the six hotels we stayed in Spain and Portugal, none had tea or coffee making facilities as standard in the room. If you are that way inclined, it might be worth digging out the old travelling kettle.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. At the end of September, admittedly on a Sunday night, our on-line booking came in at under 80 euros (excluding parking). The Ilunion Palace is a brilliant hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear guest, on behalf of all the employees of the Hotel Ilunion Merida Palace we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Merida and for having spent part of your time valuing your experience in our establishment. We are delighted that the entrance patio is to your liking as well as the location of the Hotel. Awaiting to be able to receive you soon, receive a cordial greeting. José María Valadés (Director Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful hotel one night. Staff was pleasant and helpful and the location was great!i would highly recommend this hotel. Medira as a destination was also very good, lots to discover and to explore.



Gabriel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank builderg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilunion H, Gerente at ILUNION Merida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Gabriel, first of all I wanted to thank you for taking part of your time in valuing our hotel. We are delighted that everything is to your liking. Awaiting to be able to receive you soon, receive a cordial greeting. José María Valadés (Director Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.8 km away
TRYP Merida Medea Hotel
0.3 km away
Parador de Merida
Parador de Merida
#4 of 14 in Merida
1,072 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Vettonia
Hotel Vettonia
#2 of 14 in Merida
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
ILUNION Las Lomas
ILUNION Las Lomas
#6 of 14 in Merida
436 reviews
0.2 km away
Adealba Hotel
Adealba Hotel
#11 of 14 in Merida
434 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Velada Merida
Hotel Velada Merida
#5 of 14 in Merida
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Merida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Merida Palace

Address: Plaza Espana 19 | Badajoz, 06800 Merida, Spain (Formerly BlueCity Merida Palace)
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: €64 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ILUNION Merida Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ILUNION Merida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing