We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,329)
Filter reviews
1,329 results
Traveller rating
395
513
288
96
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
513
288
96
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted convent historic building roman ruins comfortable room an underground car park vaulted ceilings public areas lots of history rabbit warren within walking distance few minutes walk small pool charming hotel on site parking centre of town mini bar amazing roman
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,329 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

An excellent stopping point on any trip through Spain. Merida town is full of history and the Parador is well situated in the centre. Very friendly staff, comfortable room and good food. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadorMerida, Gerente at Parador de Merida, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our Parador. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about your stay. It is great to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you once again to enjoy Mérida and the services we provide. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

The Parador of Merida is located in an old convent in the centre of the city, convenient for all the Roman sites. The public areas of the Parador are immaculate and there is a very pleasant bar with tables in a central patio where you can snack if you do not want a full meal. There is a pool and parking (for which you pay) behind the hotel and underground. Bedrooms are consistent with the historic usage - furniture is plain, walls white and floors are red tile. The hotel is quiet despite its central location. One criticism is that the bathrooms have seen better days but price of the room was very reasonable. Breakfast is a standard buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

This is a large parador in a historic building with an underground car park. We had room 225 overlooking the back of the parador and car park which was functional but not charming and quite a long walk from reception. There is a pool and an area with loungers which were great after a hot day sightseeing. We had a cheese and dried fruit salad for lunch in a covered courtyard - very pleasant. Dinner was quite good but not exceptional. Lots of choice for breakfast. Probably too big a parador for me and seemed to be used by groups - just seemed a bit soulless.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had a lovely room overlooking the quaintly named 'Garden of Tranquility' which wasn't tranquil when the garden hedges were being pruned!
However, the room and the converted convent were lovely and the excellent reception staff had instant answers for our queries. The breakfast was good except for the bacon section because it was never kept hot. The local evening meal special menu in their restaurant was fine and the House red superb.
The convent had its own expensive garage (tomtom wasn't precise for finding the Parador so have a map handy or ask a local) but the site was perfect for Merida and some good visits around,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We only stayed here one night on route to Seville. This is a lovely historic parador (formerly an 18th century convent).The hotel has its own car park underneath the hotel which is reasonably easy to find and costs approx. 19 euros per night to park your car there. There is a lift from the garage to all floors and as ever you know what to expect when you stay at a parador and this was no different. Our room was on the large size, spotlessly clean and well equipped with TV, mini bar etc. and good Wi-Fi. Our only observation was having recently stayed in 2 paradores where the bathrooms had been refurbished, the bathroom attached to our room looked tired and could also do with being refurbished. The breakfast was slightly below the normal parador standard with no fried or scrambled eggs - only tortilla. bacon or sausage for hot food. The cold buffet was as usual. The Parador is within easy walking distance to the Roman Amphitheatre, Roman Theatre and the Alcazar though we did need to drive to the Circus Maximus Overall a good night's stay and a perfect place to stay when visiting Merida

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews