We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful stop off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Romero Merida
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

Just stopped for lunch driving from madrid to cadiz.
Waited 20 minutes to be served then left... many many people wanting lunch or drinks snd one waitress!

Very dirty.

Do not bother to stop here, there are many better roadside restaurants

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Kate B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

hotel very clean and uptodate twin single beds very comfortable very spacious room 117 top floor rear of hotel better quiteside . let down room view overlooking a slight dump. but passable fir the night the rate seems to stay around 60 euros a night if you have breakfast lunch dinner you have to go over to the other building service station self service but the self service is only a piece of bread rest you are served pleasant area wifi advertise all areas in other room no

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Ragsdap67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Just a quick stay for an overtired motorist, very good night receptionist and clean but comfortable room, was very good value and will stay again when in the area. The wifi worked as advertised which is also positive.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We happened upon this hotel by accident because we were looking for somewhere to stop on our way back to southern Spain about 7 PM one evening. It was very conveniently situated close to the motorway and only €60 per night. It was hardly a luxury hotel and the receptionist was very "matter-of-fact" but "come on!" For €60/night it was fine for an overnight stop. The corridor carpets had seen better days but the rooms were large with good ensuite facilities and clean. The Wi-Fi didn't work in the evening but worked fine in the morning.

The cafeteria next door was a great barn of a place and even boasted a bouncy castle. It was pretty scruffy. We thought we were going to eat in the nice restaurant at one end of the cafeteria but this was apparently closed. We ate what was on offer in the cafeteria. It was hardly haute cuisine and the service was a bit rough and ready but the cafeteria staff were great fun and very helpful. We never expected to but actually really enjoyed ourselves. I think the beer and the bottle of wine helped.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Driving from Santander to Casares, Andalusia, I decided to stop overnight. I chose the hotel Romero as it was convenient. Situated alongside the motorway, plenty of free parking, free wifi and cheap. On arrival, booking in was easy, and done quickly. The rooms are quite spacious with all one needs. Though staying by myself, there were two large single beds. The bathroom, again was spacious, and had all the usual bathroom needs. Even a toothbrush, paste and comb! At first it was difficult to get a wifi connection. Tried in the room and the foyer, but to no avail. The restaurant/cafe is situated approximately 50 metres away. They do a Menu del Dia, (three courses plus drink) for €10. Choice of 5 starters, mains and desserts. I had spaghetti carbonara for first, baked hake with sauté potatoes and baked vegetables for main and a cheesecake for dessert. I asked for a red wine and was brought a bottle. At the end I had a coffee. Though the meal itself wasn't anything to write home about, the cost of it all was! €11.30. Thought they had made a mistake but no. To put the cherry on the cake I also got connected to the internet, so whiled away a couple of hours on the net sipping my bottle of Tempranillo. Not everyone's choice but cheap and convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trecelynbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
5.1 km away
TRYP Merida Medea Hotel
8.8 km away
ILUNION Las Lomas
ILUNION Las Lomas
#6 of 14 in Merida
435 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel Velada Merida
Hotel Velada Merida
#5 of 14 in Merida
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Hotel Vettonia
Hotel Vettonia
#2 of 14 in Merida
310 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Zeus
Hotel Zeus
#12 of 14 in Merida
242 reviews
6.5 km away
ILUNION Merida Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romero Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romero Merida

Address: Highway A-66, Exit 630, 06800 Merida, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: €58 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romero Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Romero Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing