We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
65
33
2
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
33
2
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We rented a two bedroom apartment in the old city center, close to the Roman ruins. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. I was worried about the noise from the street below, but it wasn't bad at all. The apartment was very clean and cheery.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We loved dining at the Rex Numitor, and on returning to Merida decided to try the Capitolina upstairs. We had a suite with two bedrooms and one bath for one traveling couple and accompanying grandchild. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom, while quite small, was well-fitted out, even with an electrical outlet for a hair curler or the like. The living room and bedroom lighting was essentially all ceiling lights, and it would be nice to have a floor lamp of some kind by the sofa. WiFi was excellent.

We arrived in late afternoon and there was someone in the restaurant who checked us in, but the morning we left there was no one and we had no instructions on returning the key. And there was just one key, a bit of a nuisance if we wanted to go out separately. It was pleasant to have a small kitchen, however, and the staff had left bread, butter and jam, milk and cereal for our breakfast.

Our suite, #3, had just a tiny view of the Alcazar. If a larger view is important to you, consult carefully when you book your room. The location is very good, with the Alcazar and Roman Bridge immediately nearby and a short stroll to the Roman Theater, etc. And dinner is very close indeed!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Booking.com and based on the Trip Advisor reviews. We requested an early check in between 1000 -1100 and received a confirmation email to say this had been approved by the Aparthotel.
Firstly, it is the most difficult place to find. Signage is next to zero and we spent the greater part of an hour looking for and asking directions to this hotel (no one knew where it was, so that didn't help). What is signed is the restaurant next door which has a completely different name and we had actually walked past the Hotel twice without realising it.
When we finally arrived, the door was closed. We knocked and knocked - no answer. We telephoned - no answer. We phoned Booking.com in the UK (an expensive call) and they tried to contact them as well - no answer. Booking.com apologised and said they would try to find us alternate accommodation (as it turned out, we found our own as it was quicker). You can imagine what is would be like wandering around with cases and nowhere to go!
Later in the day around 5pm, we passed Aparthotel again and the door was open but there was no one at the desk. We ventured into the restaurant to ask if the hotel had closed down and the lady in the restaurant was the reception person for the hotel.
She spoke no English and we spoke no Spanish, so we used Google Translate to communicate.
She assumed we had turned up for our reservation. We explained what had happened and how disappointed we were. She said reception doesn't open until 12 noon. Fortunately we had kept the email which showed our early check in. However she continued to insist that reception didn't open until midday.
She led us to believe that she was sorry for the error and everything would be sorted and there would not be a charge, so you can imagine the shock next day when we received an email charging us for a 'no-show'.
After more communication with Booking.com all was sorted, fortunately.
We were only in Merida for one day and this mis-communication severely impacted on our time here.
I cannot comment on the rooms for obvious reasons, however I would not recommend this hotel because of the issues above. If you do stay here, be aware of the difficulty of finding the place, the reception hours and the language barrier.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulino A, Propietario at Aparthotel Capitolina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2015
Google Translation

Estimados señores:
En primer lugar le vuelvo a pedir disculpas por lo ocurrido, pero me va a permitir que con todo respeto contradiga sus palabras.
Es cierto que estamos en pleno centro de esta bonita ciudad, (Patrimonio de la Humanidad ) que como todas las ciudades de estas características, es de calles estrechas y sinuosas, en las que a veces resulta difícil ver lo que está muy cerca. Para mayor dificultad en el centro histórico de la ciudad no se permite poner carteles, grandes, de información para guardar una uniformidad en todo el centro, esto a veces puede volver al viajero cansado de un viaje un poco loco.
Es cierto que usted hizo una solicitud de entrada en el hotel anterior a lo que el hotel tiene por norma, que es a partir de la 13.00 horas, pues todos los clientes tienen la estancia permitida hasta las 12.00 y tenemos un margen de una hora para la limpieza del apartamento antes de la entrada del nuevo cliente.
Como también es cierto que el hotel le comunico que era posible, pues la recepción abre a las 12.00horas (por favor lea las observaciones que se le enviaron junto con la aceptación de su petición), tenga en cuenta que la confirmación de booking.com es automática y no permite otra opción excepto el apartado de las observaciones.
Se les estuvo esperando todo el día y cuando vinieron por la tarde tremendamente ofuscados se intento comprender en la medida de lo posible y su reserva fue dada por no presentada sin cobrar absolutamente nada , no es cierto que se le cobrase nada ni en el hotel , ni en booking.com aun estando en nuestro derecho de poder hacerlo.
Comentarle también que nuestro hotel es pequeño consta tan solo de Cuatro Apartamentos en el centro de nuestra bella ciudad y nos gusta dar buen servicio. Lamento que a causa nuestra su estancia se viese truncada. Es cierto que cuando ustedes estuvieron por la tarde, la persona que les recibió no habla Ingles, perfectamente, pero el resto de compañeros y compañeras si dominan el ingles y otros idiomas.
Sentimos enormemente no haber cumplido con sus expectativas como hotel y como ciudad, esperamos mejorar día a día.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We chose the Aparthotel Capitolina mainly because of its location and the positive reviews on this site, and were not disappointed.
The location is fabulous indeed , and our apartment had a great view on the Alcazaba and the Roman Bridge. We stayed only one night, so it was very convenient to just walk out of the door onto the main square and the main attractions. Moreover, it was spacious and clean, and there was a beautiful roof terrace too.
As we don't speak Spanish, we had some language difficulties, but service was friendly.
There's no car park, but we had no problem finding a spot on the avenue next to the river.
Breakfast is included, but you need to prepare it yourself in the Apartment.

All in all, a nice experience, and well worth its price.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrickbelgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

In a almost traffic free street near the center and the Roman bridge, we find this building with on the ground floor a - what later turns more than excellent - restaurant and above some apartments with air conditioning and heating. Breakfast ingredients are metered in the room, partly supplemented. Spacious bathroom with a surprisingly shower, two sinks, plenty of towels which are changed. Living room with sitting area and kitchenette, bedroom. A wardrobe with too little hangers, safe and a small bed, 1.90 x 1.60 with blanket and sheets. Daily service for the bed and the bathroom. The dish washing up is up to you, but a dish brush and towel are missing. The rating on TripAdvisor is high for this three star accommodation. But consider: noisy: sounds of the corridor, the other rooms and lots of noise day and night from passing traffic in the nearby street. Maintenance: the coffee machine is not clean and the lid is loose, the pot of the toilet is not fixed and falters, the shaving mirror is loose and skewed. The hood of the lamp on the only bedside table hangs loose on and remote controller of the air conditioner in the bedroom is missing.
Thanks to the extremely friendly staff still value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robbert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews