We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
76
56
16
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
56
16
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews house wine main building olive farm usual hotel beautiful place set menu every corner large swimming pool light meal olive press courses property borgo puglia sea stone coast
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Borgo San Marco is as equally majestic as it is unassuming. From the moment I arrived at the iron gates to my departure I was met with the warm and welcoming embrace of my wonderful hosts.

Some of my fondest memories will be strolling through the property and encountering the wonderful fragrance of exotic flowers and the smell of aged old olive trees entwined with the blissfully cool Mediterranean breeze. Puglia has so much to offer but should you want to get away from all the hustle and bustle steal yourself a moment and enjoy the peace and quiet under the shade of the olive groves and fall asleep under the comforting blanket of the warm Mediterranean sun.

...and let us not forget the food! Be sure to come with an appetite as the food is just wonderful.
I still dream of this place and often remember the pleasant aroma of freshly brewed Italian coffee and the beautifully rich and flavoursome food!

This truly is a remarkable place to escape and unwind if your looking for relaxation.

For all that it has to offer i will never forget falling in love with Puglia, thank you Borgo San Marco.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jennita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgosanMarco, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. It is extremely rewarding to hear that our guests have had a comfortable stay with us.

Your encouraging comments will certainly serve as a wonderful motivator for the team as we continue to strive for service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Borgo San Marco again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We spent a week here in early October and were bowled over. I was a little concerned before we went because of some of the other reviews but in our experience these were completely unfounded. Stunningly restored rustic buildings, set on a beautiful and ancient olive farm, and on our last day we stumbled upon the ancient cave dwellings in the grounds- definitely worth a look. Our room was one of about five set around an old courtyard, very simply but quite comfortably furnished. We ate dinner there three times and each time it was very good - and went down very well accompanied by the house wine! (It was just a little tricky to work out what the "light meal" comprised, but we did get the hang of it after a bit.) Yes it is a set menu, and it is not particularly cheap, but it includes lovely local specialities. The place feels more like a luxurious agri- turismo rather than a hotel, so best not to go expecting all the usual hotel services on tap 24 hours. We were made to feel very welcome, and found the staff very helpful. We really fell in love with the place. Just one minor criticism: the lighting is kept very low everywhere in the masseria, which maintains the rustic feel but makes reading a bit difficult in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank catinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgosanMarco, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You for taking the time to post a review following Your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that all factors had an effect on your experience, and we all really hope to welcome You in Borgo San Marco soon in the future.

Thanks again!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This is a wonderful holiday destination, set in a quiet and peaceful location.The accommodation is lovely, clean and vert different from your usual hotel rooms. The food is excellent, breakfast and lunch were eaten outside, the evening meal was great, with a good choice of fresh food at all meals. Staff are friendly and helpful. Swimming pool is good for children or adults, secluded and a sun trap.

Room Tip: We have stayed here a few times and all rooms have been excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindylou0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgosanMarco, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. It is extremely rewarding to hear that our guests have had a comfortable stay with us.

Your encouraging comments will certainly serve as a wonderful motivator for the team as we continue to strive for service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Borgo San Marco again in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely property and beautiful rooms, tucked away with plenty of privacy. Absolutely worth staying a night (or 2) to relax in this beautiful oasis that has a large swimming pool and Turkish baths. Thoroughly enjoyed the 8 course dinner as well

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Love2TravelnCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgosanMarco, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You for taking the time to post a review following Your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that all factors had an effect on your experience, and we all really hope to welcome You in Borgo San Marco soon in the future.

Thanks again!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

A really, really nice place to stay and would happily return. Set in the middle of an olive farm not far from the coast.
We had a comfortable room (Il Cavaliere) with plenty of space. A suite really in the main building so everything was nearby. As we were upstairs we had wonderful views of the surrounding olive orchards and in the evening Locorotondo became quite visible in the distance.
The pool made the difference and is set in a nice area with plenty of places to lie and sit both in and out of the sun.
Breakfast was adequate with what you would expect on the continent. We had lunch just after we arrived and were slightly aback by the huge quantity. There is no menu as such so the food just comes. All very good though. We heard from another guest that dinner was done the same way with plenty of food again in great quantity.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank oykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgosanMarco, Responsabile reception at Borgo San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest

Thank You for taking the time to post a review following Your recent stay with us.
You've mentioned many positive attributes from your recent stay, from the hospitality to the beatiful setting, from the food to the big outside pool.

I am pleased to hear that all factors had an effect on your experience, and hopefully you will have the opportunity to return to the Borgo San Marco again in the future.
Thanks again!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews