We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you like being left to it!”
Review of Casa Famiani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Famiani
Ranked #2 of 9 Letojanni B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This B&B does exactly what it says on the tin - and I cant disagree with some of the previous reviews, however a couple of things put me off...

We arrived after check in time, and we were ushered up the stairs to what looked like a private family kitchen, where an older lady (who turned out to be the owners mum) tried to 'check us in' - she could not speak a word of English so it made for a confusing half hour sat on a sofa waiting for something to make sense! Eventually got the key to the room and it did look exactly as it appears in the other photos - its clean, pleasant, and had everything you would expect for a B&B at this price. (handy tip for when you're killing half an hour and want to watch TV - you can change the language on american/british shows to English rather than Italian!)

The owner of the hotel could speak okay English - but he also owns Maniel Beach hotel and its accompanying restaurant, which is where he spends all of his time. Maniel Beach is clearly a much more modern and better kept hotel so I could understand why his efforts would be concentrated there. The photos and description on here indicate that breakfast is served on tables in a room in the B&B, however this must have since changed as he told us it would be served at his restaurant. The restaurant is probably a 2 minute walk along the beach from Casa Famiani so hardly a huge trek, but the convenience of chucking on something respectable to wander downstairs for something to eat in the morning was lost - we didn't bother except on our last morning when we knew we had to leave to check out either way. (FYI, it was a nice spread, hams cheese bread etc)

Some work was going on to the building next door - which is not the fault of the owner but a warning would have been nice - as it meant a couple of awkward morning coffees with builders staring at me from the neighbouring balcony, and also being woken up at 7.30am by drills and shouts.

The room was cleaned daily but we had to walk down to the other hotel at one point to ask for more toilet roll which was a tad annoying, overall Casa Famiani is quirky and has all you need - if you like being left completely to your own devices it is perfect but if you appreciate having someone around to be able to asks questions/get help, it is a bit of a hindrance. To check out and pay, we had to pre-empt the fact that no one was ever at the B&B and try to find the owner at his other hotel (which it turned out was where our passports had been kept the whole time)

To give a quick run down on the other bits and bobs, the shower was ok (water pressure not great but anyone who travels Europe a lot would be used to this!) - room was clean, balcony was nice (apart from the view being a bit ruined by the building works) - coffee and kettle provided and air con worked like a charm.

All in all, it was great for the amount we paid, it can be nice to be left to come and go as you please although a little more attention to detail would have been appreciated - the location is fab as only metres away from the beach and therefore short walks up and down Letojanni's main 'strip' - my best guess is that we came at a bad time and our expectations were slightly higher due to what we'd read on here. If I ever had reason to stay in Letojanni again, I would happily stay here for the price and basic amenities, but if you demand a bit more from your stay I would probably seek accommodation elsewhere!

Room Tip: We stayed in 301 - slight view of the sea and mountains but its in a very residential area so not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We (family group of 9 persons) spent a very week in Letojanni at the end of May 2014.
The B&B owner Ignazio is a very friendly person - all of our requests were fulfilled and many questions were answered (from "where to by this and that..." to "how we can travel to...". As a group we were offered to have breakfast at the sea restaurant Lido Maniel Beach - that was great! The beach is also very clean by the way. Lifeguards work very well there.
Once at the breakfast we were lucky to meet Enza and Francesca, mother and sister of Ignazio, you can also see some paintings by Francesca in the rooms.
Rooms are clean, comfortable, with kettle in it to make some tea or coffee. All the rooms have a side view to the sea, some rooms have a spaceful balcony! There is a local minimarket nearby with fruits, drinks, snacks, local wines,etc, and other shops for "vacation needs" - you can buy beach towels and some swimming stuffs there. Bus stop to Taormina is 2 minutes by walk.
So, we enjoyed our holiday in Letojanni! It is very calm, cozy, clean - ideal for family vacation! Thanks to Famiani family for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ideal central location close to anywhere with easy access to bus, railway station, restaurants, etc.
Just cross the street and you are actually on the beach and I used it to swim before breakfast.
The hotel is very cosy and charming and very quiet so you feel private and comfortable.
My penthouse room had a small balcony with side sea view and panorama view on the Letojanni.I spent a very relaxing week here and would highly recommend this hotel to others.
Bravo, Ignazio ! Complimenti !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Don´t waste your time looking for accommodation in Taormina and come to Letojanni, a small "Town" in front of the beach just a few minutes driving from Taormina.

We were lucky to find this B&B and his nice owner Ignazio when were driving around late night without a booking looking for a place to stay. Ignazio kindly showed us a nice room for a reasonable price. The next day in the morning , Ignazio was at the restaurant taking care of the costumers as always, and we asked him about the possibility of renting a kayak because it seems it wasn´t very popular around but he managed to find one for us.

In conclusion: For giving us a nice place, great customer service and the lifeguard kayak :) our host Ignazio deserves a 5.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Casa Famiani is a lovely family run B&B by the beach in Letojanni. Firstly Ignazio was very welcomming. Our room was clean, with a balcony and a nice bathroom. It is beside the beach and breakfast is had in their restaurant on the beach. It's only a one minute walk and is a beautiful setting having breakfast on the beach.

Letojanni is a short bus or taxi trip to Taormina (bus is much cheaper). It's nice if you are looking for a quite seaside village next to busier Taormina. There is also a train station here which is useful to access other parts of the Island.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Letojanni hotels
1.1 km away
B&B Il Mare degli Dei
B&B Il Mare degli Dei
#1 of 9 in Letojanni
45 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Olimpo
Hotel Olimpo
#1 of 11 in Letojanni
884 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#4 of 11 in Letojanni
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Fernanda
Hotel Fernanda
#5 of 11 in Letojanni
140 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Hotel Silemi
Park Hotel Silemi
#3 of 11 in Letojanni
205 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 11 in Letojanni
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Famiani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Famiani

Address: Via Millo 4, 98037 Letojanni, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Letojanni
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Letojanni
Price Range: €51 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Famiani 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Famiani is a charming 3-star bed & breakfast, situated on the most beatiful stretch of the sicilian coastline, it is in a quiet spot on the Letojanni seefront, only a few steps from the sea and only 5 Km. from Taormina, offering its guests the opportunity to relax and enjoy the peacefulness of surroundings. All the confortable rooms have private facilities: shower, wc, hairdryer, satellite tv, air conditioning and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Famiani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Famiani Letojanni, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing