We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
351
304
166
94
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
304
166
94
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funicular railway sicilian orange juice time consuming indoor pool and jacuzzi a bit annoying dark room room was large kids club hotel is situated ice cream choice at breakfast fish piano bar enjoyable stay single room bus service the bus
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We stayed at this hotel for the first and last three nights of a tour of Sicily. Its clientele consists mostly of tour parties and it seems to fulfill that function well. Both our rooms (2416 and 2518) were in Le Terrazze, above the main hotel. The first opens to a communual sun terrace with chairs and loungers, the second has its own semi-private area. The views across the bay at this level are good, once you look beyond the Autostrada. Le Terrazze is reached by a funicular lift so time must be allowed if you're on a schedule. The hotel perches high on a hill and there are also lifts to and from ground level, which can be extremely busy with the arrival and departure of tour parties.

Both rooms were clean, comfortable and similarly equipped, the second with a walk-in wardrobe. The large double beds were comfortable and (surprise for a European hotel) there were hot drink making facilities. On our arrival in 2518 we found the sink plug mechanism jammed. A laborious conversation at Reception resulted in it being mended by the time we returned the next evening.

Meals in the Antares are all-you-can-eat buffets with sufficient variety to suit most tastes. We've never tasted better orange juice than from the machine that squeezes local fruit. You have to choose your moment for the coffee machines at breakfast. There was unlimited acceptable red and white table wine, still and sparkling water at dinner.

On the downside, we phoned Reception five times without being answered. It's lucky it wasn't a medical emergency. Reception seemed unfocused at times. The rooms and restaurant were too warm for our taste but it's probably a cultural thing. The local people were wearing thick coats, scarves and hats while the tourists were in shirtsleeves.

On our departure we were granted a 1½-hour extension in our room, though the maid clearly wanted to 'do' the room after an hour. We wouldn't object to staying again at the Antares on a tour but we wouldn't choose it ourselves.

Room tip: Rooms in Le Terrazze are quieter.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Father-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

I usually don't book anything with a rating less than 8.5, but Hotel Antares looked quite nice in the pictures and the price was only 39 euros with a buffet breakfast, so we decided to give it a try. The room was large, the bed was comfortable and the view was incredible. The bartender was very nice, as was the server at dinner. The buffet dinner was a rip off though, at 15 euros each. The vegetables were overcooked and tasteless. I didn't even eat a full plate. I would have felt OK paying about 8 euros each.

The bathtub leaked when the drain was plugged...water started poring out of a three inch space between the tub and the wall.

Unfortunately, the Internet costs extra and had a very weak signal so we didn't even try it. We've never had to pay for Internet in 8 months of traveling and have stayed in over 200 accommodations ranging from 4 star hotels to hostels.

Even without the internet, we thought we would book another night. The girl at the counter gave us a new price of 69 euros for the second night, almost double! We packed up and left and walked down to a cafe with Internet. The hotel on Booking.Com was advertising rooms for 49 euros!! I resisted the temptation(a quarter mile ascent at a 40% angle) of walking back up and giving the receptionist a piece of my mind.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel caters for large group tours, which I was part of.

The meals are buffets so you will find something that you like, empty plates on the buffet are refilled but some dishes do get a little cool.
The rooms vary so ask to be changed if you find you room unsuitable. I was there for a day, then the group returned a few days later, for this second part of the stay I had asked for a room with a view and was given a very nice room. Most of the rooms are comfortable and toiletries provided, just ask if you've been missed. I imagine that this hotel will be very busy in the summer.

The hotel was probably built in the seventies and some rooms still have the original furniture but others have been updated. This is a big complex of two hotels.

The lifts are slow and small so ask for a room on the first couple of floors so you can use the stairs easily.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank cjwlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a tour of Sicily , stayed the first night in a suite with an enormous bed fabulous views bath and shower and had the fun of travelling the funicular to get to it . When we returned for a further 3 nights the room was in the main part of the hotel was much smaller and only had a shower which had to be hand held.
Both rooms had a fridge and a kettle. Safe needed a 50€ deposit.
Internet was 4€ a day.
Use of the indoor pool was 5€ plus take a swimming cap or 3€ to buy one.
There was lovely views and beautiful sunrises.
Food was fine enough choice.
They have a lift that gets you down to town and sea level.
As said you can here the traffic noise but that's not the hotels fault it's the main route to the ferry.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Rooms with a view of the bay suffers from noise from the motorway running a bridge below the hotel.

The mattresses were of PU type (No springs). The TV had the tiniest screen I’ve seen I years!

Breakfast was relatively OK, if possible dinner in Taormina will be a better Choice. A musician played old popular songs on a keyboard at quite a loud level on the terrace. Not to our liking!

The room was clean and the bathroom likewise.

The matresses were of PU type (No springs)

Rooms with a view of the bay suffers from noise from the motorway running a bridge below the hotel. Loud tyre noise and dap-dap-sounds when cars passes bridge gaps between bridge sections. Trafic all through the night.

Room tip: If possible choose room with view towards Taormina (NOT view of bay!)
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews