We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Expedia.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$115
TravelocityUS$115
FindHotelUS$115
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
23
16
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
16
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2020 via mobile

Located in an old red brick barrack, the hotel is conveniently positioned just a short walk from the town centre. The surroundings are very peaceful and quiet, and the rooms are quite large. Standard finnish breakfast (cold cuts, cheese, jam, Carelian rice pies), which can keep you stuffed for a very long time. Nice and smiling staff. Cleanliness could be improved in the bathroom, but nothing disturbing. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Eirinn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2019 via mobile

Hotel is small, but nice quiet place to stay in historic surroundings. Very large parking place. It is not far from sights and the harbour. Breakfast has local delicates, but also something for every taste.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marjaana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2019

This hotel is built in an old garrison building from end of 19th century. The renovation is very elegant and good quality. The rooms are named after Mannerheim cross knights. The breakfast rooms are on both ends of the building. Extremely friendly personnel. Walking distance to the city center and harbour.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2019

We stayed two nights.

The hotel is located in the old military area right next to the city center and harbor (walking distance). Very calm location with lots of free parking space.

Our room was very strongly ventilated and cold to my taste. There was no option to change the temperature or ventilation. The blankets in the bed were very heavy and sweaty, so at night I was both soaked in sweat and cold, woke up with a sore throat. There is no kettle in the room to boil water with. :( But there is a common room where you can go boil water on the second floor. (Take a mug from breakfast in case there are none!) The common room (titled Cafe Fanny on the website?!) had an ice cube machine, microwave, tv and a fridge (if you don't mind that all visitors have access to your things in there).

The breakfast was fairly good even if it wasn't what I understood from the website (cold breakfast: no sausages or bacon or battered egg etc though sausages were mentioned on the website). There was oatmeal porridge (no other types though mentioned on the website), yoghurt, boiled eggs, fruit, cucumber (no green salad or tomatoes), cereal, Carelian pies (nice addition) with egg butter and bread, cookies, coffee, tea, juice, etc. No butter with bread, just Flora spread on one morning, but butter was available the next morning.

The room was clean enough with plenty of space, modern style furnishings and a toilet/shower. The hotel was full, and a twin room had been turned into a double room for us. The lights were placed a little oddly because of this and the small writing desk had no lamp. There were several dogs in the hotel, and a Russian couple even brought their dog to breakfast, where it whined and whined.

Our stay was good, but I liked Strand Spa better (stayed there last time). For this price the hotel should have had better breakfast and a kettle etc in the room in my opinion. Next time we'll choose a different hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank nimeton_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2019

The hotel just opened in June 2019, so naturally it is very new and clean. Room is nice and bed gives you a good sleep. For a one who served military service in the area this is very nostalgic place. The breakfast is good basic breakfast and when we visited, there was plenty of space even though the hotel was full.

The area is nice and peaceful, with a lot of military history, lot of free parking space and walking distance to Lappeenranta center, harbour and lake.

Couple of things that may be issue for someone were that the first floor rooms are on the ground floor and anyone walking outside sees in unless you keep shades closed. There is no lift so you need to use stairs to get to the second floor.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews