We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, but quite expensive!”
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Reserve a table
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Lappeenranta
Description: Straightforward and authentic. That is The Kitchen. We welcome You to come and experience the combination of great food and excellent company. The heart of The Kitchen is Josper charcoal grill giving vibrant flavours to our dishes made with fresh and authentic ingredients. We serve the best lunch in town and our á la carte menu has flavours all over the world. The Kitchen was established in March of 2017 and is desinged by dSign Vertti Kivi & Co. Welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: Straightforward and authentic. That is The Kitchen. We welcome You to come and experience the combination of great food and excellent company. The heart of The Kitchen is Josper charcoal grill giving vibrant flavours to our dishes made with fresh and authentic ingredients. We serve the best lunch in town and our á la carte menu has flavours all over the world. The Kitchen was established in March of 2017 and is desinged by dSign Vertti Kivi & Co. Welcome!
Reviewed 29 November 2021 via mobile

Great atmosphere! Food is excellent. My wife had salmon which was decorated perfectly. I had steak. Presentation was very poor. Steak ok, but not too impressed. We had very nice wines.
Still the restaurant is costly.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank milansZ4546CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2021

On a Friday evening the restaurant was almost full - so a reservation was a must.

The menu is extensive, giving lots of possibilities but also making you think simultaneously how well the kitchen personnel is able to prepare all dishes in a presentable delicious way.

We had escargots and mushroom soap as our starters. The soup was tasty and the escargots had a nice smell and taste of garlic, but I am not quite sure, if the bread was roasted - as promised.

Grilled salmon was quite good, as were the mussels which originated to my surprise from Chile.

The waitresse recommended good whitewine and from their beer list you can pick König Ludvig Weissbier, which matches very well with mussels.

Creme brulee was a tasty and showy dessert. Chocolate truffle was also tasty, but at the same time a bit tricky, how to eat it out from a rather deep bowl.

The service ran smoothly throughout our dinner.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kariheikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2021 via mobile

Food was messy and complicated: there were risotto, pure, and sauce etc on the same plate. Didn’t make same sense at all. Chicken was dry and overcooked. Considering the food quality the place was expensive.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Wanderer14264033200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Tried to eat there. First we tried to order beer from the menu - 2/3rd of the beers weren’t available anymore. Then we ordered the food - after a few minutes we were told by the waitress that the steak we ordered wasn’t available as well. Frustrated we left.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank sabinew25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Close to kitchen closing we had just mains. The food came quickly but there was no sign of haste. Simple, tasty dishes, well worth the buck. Friendly, attentive service. The only minus is that during a hot night there was no aircon.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank sakarika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

Lappeenranta, South Karelia
Lappeenranta, South Karelia
 
Lappeenranta, South Karelia
Lappeenranta, South Karelia
 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.