We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mehlville
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

There's not a great deal we can add to all the other glowing reviews, except to say this is the best motel I've ever stayed in. The front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The fourth floor "keycard" area had almost a secluded feel to it, was very quiet and free from rampaging children and their oblivious parents.

The lobby had not one but two web-connected computers with printers in the small "business center", although there is abundant wi-fi and wired hookups as well. And the included breakfast was among the best we've ever found, with different selections each day.

Being just off I-55, it's convenient to anything in south St. Louis city or county. It's a bit less convenient to other parts of the area, but if you don't mind a little extra driving you can get anywhere in the metro pretty quickly, including downtown and west St. Louis county.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor if you're solo, a couple or on business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im_only_sleeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We are very appreciative of your wonderful review and glad you were able to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    89
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
545
215
45
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This was such a great hotel, the staff was amazing all the way down to the pool guy. They went above and beyond every time for us no matter what we needed even when we did not ask. The rooms where great and I would say this has been one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.
MAJ
California

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for such a kind review. We were happy to have your family stay with us through the New Year. We take pride in making everyone feel as if they were at home and hope you are able to come visit us from California sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I chose this hotel because it was a great deal with my Hilton HHonors points, but it turned out to be one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. It will be my first choice in St. Louis from now on, and the Hilton corporate family should send all their employees here to learn how to run a great hotel.

The facility here is new and modern, but the real standout is the staff. They clearly approach their jobs like professionals, taking pride in making travel as pleasant as possible for their guests and being creative about ways to impress.

We checked in on Christmas Eve (we were in town to visit family) and the staff had put a small desktop Christmas tree in our room. On Christmas morning (after asking me if it was OK), they invited my 3 year-old to choose a wrapped gift from under the lobby tree -- a stuffed bear. Small gestures, perhaps, but really moving to a parent feeling a little guilty about dragging his child through airports and hotels on Christmas. Staff got to know us in ways that I have only previously experienced at five-star establishments.

Free breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare, but again, the staff made the difference with their professional attitude, offering to change lobby TVs to channels we liked, keeping everything stocked and serving areas sparkling clean. It snowed while we were there, and one of the office staff workers cleared the sidewalks as soon as flakes would land.

The rooms reflect a new approach, and incorporate wonderful details that seem obvious but aren't present at most hotels. There were plenty of outlets, lights were easy to control, and there was a great up-directed LED light over the window that was perfect for leaving on through the night to prevent midnight stumbles. Our standard room included a microwave, small refrigerator, and coffee machine in addition to a large flat-screen TV. Overall, the room conveyed an aesthetic sensitivity rare in hotels.

The location looks far from St. Louis attractions on a map, but the hotel is extremely convenient to I-55 and I-255/270, so getting anywhere is an easy proposition.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face the front of the hotel (suburban view) and odd-numbered rooms face the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtppilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was the best Hampton hotel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot of them over the years. The front desk staff was extremely nice and very helpful. They provided a treasure chest of small toys for my kids to choose from upon arrival. They provided pool toys. Cookies and milk just before bed. Great breakfast choices and again the staff was more than friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. It was very clean and quiet. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10ecvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed at this hotel for business-front desk staff was excellent. Room was extraordinarily clean, comfortable and quiet-everything a business traveler would ask for.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxspeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mehlville
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Address: 4200 Mid America Ln, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129-1202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 is located just outside of St. Louis with easy access to downtown. The hotel is located near Anheuser Busch Brewery, which offers tours and tastings daily. Guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South i-55 Hotel Mehlville
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis/South i-55

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing