We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
339
148
93
69
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
148
93
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miltons restaurant powder room wedding venue wedding reception wonderful wedding jacuzzi bath country house lovely grounds lovely room the main house the ground floor function room wedding guests birthday party superior room large room restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Be warned if you go for the wedding exclusive package they will without telling you charge you (once you’ve left) for any drinks charged to rooms! They took £400 from my card with out even letting me know’ and that once excellent customer service has gone! Rooms are old & tatty, we had the suite and blinds were filthy, walls dirty and furniture tatty & old. Several guest came down Ill after their stay also. Hotel Left the remainder of my wedding cake out instead of packing it away so the £300 cake was wasted!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantleyHH, Director of Sales at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Sarah,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review however we don't believe this is the correct forum to be discussing unpaid bills relating to your wedding. We will continue to correspond with you via email, as we have been since you raised your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Despite the numerous screw ups by Cantley House, my friend’s wedding was only just a success thanks to the efforts of their family and friends. Firstly after knowing they had a wedding that weekend, booked months in advanced, CH was grossly under staffed and unable to accommodate the 50+ wedding guests. Knowing the ceremony started at 3:00pm and people were arriving through out the morning, no one was allowed to check in before 2:00pm! So people who were waiting round all morning had no where to get changed, refreshed or rest before the ceremony. The entire guest list had only 1 hour to check in and there were 2 people on reception the entire time. I’m pretty sure one of them was called anyway from another position. My friend who had arrived at the hotel from 1:00 didn’t have a room til 10pm! And even then she and her partner were moved 3 times! At one point they were given the key to an occupied room! They let themselves into to someone else’s room with all their personal belongings out. When confronted with the mistake the second receptionist replied “oh”, no apology, no embarrassment, he looked begrudged that he had to deal with a mistake.

One of the rooms had to be used as a changing room for various guests to get ready in, since hardly any of them could check in. Despite insisting no check-in before 2:00, the majority of the guests had to wait several more hours because there were apparently only 2 cleaners working that entire day!

The wedding coordinator had to be chased up repeatedly through-out the day and had to be spoon fed basic responsibilities. Any professional would put only clean, fresh table cloths down in the ceremony room, but no. She had to be reminded to replace them with clean ones.

And apparently it was a complete shock to her that the bridal suite was a mess! If it hadn’t been for 2 of the bride’s friend’s checking, it wouldn’t have been prepared at all, there were no sheets on the bed, the duvet was scrunched up in a ball and the room stank of paint! It smelt like it had been freshly painted that day and only 1 window was open to air it out.

Barely anyone could have breakfast the next day. Again, knowing the amount of guests coming, the restaurant couldn’t accommodate everyone. Literally half of the restaurant was bare with no tables or chairs. Only one very rude, server who hardy said a word to anyone, could barely take any orders because he had to do everything else. There were dirty plates, cutlery and glasses everywhere. Several of us found ourselves having to reuse and share plates between each other.

Not a single apology was made by any members of staff for the shoddy, incompetent mess they were responsible for. Their attitudes were terrible,
most of them were lazy and rude, the few who were doing their jobs were exhausted and overloaded.

The venue didn’t take any responsibility for their mistakes and offered no apology, compensation, refund of any kind. Who ever was in charge is without a doubt completely incapable of organisig anything and it was a disgraceful show from a venue that is supposed to be experts in catering for weddings.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantleyHH, Director of Sales at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Simon G,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Naturally we are saddened to to read some of the comments in your review and disappointed that you have failed to mention the positives of the day (I understand from our team that the wedding ran very smoothly and there were many positive comments regarding many aspects of the day).

Our check in time is 2pm and this is made very clear to guests when bedrooms are booked. We would of course love to give all of our guests early check-ins, particularly on wedding days, but this is just not possible when check out is 11am and we then need time to clean the bedrooms. Your comments regarding bedrooms not being ready until 10pm are simply untrue.

We have been in touch with the bride and groom since the wedding so again believe your comments are unfair.

We have noted your comments regarding breakfast - we are disheartened to receive these comments, as this is something we usually receive positive feedback on, we will most definitely pass this onto the Food & Beverage Supervisor to look into.

If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail please do forward your contact number to fom@cantleyhotel.co.uk and we would be happy to have a discussion with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Had afternoon tea. Service was slow and we seemed forgotten at some point however the tea was lovely as were the sandwiches, scones and cakes. Very accommodating for gluten free, vegetarian and allergies to nuts
Good sizeable car park

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Waterbaby159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantleyHH, Director of Sales at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Waterbaby159,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and do hope you will visit us again soon.

We are naturally disappointed regarding your comments relating to slow service and will work with the food and beverage team to implement corrective training.

Thank you again and we look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Staff were fantastic.
The room was very clean, although the carpet was pretty stained in places.
My room was upgraded and had a lovely view of the garden.

Restaurant was okay, although a very limited menu.
I ordered sirloin steak and had to wait over 75 minutes for it to arrive.
The steak and chips arrived on a cold plate, so not brilliant to be honest.
The restaurant was not even that busy, so not ideal when you are dining alone.

The room was nice and quiet at night time.

Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Zen1th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantleyHH, Director of Sales at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Zen1th,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and found the staff so accommodating.

We are naturally disappointed regarding your comments relating to your meal. We have recently appointed a new head chef so hopefully you will see some positive changes on your next visit.

Thank you again and we look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding here a few weeks ago, it was amazing, there was nothing the staff wouldn’t do to make sure the day went smoothly, and they were all kind and lovely, especially Nadia (the wedding coordinator), who sorted things out we didn’t even know needed sorting! The food for both dinner and the evening buffet were excellent, and our guests staying at the hotel commented on how nice the rooms are. Couldn’t recommend it more as a wedding venue! Just perfect ❤️

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CantleyHH, Director of Sales at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Liz P,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We are delighted to hear your special day with us went so well and will ensure all your lovely comments are passed onto the team.

Thank you again and we look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews