We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood and Services ”

Barracuda Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 371 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Our favorite was bouillabaisse soup that boiled various fresh Mediterranean local fish and Mussels and Porcini & Asparagus pasta. Excellent quality of food and had a valuable time at romantic outdoor table because of great services. Complimentary Sparkling wine made our first day of honeymoon so perfect. I would recommend Barracuda restaurant for any sea food lovers and have an authentic Malta experience!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank 183daisukei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Just visited this restaurant this evening while enjoying our holiday.
Can not recommend this restaurant enough. Both the food and staff were superb in a good wonderful setting with views out over the bay.
Thanks for a lovely evening for me and my wife.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rgcolville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We decided to find a high end restaurant to end our holiday in style. This place did not disappoint. We had a table on the terrace overlooking the bay as the sun went down - perfect setting. The pre-dinner cocktails were delicious, as were the selection of warm breads. For starters we had vegetable pate and veal and mains were quail and seabass - all perfectly cooked and seasoned. The service was first class, friendly and efficient, and the decor elegant, just what we were expecting. However, the toilets were a bit difficult to navigate!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

I've been here twice and both times it has been the rudest service I've ever encountered in a restaurant, let alone one as overpriced as this. So bad, last time I had to leave before having dinner. I am literally embarrassed I brought someone here.

The house "mixologist" will be the first to show up and continuously push drinks you don't want to buy. If you decide you are not interested or want to try something he did not suggest he will insult your choice. It seems the silly gimmicks have made him forgot his role in the universe as a bartender.

After being infuriated by his overly aggressive upselling and rudeness, you might actually be relieved when the waiter finally arrives. Until of course he informs you he is also "shocked" with your choices, because he is used to people coming and "only ordering 7 course meals here." Apparently spending 100+ on some appetisers, drinks, entrees and a bottle of wine is not even worth common courtesy and respect for a casual diners at Barracuda. As he says this you may notice the restaurant is otherwise empty, I can only guess due to similar experiences.

It's too bad because the food is quite good-- however it is simply not worth it to endure staff so terrible. I imagine the only people eating here are passerby tourists who haven't discovered for themselves how terrible the service is yet.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC_Group_Director, Manager at Barracuda Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Teddy,

We have looked into your complaint in detail. We are sorry if your experience at the Barracuda was not to your expectations. We are glad that you thought the food was good but sorry to see that you were not happy with the service. I must point out that the nature of this complaint is one we have never received before. We do like to suggest options for cocktails but Ali, the manager in this case, simply mentioned the varieties of spritz which we can offer and when the lady mentioned she just wanted a normal aperol spritz, he left it at that. I do not feel that this is continuously pushing as you mention.

With regards to the fact that he mentioned that people usually have a full meal, please note that since you only wished
To share one beef carpaccio between two he was trying to politely inform you that we do not usually accept people occupying a table in our terrace by the sea and sharing a starter only. To that effect he pointed out that we had a minimum charge of eur16 pp.

Kind regards,

Denise Cachia, Director
The Barracuda Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

This experience elevated our honeymoon to a higher level! We'll never forget it!!!
Andrea, the cocktail bartender is an artist! He mixed, stirred, ans shook some wonderful taste experiences for our specific moods and tastes.
In the restaurant we ordered the 5 course tasting menu with wines and got the lovely chef all to our selves... or at least it felt like that. He spoiled us with the most beautifully decorated and delicious meal we have had in Malta EVER! All the gorgeous wines matched perfectly and both the service and view was flawless too. All in all we highly recommend this place and we are looking very much forward to coming back for more!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nili d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC_Group_Director, Manager at Barracuda Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Nili,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your rating and lovely feedback on trip advisor. We are so glad that you chose to come to the Barracuda during your honeymoon here in Malta.

We will pass on the compliments and hope you visit again soon, on your next trip to Malta, perhaps.

Thanks and Kind Regards

Denise Cachia,
Director
The Barracuda Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barracuda Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Barracuda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing