We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but central and lovely Indian restaurant”
Review of Shakinah

Shakinah
Ranked #90 of 334 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 2 Hours Free Parking at the Meridien included. Shakinah presents Indian cuisine in an interesting selection of exquisitely prepared, colourful, individual yet separate dishes.
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Small but very tasty Indian restaurant in Balluta Bay (next to City of London pub). Good food, fair pricing and pleasant atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skik1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Shakinah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2017

Since moving to Malta, I've had the pleasure of dining twice at this fine establishment, and both times have been an absolute culinary experience. From the moment you enter, to the time you leave, you are surrounded by what I can only describe as love and a peace. The friendly, affectionate restaurateurs, the world class Indian chefs, and the highly trained staff, fuss over every detail to make your experience truly satisfying. Shakinah is truly a foodies paradise. They say eating great food can put you in a good mood, well I can testify that dining at Shakinah is an emotional experience, because as soon as the authentic delicious curry, or the delicate Dal soup, or the exquisite chicken tikka, or any of the amazing array of dishes they serve, ( and I must admit, I've tried quite a few) hits your taste buds, all you are going to be doing is repeating, in true mantra style, the monotonous tone of mmm, to express your contentment and pleasure.

Thank Stephen_Pace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We hope we will see you for a third time some time soon. Your kind words are highly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Really great restaurant. Very cosy place. Excellent front of house and the food was great.


We ordered lamb rogan josh and lamb korma. Cooked to prefection. Only negative was some of the lamb was fatty.

I would 100 percent recommend this place. Best indian in Malta.

Thank timpreston28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thans for the kind words. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

Food was great but a small glass of wine cost €5.40! Way too much for a restaurant of that standard.

1  Thank kalypso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Guest Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. We are glad you enjoyed the food. We will take your thoughts into consideration regarding the wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Dropped by here early evening and placed an order to take away. Great service, food in roughly 30 mins and back home for nice Indian take out. Definitely recommended; nice waiters and would've been equally good to eat in!

Thank Trym A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakinah_Malta, Public Relations Manager at Shakinah, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. Thank you for your custom we look forward in serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakinah also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Shakinah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing