We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
78
208
277
161
186
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
208
277
161
186
Show reviews that mention
All reviews julian's bay small balcony cleaned every day st julian bus routes friendly hotel spacious room restaurants and bars valletta clubs nightlife
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great hotel located right next to Balluta Bay and a short walk from the more lively, Paceville. Friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were spacious with ensuite, air-conditioning, fridge and safe. They were cleaned everyday and we were provided with towels. The wardrobe was massive and contained coat hangers. It felt like we were the only ones in the hotel so there were no disturbances.
The swimming pool costs €6 to use but we enjoyed lying on rocks and a couple of small beaches. The sea water is beautifully clear and areas are roped off for swimming.
Good restaurant attached to the hotel and many others nearby with varying prices. (Be aware of restaurants with minimum charges!) Particularly recommend the Barracuda Restaurant over the Bay if you want a bit of luxury.
Buses to Valletta, St George's Bay or the Waterpark only 50 cents. Unfortunately, they are currently removing the old fashioned buses which were quite an experience.
We couldn't believe what we got for our money.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the side of the hotel so benefited from the view whilst not being too noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holiday10032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Let's start with the negatives. Guests are offered breakfast at an extra €3.50 pp per day. It is perfectly dreadful, a $5 hostel in Minsk would offer better. Many hotels offer coffee that is no more than tepid brown water, in the St Julian's Bay it is tepid grey water. The rooms are a good size but the furnishings are spartan. No cup, glass or mug and no shampoo. The hotel advertises itself as a 3 star that thinks like a 4 star but these basic "facilities" could be expected in a 1 star! Wireless internet was advertised but not available at the time of our stay. The bathroom offers risk of injury either from its tiny shower or the lethal glass shelf right by the toilet

But the location is superb. Bedrooms have balconies that have either good sea views or sea glimpses. The little bay the hotel overlooks is charming with a with the most musical church bells I have ever heard. It is a lovely 30 minute seafront walk to the Sliema Ferry and the beautiful town of Valetta. There are a number of very good restaurants and bars within two minutes walk. There is a large swimming pool straight across the road which guests can use for around €5 a day.

The reception desk was manned for much of the time by a couple who I assumed to be the owners, they could not have been more helpful or friendly.

Three nights cost €147. €7 of this was daily breakfast which we took only once. All in all, pretty good value.

Room Tip: Ask, call in advance or check in early.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Except from a hostel i stayed where the stairs collapsed this is the worst place I have stayed.
Positives were the location and price.
Negatives were stains all over beds, food was infested, balcony unsafe, no hot water and noisy rooms with no view.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank yimsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

my friend and i stayed 11 nights at this hotel as it was cheaper than staying in london. i read the reviews and was apprehensive about staying here but was pleasantly surprised. we were on a half board package deal so breakfast and dinner were included every day. breakfast wasn't anything fancy, typically eastern european, cold meats, hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, rolls etc, but dinner was at L'Ordine restaurant at the front of the hotel. the food here was nothing short of amazing. 3 courses with something different on the menu every night, fresh ingredients, homemade desserts, i always looked forward to dinner. apparently dinner was usually a buffet in the hotel but for a week it was in L'Ordine. speaking to the manager of the restaurant, he said he's taking over the food in the hotel soon.
the room looked good but the beds were extremely uncomfortable after a week, the mattresses really need replacing. the bathroom was nice but the shower was missing part of the door and there was no water pressure, it was like a dribble but enough to wash anyway. there were complimentary toiletries but we were never given anymore. room was cleaned everyday and our sheets were changed maybe twice during our stay. there was only 1 english channel on the tv (BBC).
the hotel is in a really good location, the bus stops are really close and it's easy to walk to st julain's, paceville and sliema,

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyJ2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

want god food and a god stay? hotel st julians bay is a clean and friendly stay for you. the food in hotel resturant L Ordine is exilent.Traffic outside is ok when you axcept that you have ewerything you need in near. Need silence ask for room on backside. Malta is a beutiful place to be in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussieand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews