We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disgusting, a shoddy hotel hidden behind a beautiful entrance.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Julian's Bay Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The only good thing is the location and the entrance, which makes you think it's going to be much better than it is. We got a side room, and it was much smaller than that on the picture, every room seemed to be bigger than ours with a better view. tiny balcony, tiny bathroom right in front of the beds so no real privacy, tiny shower and when you opened the window you got no air, just pipes and scary darkness. Sheets and towels with holes. No shampoo or shower gel. Amazingly they did have a hair dryer, which isn't even compulsory for a three-star, though shower gel should be. Terrible beds, you can tell they are the same matresses as when the hotel was inaugurated. Definitely need replacing.

Breakfast...in a class of its own, I've seen better breakfasts in a students' hostel. Cereals, cold meats (actually warm meats because probably, like the melted butter, were left out at 7am). Was witness to a cockroach slowly strolling across the floor as we were having breakfast, other guests took pictures of it and fled in disgust, as did we. Such a pity because the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in a beautiful location, with swimming pool (with back entrance to the sea) for 6€ and lovely entrance, it just needs a complete going over. I hope the hotel management take heed of these complaints, it would improve so much with some basic efforts and money investment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaSM187514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 329 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great hotel located right next to Balluta Bay and a short walk from the more lively, Paceville. Friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were spacious with ensuite, air-conditioning, fridge and safe. They were cleaned everyday and we were provided with towels. The wardrobe was massive and contained coat hangers. It felt like we were the only ones in the hotel so there were no disturbances.
The swimming pool costs €6 to use but we enjoyed lying on rocks and a couple of small beaches. The sea water is beautifully clear and areas are roped off for swimming.
Good restaurant attached to the hotel and many others nearby with varying prices. (Be aware of restaurants with minimum charges!) Particularly recommend the Barracuda Restaurant over the Bay if you want a bit of luxury.
Buses to Valletta, St George's Bay or the Waterpark only 50 cents. Unfortunately, they are currently removing the old fashioned buses which were quite an experience.
We couldn't believe what we got for our money.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the side of the hotel so benefited from the view whilst not being too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holiday10032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Let's start with the negatives. Guests are offered breakfast at an extra €3.50 pp per day. It is perfectly dreadful, a $5 hostel in Minsk would offer better. Many hotels offer coffee that is no more than tepid brown water, in the St Julian's Bay it is tepid grey water. The rooms are a good size but the furnishings are spartan. No cup, glass or mug and no shampoo. The hotel advertises itself as a 3 star that thinks like a 4 star but these basic "facilities" could be expected in a 1 star! Wireless internet was advertised but not available at the time of our stay. The bathroom offers risk of injury either from its tiny shower or the lethal glass shelf right by the toilet

But the location is superb. Bedrooms have balconies that have either good sea views or sea glimpses. The little bay the hotel overlooks is charming with a with the most musical church bells I have ever heard. It is a lovely 30 minute seafront walk to the Sliema Ferry and the beautiful town of Valetta. There are a number of very good restaurants and bars within two minutes walk. There is a large swimming pool straight across the road which guests can use for around €5 a day.

The reception desk was manned for much of the time by a couple who I assumed to be the owners, they could not have been more helpful or friendly.

Three nights cost €147. €7 of this was daily breakfast which we took only once. All in all, pretty good value.

Room Tip: Ask, call in advance or check in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Except from a hostel i stayed where the stairs collapsed this is the worst place I have stayed.
Positives were the location and price.
Negatives were stains all over beds, food was infested, balcony unsafe, no hot water and noisy rooms with no view.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank yimsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

my friend and i stayed 11 nights at this hotel as it was cheaper than staying in london. i read the reviews and was apprehensive about staying here but was pleasantly surprised. we were on a half board package deal so breakfast and dinner were included every day. breakfast wasn't anything fancy, typically eastern european, cold meats, hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, rolls etc, but dinner was at L'Ordine restaurant at the front of the hotel. the food here was nothing short of amazing. 3 courses with something different on the menu every night, fresh ingredients, homemade desserts, i always looked forward to dinner. apparently dinner was usually a buffet in the hotel but for a week it was in L'Ordine. speaking to the manager of the restaurant, he said he's taking over the food in the hotel soon.
the room looked good but the beds were extremely uncomfortable after a week, the mattresses really need replacing. the bathroom was nice but the shower was missing part of the door and there was no water pressure, it was like a dribble but enough to wash anyway. there were complimentary toiletries but we were never given anymore. room was cleaned everyday and our sheets were changed maybe twice during our stay. there was only 1 english channel on the tv (BBC).
the hotel is in a really good location, the bus stops are really close and it's easy to walk to st julain's, paceville and sliema,

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyJ2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
1.2 km away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
421 reviews
0.8 km away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
188 reviews
0.7 km away
Spinola Hotel
Spinola Hotel
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#23 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,034 reviews
0.7 km away
Rokna
Rokna
#21 of 33 in Saint Julian's
391 reviews
0.5 km away
Cavalieri Art Hotel
Cavalieri Art Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Julian's Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Julian's Bay Hotel

Address: 48 Main Street | St Julians, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ1017, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: €27 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Julian's Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Julians Bay Hotel Malta is a modern three star hotel fantastically situated on the seafront of St Julians Promenade, a short distance to the popular night spot Paceville as well as a short walk to Sliema Centre. The hotel has 85 rooms including 15 seafront balcony rooms with exquisite sea views. All rooms have a private bathroom or shower, finished in a modern style and to high standards. The hotel is complimented by a lovely lounge with an internet cafe and free WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Guest rooms at St Julian's Bay Hotel, are individually decorated in soft colour tones with complementing soft furnishings and artwork. Elegant in style, with modern wood furnishings, rooms at St Julians Bay Hotel are airy, comfortable and functional with single, twin or double beds, large work area and desk. You will find quality features in all rooms including free WIFI, TV with satellite, room safe as well as air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Julian's Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Julians Bay Hotel
St. Julian's Bay Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing