We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
5
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
5
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are a French couple from Montreal Canada, we did a trip of one month in Portugal this last October 2013 and we stayed in 17 hotels. We stayed at this place 2 nights October 13th-14th 2013. This place is a domain with a main house of 10 rooms and some bungalows in the garden. We booked a bungalow for 65 Euros a night. We booked for 5 nights and we had been asked already from Canada to pay 150 Euros (through a bank transfer from Canada) and we were supposed to pay in cash the other 175 Euros on our arrival. First, we had a rough time to find the place as there were no sign or address on the door. It is a man walking that showed us the place. We were received by the maid (or someone like this) who did not spoke neither French or English or Spanish. We tried to explain her that we might be won’t stay that long because this place was too far of everything to visit but she did not understand a word. As the owner was not there, we did not pay the rest of the renting on arriving. It was raining and very cold. We were absolutely ALONE in the place. At night, we were chilling in this cold and humid place and we could not have help of anyone. We left after 2 nights. Pros: very nice place, bungalow is well decorated, kitchen well equip, Cons: no cable TV only Portuguese channels, no Ac and you cannot open the windows at night because there are a lot of mosquitos, no heater and we were chilling, no water in the shower only a small dipping filet, no Internet, no phone so IMPOSSIBLE to reach anyone. We saw nobody there during all our stay and we were scared at night in this big dark place. The owner tries to make money on you but do not treat you as guest but only as a return on investment. Don’t go there.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

If looking for a peaceful place near historic cities, then this Casa would suit. A unique villa with grounds within a gated property, large and bright room, with a pleasant housekeeper and very helpful owner. While the housekeeper spoke no English and I no Portuguese, we communicated well and she directed us to an excellent family-run restaurant in Fafe. If needing more detailed driving directions or suggestions, get in touch with the owner Helena, by email. She is very responsive and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SRoseF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Gerente at Casa Das Paredes - Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena M, Gerente at Casa Das Paredes - Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: A tous les Amoureux de beaux sites et d'Authenticité : venez en ces lieux, le détour est très largement récompensé... !
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhelenatm, Responsável at Casa Das Paredes - Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews