We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$182
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geilo Gaarden(Geilo)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
96
134
126
52
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
134
126
52
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelold world charmseen better daysbowling alleyoutdoor jacuzziski seasonstaff on receptioncross countrycomfortable stayrailway stationbuffet dinnerskiing holidayhistoryspamountainsoslosummer
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This hotel was a disaster. The family room was to small and by far outdated. We did not get a room with a view as planned. The bathroom was a joke A.D. 2017. I could not shave because the very small sink was too near the toilet bowl. The ceiling was full of pipes and drains. The food was unacceptible. Half boiled/coocked meatballs are not my cup of tea. There were 5 busses of asian tourist people arrived. The next day we even went to another place to eat. A big NO to Dr. Holms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldismyoyster357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

It seems like the hotels prime time has passed. The rooms are ok, but not really up to the standard you'd expect in a hot place like Geilo. Maybe it's because many of the previously rich and famous guests we have all heard of now have their own mansions in the mountains and stopped spending money at DrHolms.
Anyway, it's a classic hotel and has great potential for local charm if they would downsize it slightly. We were there at the same time as a hoard of tourists (about five coaches full) from the Far East and we could not get to the breakfast buffet even if we tried. I guess if we arrived for a winter break that might be different.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank EiWiSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I don't think there are many choices in/around Geilo, so Dr Holms is a decent choice among weak alternatives. The hotel is obviously very old and shows it in the room design and bathrooms. The spa was a highlight as the staff really worked hard, and although the spa facilities are updated from the rest of the hotel, they are still constrained by the bones of the old hotel and nowhere near the spas at high end places. The buffet dinner was ok, but the buffet breakfast was a disappointment (no fish, pastries, waffle/pancake, omelettes). We were there when a few bus tours were in and the place was overwhelmed. In hindsight we should have just driven through Geilo and tried to stay in Eidfjord area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank beachbum_efh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

I spent a night here in June, and except of a stray tourist bus with chinese tourists, we were all alone in this huge hotel. The hotel seemed to be closed down for summer, with very few offerings available.
I suggest visiting this hotel during wintertime for more action and fun!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Had a wonderful stay at Dr. Holm's hotel, an inspiring break from our day to day city life. Spacious room with a wonderful view, large swimming pool, friendly and helpful staff. We'll be back! Tips to management: When guests arrive a litle bit early and their room isn't ready, offer them a cup of coffee and invite them to enjoy the spa while they wait! Make them feel welcome. First impression is KEY.

Room Tip: Be assertive, tell the staff what you expect in advance.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sync2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews