We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vestlia Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ro Hotel(Geilo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
148
118
56
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
118
56
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyhalf boardski schoolsoft play areaone bedroom suiteset menuthree course mealski tripgreat facilitiesski liftcouple of nightschild careten pin bowlingfamily poolswimming poolbreakfast buffetroom allocation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Its a good hotel for Norwegian standards- but to get anywhere up close to international standards it's lacking a few things.
Pros:
Very close to the ski slopes, great kids entertainment ( nice and clean pool w water slide/ bowling/ very nice big play room, cinema), clean rooms, nice common areas.
Con:
Quite basic room (lacking telephone/ bath tub/ no tea or coffee options/ no minibar/ no safe), restaurant ok but not great- particularly dinner and buffet could be much better, staff in reception needs to learn to smile and provide 'hotel standard' service.
Again, pretty nice for Norway, but if you are an experienced traveler it's average.

Stayed: March 2017
2  Thank Mariannetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We came the week before Easter 2017, so early April. We chose Norway to guarantee snow at this time, and there was plenty - the slopes were well covered, even if the rest of the place wasn't, though it got a bit lumpy towards the end of the day. It's not super-steep alpine skiing - it's nice cruisy blues and reds, good for families and kids and learners, but not for thrill seekers. We were on the Vestlia side of the valley; there is a ski bus to the other side, but it's not frequent or at particularly convenient times.
Nice quiet slopes, except on Good Friday.

The hotel is OK. We had a ground floor suite with small terrace that opened onto the bottom of one of the runs, so were very close. The rooms are comfortable and the small kitchen (with dishwasher and sharp knives!) worked well - we cooked every night to save money (there's a well-stocked supermarket 10 minute walk away). That's the thing - it's expensive. Bar snacks and non-alcoholic drinks for four: 75 quid. An hour's ten-pin bowling: 30 quid.

The pool is nice (and free!), but gets busy when the slopes shut. Breakfasts are extensive and good. The room was serviced every day with fresh towels, and the beds comfortable.

My one criticism would be some of the design choices. The Norwegian way of working electrical sockets took some working out - there's something that looks like a light switch, but which actually controls the electrical sockets, sometimes in the next room. This means that if you turn off all the light switches when you go to bed, you turn off the power to all those appliances you thought you were charging. And there's not enough lighting, and what there is hangs so low over the table that I banged my head every time I sat down. There's also a lack of instructions for things - that folder you often get telling you what time checkout is, or how to work the telly - none of that.

These are just minor niggles though - though big and busy the hotel is quiet, and ideally situated, though a couple of km from Geilo town itself. Everyboy spoke good English and was polite and friendly. And free wifi throughout!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Got very sick while staying here as part of a group. When I needed to talk to the reception in the middle of the night, I discovered that the rooms have no phones, no notice about phone numbers ... no nothing. I was too sick to use internet, but luckily managed to call my wife some 300 km away. She found the number and called the reception. Could I keep the room a bit longer? I was still vomiting. No! Well, after my wife negotiated for a long while, they gave in: Having me come down and vomit in the reception was maybe not a good idea.I got 3 hours. After many hours I managed to get something to drink (paid by me of course). What a gang! Never again! It is when you need service you see who they are.

Room Tip: I saw only roofs, but I don't know how to avoid that
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reisende935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Vestlia is a large hotel catering for families ( weekends and holidays ) and business persons during the week with the largest conference hall in Norway. It looks stylish with its decor of a large lodge house but needs attention to stop areas becoming tired. The breakfast was extremely well catered for with abundant choices and the staff were ever present tidying away all the time. You are able to pack a lunch as well with plastic bags provided. Evening meals were also very good. The Spa was lovely and the swimming pool with the water slide looked very nice although I didn't use it as the pool in the Spa sufficed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDTandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Vestlia offers great spa and pool facilities, bowling lanes and great location nearby one of Geilo's nicest slopes. It is big, but at the same time cosy. Art on display adds a luxurious impression. The place is very family friendly, and there are kids everywhere - in the weekend. I believe there is more quiet during the week.

The food was a bit disappointing. Great breakfasts, but the dinner buffet and the Saturday sit-down dinner was below pari. Be aware of expensive wine packages.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Struksnaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews