We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
54
21
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
21
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waters edge campground facilities wifi fjord
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a pity that it was fully booked and we couldn't stay there. We had a chance to look into cabin A and it was amazing. Very modern and really well equipped with a great view at an idyllic place. If you read this please book in advance!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SdMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Aside from the fact that Sogndal is one of the least interesting towns (although usefully situtated) in the region, this camp site, even though it is a little close to the road, really does have everything. The service facilities are unbelievably good, parrticularly the shower rooms which are very nearly hotel standards! If the weather is kind the fjord-side area is a terrific place to relax. For an evening en-route either west to Lom, east to Bergen or north to the national parks, you should stop at Kjornes.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We found that many of the campgrounds in the Fjords are not actually on a Fjord. Kjornes Camping is. Or that it may be on a body of water but it’s not suitable for swimming. Kjornes has accessible swimming right at the campground, and the bottom is rocky, not muddy. There is a fairly shallow area for young people have fun. By that I mean a 2 year old can stand in the water. It’s cold but, hey, at 1.5 years mine was like a baby seal. The problem was that he wanted me to go in the 50F water with him.

The service building is modern & kept clean. Showers are 10 crowns for 5 minutes and the shower rooms are large with sinks. This place has the hottest water I’ve ever experienced, and it stays hot. Not very European of them, is it? There is a bath/shower room for those up to 7 years which is gratis.

In winter the cabins stay open for the cross-country/downhill skiing in the area.

With WiFi, a fantastic view of the Sognefjord from your campsite, a hiking trail nearby, the town of Sogne an easy 3k bike ride, and hospitable owners, we had to tear ourselves away from this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadMike666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We have stay there at the end of August 2011.
We have rent a little apartment they have on the site.
Very nice and cozy.
The apartment was very clean, with a living room ("salon"), a small room (with a double bed for a couple and a one-over-one two beds for kids - we did not need it), a nice shower room and a little kitchen with everything we needed (we cooked ourselves).
The owners are ready to help you with everything you need, including booking trips, showing you the different possibilities, giving advices, checking the weather, prices of tours, buses timetables... anything you need - they are here for you!
It is about 3 kms from the city of Sogndal. By car, it is 5 minutes away. We were by feet and had a nice 35 minutes walk every morning and back every evening to and from Sogndal, since the buses we needed for different places were from there.
We recommand the place to anyone going there.
But consider that most buses that may take you to tourist sites in the region stop working somewhere at the beginning of September...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a very tidy campsite, but......

1. You can hear the road above the campsite
2. The sanitary building is nice, but too small in high season (waiting, waiting, waiting....)
3. The campsite itself (!) offers his guests NOTHING. They talk about swimming (in the fjord...) and fishing, but those things are NOT the credits of the campsite-owner.
4. Referring to point 3.: for a family with 2 kids you pay a NOK 280,-- per night !! Looking at the fact this campsite itself has nothing to offer its guests, this price is ridiculous high !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernardus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kjornes, Eier at Kjornes Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Sorry for your bad experience....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews