We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in a typical Norwegian setting”

Lothes Mat & Vinhus
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Haugesund
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$77
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A restaurant for memorable culinary experiences and a cosy atmosphere, both in- and outdoor. The bar features an open hearth and a modern café. Great view over Smedasundet Sound. In addition to be a great restaurant, Lothe's offers events such as cooking-battle, cooking-courses, coaching tapas style, food theater, concerts and more. Lothe's also offers good conference facilities for up to 80 people.
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Had a nice business dinner. The restaurant is a typical norwegian house from the past, off course renovated which attributes to the atmosphere. It was calm on a tuesday evening. The restaurant offered the choice between a 3 course or 5 course menu. The 3 course menu we took was light and well balanced, used good ingredients which resulted in high quality food. Service was friendly, swift and efficient! For sure worthwhile a visit.

Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Lothes Mat & Vinhus has been the best restaurant in Haugesund for years. Had the traditional Norwegian Christmas dish, Lutefisk, and was delighted to see that they once again delivered superb food! Some small glitches related to telling us what is served as a surprize starter is soon forgotten with a meal like this.

Thank 973arildk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
653post, Manager at Lothes Mat & Vinhus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Hi 973arildk

and thanks for your nice feedback.

I will make sure that all the waiters working on the floor do explain the menu correctly.
Thanks for the constructive comment.

Hope to see you back again soon, hopefully before next lutefisk season.

Greatest regards.

Stefano Pagani
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My team visited Lothes Mat & Vinhus quite by chance and luckily we got a table. While they arranged for everything we went to the bar in the house just opposite. We were called back and got a very cosy table - we actually had the whole floor to ourselves :) We chose the set menu with three courses and were very satisfied! The food was very tasty and was beautifully served. Top score also to the service, couldn't have a better waiter. I will be back should I ever visit Haugesund again!

Thank MereteMLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

This place is awesome! It's a beautiful old house, the service is perfect and the quality of the food is great.
I couldn't expect something better thinking about a small Norwegian town.
Recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank federico b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
653post, Manager at Lothes Mat & Vinhus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi Federico b

Thank you very much for your review.

Looking forward to have you back at our place again.

Kindest regards.

Lothes restaurant team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Haugesund port is rather small and crowded during the jazz festival. Step away drom the first street and go up the stairs to this place:you will be quiet and get a very good meal.
We chose the 6 course menu, that allowed us to taste many aspects of the chef's skills.Though the soup was not fitting exactly our taste, the fish and meat, as well as the dessert were really perfectly cooked and tasty.
The waiter is very helpful and friendly and the wine he advised was perfect.
Would the place be redecorated, and rearranged (we had to move because of noisy neighbours), that would be perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnneF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
653post, Manager at Lothes Mat & Vinhus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hi AnneF36

and thank you for your nice review.

One again i wish to take the chance to apologize for the inconvenient with the neighbour table.

Changes in terms of furniture and "modernising" the restaurant interior are on our list, so hopefully we can do something about it, and still be able to keep the charme of the old building.

Hope to have you back with us sometimes soon.

Kindest regards.

Stefano Pagani
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lothes Mat & Vinhus also viewed

 
Haugesund, Rogaland
Haugesund, Rogaland
 
Haugesund, Rogaland
 

Been to Lothes Mat & Vinhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing