We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
143
188
131
54
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
188
131
54
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel guests aqua park walking distance pizza hotel is located all ages delicious dishes good size common areas wave machine last year great hotel for families great breakfast beautiful location a great experience large car park modern facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and our kids (1, 3, 5 yo) had a LOT of fun. The service was very friendly and they clearly made an effort to give kids a great experience. My boys loved the nightly magic show, the water park, indoor playground and bouncey castle. I’m giving the hotel a 4 instead of a 5 because I was very disappointed that the swim park was not better maintained and the parts of the hotel that haven’t been renovated yet (Im assuming they just haven’t gotten to the entire hotel but are planning too) are a little shabby. The parts that have been renovated look great. Overall we enjoyed our stay and I think this is a great place for families.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christinmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese_Thom, Marked at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Christinmarie.
Thank you for giving us feedback from your stay, and that you enjoyed it. We totaly agree that the swim park needs renovating, and we have that on our wishlist.
We welcome you back at a later date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Attentive, service oriented staff. The room was comfortable & surprisingly quiet. The pools were excellent! The outdoor terrace restaurant was great, the buffet was not great, but had a lot of options for kids.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mandieree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese_Thom, Marked at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear mandieree.
Thank you for giving us a great feedback from your stay, and that you enjoyed it. We welcome you back at a later date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Arranged by bus tour company. Hotel is located on a lake and has outdoor activities. Main, older building has a charming, lodge-like atmosphere. Hotel can accommodate large groups and functions. Hotel has excellent health room and indoor pool.
Ground level is modern and attractive. Breakfast buffet is very good.
As in all of Scandinavia, prices are very high for drinks or food.
Our bedroom and bathroom were small with little room for suitcases. Walk-in shower tends to leave the entire floor wet.
Mattress typical for Scandinavia: two-inch foam mattress on a box frame. A quilted coverlet instead of top sheets. Mattress, however, was comfortable enough.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innocent_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese_Thom, Marked at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear Innocent_Abroad.
Thank you for giving us feedback from your stay, and that you enjoyed it.
We have different kind of bedrooms in size that you can choose from when you stay at our hotel. The bus tour company have presumably already booked the room for you that arrived with the bus tour company.
We welcome you back at a later date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Nice place, but bad food and poor service. The room was clean and nice but no AC. The location is very nice, but overall it is the bad food and service experience I will remember from this visit :-( ..

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 632arvem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Arve,

Thank you for giving us feedback from your stay. We are truly sorry that food and service did not meet your expectations. Our new Executive Head Chef is informed and will take immediate and necessary actions regarding the food.

Air condition is not common in Norwegian hotels due to the Nordic climate. However we do have a cooling system connected to the ventilation. Normally this works good, but it can be a bit challenging during extreme warm summer days. Our technical staff will look into the system just to make sure that is works properly.

As mentioned we take necessary actions to perform better. We hope to see you back some day and serve better food and service.

Regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully situated but slightly too far for walking to and from the town centre.

Staffing in bar during a popular festival should know not to put ice in cognac and serve whiskey in milk- and/or longdrink glasses. Also closing bar at one am while guests are still eager to shop seems poorly planned.

While visiting last year at the same festival I observed and reported issues on refilling trays at breakfast. This is still an issue. Breakfast is of normal quality however area around bread/butter gets really messy and disgusting. They should consider a different approach to butter.

Rooms are large and comfortable... aircon is effective even when hot weather and beds are comfy.

Normally this could have been graded "four" but one grade is taken off due to the hotels "no cash" policy, which is contradictory to Norwegian laws. Hotels should not be able to both break the law... and advertise it as something positive.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tedwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Quality Hotel Skaergaarden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Ted Walter,

Thank you for giving us some feedback from your stay.
We will take action on the mentioned issues. This is obviously not good enough.
Nice to hear that you liked your room and that the aircondition worked well during the hot weather.

Nordic Choice Hotels would like their hotels to be cash-free. The reason for this is safety for our guests and colleagues. In addition, payments by credit card are faster and more secure. Regardless of this, cash is still as you mention valid by law for payment. We encourage our guests to pay with credit card, but you can still pay with cash at our hotels if this is your only or preferred type of payment.

Hope to see you back some day.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews