We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$152
View deal
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$140
View deal
PricelineUS$152
ScandicHotels.comUS$155
Prestigia.comUS$157
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
78
98
55
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
98
55
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews young man presidential suite newer building rapids castle balcony minibar spa facilities child
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Nice place in terms of architecture. You can see how majestic it was in its time. We staid in newer building where it has become a bit run-down. Service was great. Breakfast was average with several options. And the main attraction (the damn) is right next to it.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Acventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2021

This is a historic building, which I had planned to stay at for a long time. The building itself is very nice and well located next to the rapids. The personnel was friendly and undoubtedly they were doing their best.

The problem is that they are running the place as it was any normal Scandic anywhere. Couple of examples: (1) the hotel has a nice bar, a library, but they don't serve the bar, customers are expected to pick up their drinks at the reception and take them to the bar, (2) the bathroom had the cheapest possible shower cabinet, which is probably not very durable, but left the whole bathroom flooding after taking shower, (3) hotel restaurant had quite unimaginative menu (probably Scandic standard). The food was good, although not exceptional. They did not serve bread to the table but customers were told to pick up their own bread across the restaurant. (I wonder what the waiting staff was supposed to do then.) Also, french fries with the main course were wrapped in paper as they typically do at petrol stations or in hamburger joints. Not very appealing.

I strongly recommend the hotel management to pay attention to small details as mentioned above. Perhaps visiting a first-class hotel somewhere else to see how they treat their clients. The hotel has potential, but they will have to improve their customer experience.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

The building is so beautiful old castle, but our stay there was just awful because of the heat. During our stay it was +28C outside and the same temperature inside our room, day and night. I understand, that it is impossible to get AC to this old building, but there are also other ways and machines to cool a room. In our room there was only one fan. When asked for a cooler, we got another fan; just a joke, because it does not get the temperature down. We were very disappointed. The hotel and its service is not on the same level with the historical building. Not to mention the price; not value for the money.

Room tip: Do not go on summertime, if you don want to fry to your room
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 3tiinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the centre of Imatra; just next to Imatrankoski. Historically beautiful. Nice and friendly staff.
The breakfast was very good, especially the porridge! Vegan friendly as well.
If you want to spend your night in historical environment, this is your place

Room tip: Parking next to hotel, not many spots. Free of charge
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heltsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2021

We chose the hotel for its location and its long history. For our first night we chose the 2-story Presidential Suite because we thought it would give an experience worthy of the building. As the room was not available for our second night, we changed to a Master Suite for night two. Both rooms were in the beautiful old building of the hotel.

We were sorely disappointed with the worn-down state of the rooms as well as the very basic service offering. The room minibar did not feature any local products but was like every minibar in a Scandic hotel anywhere. Same with the breakfast buffet: generic hotel breakfast items which you could have had anywhere even though we were in a region known for its culinary delicacies like Karelian pirogi.

The Master Suite had an old stone balcony but the balcony was completely empty and the chairs inside the room were not suitable for taking out to the balcony. Therefore a feature that could have made the stay lovely had there been a couple of chairs there ended up being another disappointment.

The hotel was full but understaffed which resulted in long queues in a cramped space where many travellers chose to ignore the hotel’s mask policy. The staff was impossible to reach via phone either, to sort out things missing from the room such as the agreed extra bed for our child.

We stayed during a heatwave and the room was impossibly hot because the hotel does not have air conditioning. Please keep this in mind when planning a summer stay.

I would not recommend staying here. The price is way too high for the experience. The building is better observed from the outside.

Room tip: Water noise from the rapids resembles highway noise. Windows have to be kept open in summer because there’s no air conditioning.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank meerola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews