We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
271
88
25
20
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
88
25
20
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie liver sunday sleepover the pub served quickly sunday roast pleasant surroundings sunday night family meal cheesecake family get together lovely food varied menu an evening meal pudding main meal biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We were passing this restaurant and called on the off chance, hoping that they were still serving food a 4pm - and they were. We could not have chosen a better place, food was lovely and very reasonably priced for the quality. Staff were very good, we will definitely call again when we are in the area

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeanieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane A, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

That's fabulous. Glad you found us, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Visited last weekend with fiends for an evening meal. Company was brilliant but the meal was just OK.
Can't say there was anything wrong with it but it just lacked something.
Service was good and pricing reasonable.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank KentSteve33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2017

Thanks for the honest and frank review. I'm disappointed you weren't more impressed, maybe we can make a better impression next time if you choose to return.... I am glad, however, you had a good evening with your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Stopped off for a quick meal,and was pleasantly surprised,the service was very good ,and the food was excellent the vegetables were cooked and not raw the chicken and sauce was lovely ,would go back again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank davechris121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

That's good to hear! See you next time, thanks for the 5 stars⭐️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

On Sunday, August 20th, my wife and I again made our annual visit to the Mendlesham Beer Festival in Suffolk. As last year, we decided to take advantage of the Sunday Sleepover deal at the White Horse Inn in Stoke Ash just a few miles away. We arrived with a large family group for dinner on the Sunday evening and once again, the meal was excellent. My wife and I had a lovely room adjoining the courtyard and the overnight element couldn't be faulted. Breakfast the following morning was to a high standard and the bill for the entire package came to just £87.
The quality of the venue cannot be faulted - a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Top value.

Room Tip: All the courtyard rooms are excellent. We have stayed there several times.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug_T580427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 August 2017

Thanks for the lovely review! I'm glad you found us to be good value for money and we look forward to seeing you next mendlesham beer festival if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed at the White Horse for a family reunion recently and couldn't have been happier, the rooms are excellent, the staff super-friendly, the food wonderful and the beer well kept and well-priced. An excellent buffet was catered for 25+ people from 5 months old to 85 years old and all were very well satisfied and looked after.

Top marks and very highly recommended indeed, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 August 2017

Thank you! we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you for your next reunion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews