We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved our four night stay at Peter and Jill’s...”
other travellers have booked this property
King size bed with cotton linen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King size bed with cotton linen.
Side view of the bungalow with Thorntons Peak in the background. Looking out towards the indoor/outdoor bathroom with King size bed in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
King size bed with cotton linen.
Side view of the bungalow with Thorntons Peak in the background.
Looking out towards the indoor/outdoor bathroom with King size bed in the foreground
Bedroom with rammed earth wall
Bungalow - window facing the rainforest
view from the bathroom with the open shower
Views from the indoor/outdoor bathroom
Complimentary handmade soap - made on site using food graded oils and essential oils
Outdoor cooking and eating space.  Full size bbq and cooker
Side view of the bungalow and surrounding gardens
Cassowowaries visiting the retreat.  A rare sight and unforgettable!
Creek meandering through the property, with a walking track down to it
A view of Thornton Peak from Wompoo Eco Retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cow Bay, Daintree Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Terry W
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We loved our four night stay at Peter and Jill’s retreat.”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved our four night stay at Peter and Jill’s retreat. This was our first visit to the Daintree and the Wampoo retreat was a perfect way for us to experience it. We found cooking and showering outdoors simply delightful. There were breathtaking views of the peaks in the distance with spectacular sunsets included. It was a great location - the pub was just a hop, jump and skip away and the beach was a comfortable 5km walk away. Jill and Peter are great hosts. They are really friendly, laid-back and very helpful with offering advice on things to do to get the most out of your Daintree experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed the ambience and setting of our retreat. The Daintree is such a special place and our aim is to provide a comfortable and interesting place for people to stay and experience the rainforest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spetrides...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful Ecco Retreat!”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our stay at the Wompoo Ecco Retreat was absolutely amazing, so so peaceful. The views are stunning, the hosts were great - providing advice and info on everything from the best tours to where to eat out (if we fancied). The accomodation is really well equipped yet the outdoor kitchen and semi open shower etc keep you in touch with the surrounding environment and forrest, and boy is it beautiful. Our highlight was sipping a morning coffee or tea looking out over the wonderful views! Big recommendation to anyone looking for an Ecco friendly, break in nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed our retreat. Our aim is to provide our guests comfort without losing the integrity of the natural environment which is very important to us and our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tari P
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay. ”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Absolutely enjoyed the digital detox, sensational views, amazing open bathroom, outdoor bath, big king bed.. and all the smaller touches such as home made soap, biodynamic milk, fresh fruit and an assortment of teas and coffee. Will definitely recommend and plan to come back, was made to feel very welcome and two nights was definitely not enough. Couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more if we tried.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thank you Tari, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Wompoo Retreat, it was a pleasure to host you. We aim to offer our guests a special place to visit with comfort in this beautiful part of the Daintree Rainforest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sljones40...
Redcliffe, Australia
1 review
“Refreshing change from reality very delightful host would back in a blink”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

One let down was no ceiling fan in main room. And holiday wasn't long enough wonderful experience highly recommended Thanks to hosts Jill and Peter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: The heat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review Sandra & Michael. We always enjoy hosting for people who understand what we are bringing to B&B. Agree about the overhead fan. Unfortunately, due to the height of the ceiling we thought best to have a wall fan so as not to have an OH fan too low. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puggle01
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peace above the trees”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Digital detox sounded scary but as we sat in the cool of the evening watching the last rays of the sun, sipping cold wine and reading books we agreed we never wanted to leave. Our hosts Jill and Peter were fabulous, helping us with local advice and providing fresh fruits and delicious muesli for breakfast. This oasis, so close to everything in the Daintree yet so remote, is a hidden gem and I highly recommend it to all travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
It was a pleasure to host you at Wompoo, so glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing