We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Stable Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
The Stable nestled under English Oaks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable nestled under English Oaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Stable nestled under English Oaks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buckland, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nessie007
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning Stable Accommodation”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed for 2 nights in this beautifully decorated historical 1840’s Stable. Beautiful double level accommodation situated on a working sheep farm. Very comfortable with beautiful old timber throughout this stone stable that was once used to house horses. The restoration has been done beautifully with a mix of old and new throughout. Fireplace keeps the stable warm and cosy even with the chilly temperatures during our stay. Elizabeth is a very welcoming and friendly host and was a wealth of information about the property and local area. The farm is a little isolated and is about 15 min to the closest shops and restaurants but if you plan for this it is a lovely escape. All cooking equipment is supplied in the stable with a decent size fridge. A breakfast hamper is supplied with the accommodation but there is also a minibar and frozen meals for purchase if you arrive late and can’t get to shops. You can explore the vast property at your leisure or hike the hill behind the property for a nice surprise at the top that the owners place there for guests (I won’t spoil the surprise). There are also walking tracks to follow on the property all mapped out but unfortunately we didn’t get time to explore these.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Thank you Narelle for such a lovely review and taking the time to do so. Gives us much pleasure to know our guests have truly enjoyed their experience at Twamley Farm. Hope to welcome you back again one day. Take care and best wishes Angela and Elizabeth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmsoz
Aus
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Stable is part of a heritage family owned working farm. I think this makes it a privilege to be a guest.
The Stable is spacious with everything you need for cooking and relaxing. We stayed one night and found the food and drink supplies were great for us as we did not have to bother packing or shopping for a meal. If we stayed more than one night, I would take bits and pieces to add to the frozen meals. Wine selection is good and reasonably priced.
Heaps of walks not the property with good information provided - makes for destination in itself.
One reviewer mentioned the shower situation - a hand held spray over the bath: we think its great to have a quirky little challenge, particularly in this sometimes fast paced world!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to stay at Twamley Farm. We get so much pleasure from sharing our home and family farm with guests and it is always so gratifying to know how much people appreciate that and enjoy staying with us at the farm. We do hope we can welcome you back again one day.
Best wishes
Angela and Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPHK
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stylish setting ”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed for one night en route from Port Arthur to Freycinet, with a small toddler. The setting and Stables were gorgeous, and we loved the BBQ outside and the breakfast provided. Hosts were super welcoming and our 18 month old boy loved the lambs and the puppy. Only heads up to families with kids of a similar age is the floating staircase is pretty dangerous for a toddler as he can fall off the side of the staircase as well as down the stairs, so was hard to relax inside. Would recommend asking what else they have available. Perfect accommodation for couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCMP
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Romantic cottage on a beautiful property!”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We read a lot of great reviews on Twamley Farm before our stay there last December and we were not disappointed! Elizabeth is a great host who even started a fire for us before we returned to the cottage after a night of venturing. It was a very thoughtful touch given evenings can be rather cool in Tasmania. Breakfast provisions were generous with artisan bread, jams, yogurt cups, apples, eggs and bacons all provided. There were oil, salt, pepper and other condiments in the kitchen.

The cottage is tastefully decorated and there is a blue plaque outside the door that tells you a bit of history about the cottage. I highly recommend anyone who is staying at The Stable to take their time to read the plaque and walk around each and ever corner of the cottage and appreciate the history of the property. We even found a very interesting metal label on one of the wooden columns on the ground floor - I wouldn't give it away here though. It's for visitors to find out for themselves!

Upon arrival on the property, Elizabeth gave us a very useful map with all the points of interest clearly shown. She also told us we could visit the Shearing Shed as we wish and wow, what a charming little shed! Finally, I would recommend everyone who is visiting the Stables to walk up the little hill behind the property to get a panoramic view of the lot. It's amazing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Stable. We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable experience staying with us at Twamley Farm. It does truly give us so much pleasure to know our guests have had a great experience and you clearly appreciated the history of The Stable and our family farm. Once again thank you and we hope that we may be able to welcome you back again one day.
Best wishes
Elizabeth and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rohannna...
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Complete luxury in a magical setting”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Where to start?

The only thing wrong with our stay here at The Stables was that it wasn't long enough!
Every single detail has been thought of. From the amazing décor to the finishing touches in the welcome pack. This little stable is the complete package!

Absolutely loved the frozen meals and drinks provided in the mini bar-all very reasonably priced.
Amazing products for use in the bathroom - all cruelty free, another plus!
Nice selection of movies and games.

The standout for me would have to be the included breakfast, eggs fresh bread, bacon, jam, yogurt, fruit, tea, nespresso, coffee, juice! The list goes on all included in the room rate.

Angela and Elizabeth had created a truly beautiful space where you can unwind and really relax.

Twamley farm is such a superb location, I wish we had got to spend more time there! We will be back,
thank you for an amazing stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thank you so much Rohanna for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. It is always so pleasing to know that our guests have had such a wonderful experience at Twamley Farm. It does make us truly happy. We certainly hope we can welcome you back another time. We are so enjoying sharing the farm with guests and seeing the pleasure it gives others.
Best wishes
Angela and Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$198
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing