We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
59
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orchard cottage rolling hills the cottages bedroom cottage great escape base to explore comfortable bedding gas log fire fantastic stay spa bath dining table would stay again stayed nights marie towns ducks hosts
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

This place is close enough to leongatha, miraboo north, and dumbalk to be able to enjoy nice meals and day trips. The cottage was a nice distance from others so we had lots of comfy privacy. The amenities were good so we enjoyed cooking for one another on our honeymoon here. There is also a pool and BBQ access for summer and though there is heating, we enjoyed a nice fire for the cooler season we stayed. It costs a little for firewood, but nothing we are not already used to ourselves coming from our own country upbringings. The kindling was included and firefighters etc. for cooler non fire ban months of course.

The room was very comfy, spa included in the bathroom, lovely dining table and absolutely gorgeous views of the hills from the room. Comfy chairs and DVDs offered to borrow for the stay - plus video games in our cottage!! They had a PlayStation, we had a ball. The owners are friendly and welcoming the way som B&B people are, and said we could walk around the property if we wanted a stroll in the lovely countryside. They also helped us to know what towns are nearby and what things there are to do, like not too far away Phillip island penguin visits, etc.

Luxurious cottage, stunning views, cozy but spacious, comfortable and we recommend it highly and would stay again!

Room Tip: All the cottages look amazing, you can't go wrong. Good for couples driving for a peaceful getaway.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croiamhran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phill A, Manager at Loves Lane Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thanks guys - it was a pleasure hosting you for your honeymoon, i think the Orchard Cottage is perfect for that isn't it! We were up there a couple of days ago changing linen over and watching a brilliant storm ranging over the valley; a picture postcard moment in the late afternoon. Hmm, we might have to stay there ourselves one day. Regards Marie & Phill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We had an extended stay here, using it as a base to explore the Gippsland region. We were allocated one of the two bedroom cottages, which had everything we needed for our stay; plenty of crockery, cutlery, very comfortable bedding and good air conditioning - essential as we experienced a few cold mornings and evenings during our visit. Everything was as described on the website.
The views from the cottage across the small valley were great, rolling green hills with virtually no sign of human habitation - a very peaceful spot to get away from it all. The nearest large town, Leongatha, was only 20 minutes drive; we only visited there for provisions and the occasional lunch.
The area has many great walks, including along the disused rail lines, which we could access at Mirboo North or Meenyian, both about 15 minutes drive away.
Our hosts, Phill and Marie, were very helpful with ideas of places to visit and nearby dining options. A great escape - we would stay here again when next visiting the region.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phill A, Owner at Loves Lane Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hi R & S,

I must have missed this, sorry. Was great having you here and even though the weather outside was a bit naff i'm glad you had a nice time. Just starting to get nice down here and the dam is overflowing - good hedge against summer though. - Phill
Marie says hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Thank you Marie and Phil for the amazing stay, the cottage was amazing, Cosy and warming, the surroundings is simply breathtaking and it was the perfect way to enjoy the country hillside, thank you for being so friendly and we appreciate the late check out, would definitely recommend to our friends and family

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank hoggy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phill A, Owner at Loves Lane Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

You're welcome guys. I'm glad it was quiet whilst you were here as it gave us a chance to chat and do some weeding at the same time. Usually it's just the weeding! Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Besides the great views and peaceful surroundings, the cottages were very clean and comfortable and had everything you could need for a short break. After a day spent exploring the local area it was a pleasure to come back to this place. Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phill A, Owner at Loves Lane Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Hey Darren, thanks heaps for your kind words. Really liked the note in the guest book, too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Loved our stay. Beautiful views & great cottage.
Bed mattress very hard? Need clear directions how to use video player? Easy to find. Enjoyed the pool & lovely old style claw bath & view from bathroom wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phill A, Owner at Loves Lane Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hi Paul,

Thanks for your positive feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Loves Lane. The mattress is a medium firm, which suits almost everyone and is of the type usually found in good accommodation but we're truly sorry if your sleep was inconvenienced. The instructions to use the video player is in the coffee table draw. Cheers - Phill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews