We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Winter Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jesswfood
1 review
“Perfect Winter Getaway ”
Reviewed 8 January 2020 for a stay in January 2020

We visited Swallow Barn for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. It was exceptionally clean with a fully equip kitchen and even Bluetooth speaker. Despite it being cold outside the heating inside was easily adjustable and kept us snug!
We arrived late so the host greeted us the following day and recommended some walks for us to do. She was very friendly and helpful. The area is great for walking with a cosy pub at the top of the road.
We would definitely recommend and will be returning in the summer!

Date of stay: January 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGfromBar...
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 9 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

This little cottage was just right for a week exploring the peak district. Well furnished and well equipped, it was the ideal place to stay in a very quiet location.

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2019
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes it’s a very quiet village (sometimes we even get sheep being herded down the street!) but only 10 minutes by car to the market towns of Bakewell and Buxton. I am very concerned regarding your remark about cleaning as we have always had excellent reviews and scores for cleanliness. If it’s not too much trouble could you email me details so that I can discuss with our cleaner. Thanks again and hope to see you again at Swallow Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annette S
Elmshorn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super cute, dog friendly cottage !”
Reviewed 22 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Swallow Barn is small but has everything needed for a comfortable, quiet stay in the Peak District. In the middle of Chelmorton village, it has many superb walks starting just outside the door.
A lounge/dining kitchen is fully fitted out with oven, hob, microwave, and all the other bits and pieces necessary to cook a meal or just make breakfast. A cúrtained off bedroom with a very comfortable bed also has a small shower room in the corner.
We had 2 dogs with us but were made very welcome. Laminate flooring is easy to keep clean and with a walled patio area outside they could be allowed out without worrying about them wandering off.
This is an ideal base for a walking holiday or just to relax for a few days. There is a pub just up the road which serves excellent meals if you don't feel like cooking and the Brierlow Bar Bookstore , which is a short drive away, serves small breakfasts and wonderful home-made cakes with superb tea or coffee.
We really enjoyed our stay, thanks to Gill, Dave and Charlie the dog.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2019
Hi Annette
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the UK.
Gill & David Chapman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.