We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

nancy8m90
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Loved this place; we had a fabulous short stay at Swallow Barn. Barn was well equipped and well presented; spotlessly clean and bright and fresh. Great walking and cycling country and hosts were more than happy to advise on the best places to go. Very welcoming.
Would definitely go back another time. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferW...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, fab location”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed here mid-December and will definitely go back! The cottage is well equipped and really cosy and clean, with great walking routes either straight from the front door or with good access by public transport. The owners, Gill and Dave, were so welcoming and very knowledgable about the local area, they really went out of their way to make sure we had a lovely time during our stay. Very dog friendly owners, our dog Jasmine had as much of a relaxing holiday as we did!

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay Jennifer, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon J
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good base for Peak District”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was our second stay at Swallow Barn. The cottage is cosy and warm, just right for two. Chelmorton is a good base for exploring the northern Peak District, with easy access to Buxton by car or bus. There are lots of good walks, you can walk straight from the cottage if you don't want to drive. The cottage is easy to live in, with a good kitchen area, comfortable bed, good TV reception and effective shower. Wifi may be a bit dodgy, but this is the countryside! It worked OK for us, but you may have to ask the owner to reboot it.

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audeade
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We found Swallow Barn perfect for the two of us, with good facilities. The wi-fi was a bit patchy but once rebooted was much better. Chelmorton is a lovely village and a good base for walking. Even though we don't have a car we found it easy to get around, as the Trans Peak bus service on the main road is good (although a little pricey!) if you don't mind an easy 5-10 minute walk from the village. We would definitely stay again if we return to the area.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Good location
Liked least: Patchy wi-fi & phone signal (can't be helped!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Thank you for reviewing your stay in Swallow Barn and glad to hear that you got around ok on public transport. The Transpeak bus service is really good, you can get on it to go to Derby in one direction and Manchester in the other direction. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
99shirley
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor, does not warrent a 4*”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived the area was quiet and lovely, just what we wanted and was a good base to surrounding area's. The cottage itself was less than what we expected, it smelt damp and there was so much dust under the bed it would have filled the hoover in one go. The windows were dirty and there was no way of opening them, and there was dirt under the lounge rug (we pulled this up because of our dog and wish we hadn't!!).
We had previously asked the owner if the garden was totally secure, but again this was not the case. We have a Beagle who would have jumped over the wall (low in places) and there was even a gap in the wall which the owners had placed a piece of plastic mesh - again our dog would have gone straight through this.
We did speak to the owner who had offered to place some boards up, but we had said that our dog would still get through. Then she brought round a chain which was rusty saying that we could chain him up, ( oh my god, I have never chained our dog up and don't believe that any dog should be chained up ). So we packed up and left.
I would not recommend this cottage to anyone until it as an upgrade and a thorough clean.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Coming home
Liked least: All of it. Don't like being lied to.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as we hope all our guests are completely satisfied, which has always been the case.
To answer the points in your complaint....
Our current guest has multiple allergies and is on her 10th visit due to the guaranteed spotless cleanliness of the property. This includes vacuuming under all the furniture, including the bed and rugs, after each visit (the bed is easy to move as it on castors on a solid floor). The 'windows' are actually rooflights in the ceiling and easy to open with the pole provided. They are cleaned regularly, both inside and out and, along with the full height patio doors, ensure that the property is lovely and light and airy.
During the 13 years we have been letting Swallow Barn no doggy guest has ever escaped as there is a surrounding wall which varies from 3ft - 7ft in height. The piece of plastic mesh you refer to has 2 inch square holes; no dog could go 'straight through'. Had you explained when you booked that your beagle required a 6ft high fence (as you have had to build around your own home) we would explained that the property was not suitable. Also, we accepted your last minute request for you to bring a second dog, a puppy, which we would not have done had we known it was 10 weeks old and not housetrained (which was the reason I asked you to roll the rug up out of the way).
We hope you enjoy other holidays in the Peak District, as you say it is a lovely quiet area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.