We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.  Comfy living room with  dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.
Comfy living room with  dining area.
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Fully equipped kitchen.
Enjoy summer evenings on the patio
Rated 4-star by Visit England
Chelmorton village in the Peak District National Park
Close to Bakewell, home of the famous 'Bakewell Pudding'
Convenient for Buxton Festival - opera and literature in the hills.
Moors and heather - away from it all....
Walk or cycle across a spectacular viaduct and through tunnels on the Monsal Trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheesestr...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location.”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at Swallow Barn at the end of October for 3 nights.
The barn itself was really cosy and its location made it a perfect base for exploring the Peak District.
We had dinner at the local pub on our first night and were made incredibly welcome by all of the locals and were encouraged to take part in the quiz and bingo (we didn't win).
Gill was the perfect host; she happily shared her knowledge of the surrounding area and told us some local history.
We will definitely be wanting to stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A H
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy and calm”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely cosy and quiet week at Swallow Barn with our 2 dogs... Gill was a really friendly and helpful host and the cottage, more of a studio apartment than a cottage, was (after appearing a lot smaller than we expected), really cosy and comfortable. We walked, enjoyed great beer in the local pub and really chilled out whatever the weather threw at us. Would recommend it. Great location and a relaxing time is guaranteed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADonny198...
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful property. We used it for our honeymoon and it was perfect.
Private, secluded with your own entrance and a terrace (perfect for disposable BBQ's) with the owner (Gill) not far away should you need anything.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWG_Londo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay - great location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I recently stayed in the swallow Barn for 3 nights. It was an excellent base camp to explore the local area. It is clean and comes equiped with everything you need.

Also the local pub down the road is very nice and serves good food - its a 2 minute walk. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara_n...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“complete chill out”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

we stayed for a week mid febuary with our dog we needed a weeks chill out and this is what we got. Fantastic walks with our dog no need to go any were in the car, lovly pub serving food and a lovely warm welcome. very close even the weather was good to us
Swallow Barn was what it said warm, cosy, contained all we need + more we would love to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing