We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay - great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.  Comfy living room with  dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
A rural retreat with walks from the door.
Open plan layout making it light and airy.
Comfy living room with  dining area.
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Fully equipped kitchen.
Enjoy summer evenings on the patio
Rated 4-star by Visit England
Chelmorton village in the Peak District National Park
Close to Bakewell, home of the famous 'Bakewell Pudding'
Convenient for Buxton Festival - opera and literature in the hills.
Moors and heather - away from it all....
Walk or cycle across a spectacular viaduct and through tunnels on the Monsal Trail.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chelmorton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NWG_Londo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay - great location”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I recently stayed in the swallow Barn for 3 nights. It was an excellent base camp to explore the local area. It is clean and comes equiped with everything you need.

Also the local pub down the road is very nice and serves good food - its a 2 minute walk. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara_n...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“complete chill out”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

we stayed for a week mid febuary with our dog we needed a weeks chill out and this is what we got. Fantastic walks with our dog no need to go any were in the car, lovly pub serving food and a lovely warm welcome. very close even the weather was good to us
Swallow Barn was what it said warm, cosy, contained all we need + more we would love to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie k
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“a perfect getaway small and cosy”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

my husband and i stayed for a couple of days just into the new year and we found it a cosy little place perfect for 2 people and a dog, lovely walks on the doorstep and lots of interesting places to visit around and about, we particularly liked buxton country park although it was very windy when we visited, would definitely stay there again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosiness of the place and the pub just up the road was excellent
Liked least: the weather although obviously not the oweners fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
annagudan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy location to get away from it all!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We try to 'get away' for our birthdays and explore somewhere new, this time, the White Peaks was the chosen location. Swallow Barn was idea for a few days away, it's a lovely little place as a holiday let! Clean, cozy and well equipped. Good location in between Buxton and Bakewell if you have a car (although there are some buses if you don't).
Recommend taking a walk up Chelmorton Low (the hill behind the pub and church at the top of the village) for a great view. Gill also very kindly assisted in arranging a birthday cake and candles for me as a surprise - thank you Gill!
Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing