We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful place to stay”
Review of Rockfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Milltown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Our first reaction on seeing Rockfield House and our accommodation was that the photographs do not do it justice. The location is second to none (we would not have found it easily without our GPS) being situated in gorgeous natural countryside. We had the downstairs room which was warm, spacious, superbly well fitted with high quality linens and amazing attention to detail, including fresh coffee, tea selection, fresh homemade cake each day a luxurious bathroom. Martin could not have been more helpful and gave us excellent advice on walks etc. We had two superb evening meals,beautifully served, and the breakfasts were delicious with a large choice. We cannot praise Rockfield House highly enough - it was way beyond our expections. Thank you Martin!

Room Tip: There are two rooms and they offer slightly different facilities - personally we preferred the downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2015

We have stayed at rockfield twice and both times have been excellent. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and made our stay very special. The breakfasts are fabulous with lots of choice and the evening meals are to die for! Highly highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Smewtheduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed one night prior to flying from East Midlands Airport. Martin and Kate could not have been more accommodating. Highly recommend and I am sure we will be visiting this beautiful part of the world again in the near future

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

I have been lucky enough to attend Rockfield House twice. The first time was with my husband for our anniversary and the second time was with my sister and our mother.
From the time you arrive, you're treated like an old friend.
This is a B&B with a difference; you can also have dinner (if booked in advance) - and I can't recommend it highly enough. The food is fantastic, tasty, imaginative and really, really good value.
Don't miss an opportunity to visit this property - it's not just for vegetarians, both my mother and my sister were overwhelmed with the food - and neither are vegetarian.
I will be returning soon and I look forward to catching up with Martin and Kate again soon.

Room Tip: both rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

This is a superb bed and breakfast. And a price that is very reasonable. Kate and Martin are very welcoming without being overbearing and nothing is too much trouble. Every day they left home made cakes in the room and cleaned the room. We stayed in the downstairs room which I can not recommend enough. By far the best bed and breakfast accommodation I have stayed in England. Breakfast and evening meals are delicious and very wide range of choice. Breakfast including delicious fresh berries, freshly squeezed orange juice, wide range of yoghurts, wide range of cooked items - all perfectly presented in a delightful breakfast room with bay window overlooking a beautiful view of the local hills. The bed was divine. The bathroom spacious and exquisitely decorated with everything you require. The main room has large sitting area, tv, fridge with milk. Wide range of teas and coffees. Stayed in Jan 2015 and room is very warm despite cold temperatures outside. I could go and on. If you want to enjoy a luxury break in beautiful surroundings and lovely pubs (recommend The Old Poets Inn) book this - you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank 401julie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rockfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockfield House

Address: Rockfield House The Hay, Milltown S45 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Milltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milltown
Price Range: €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockfield House, exclusively vegetarian bed and breakfast in the heart of rural Derbyshire, close to Matlock. Wake up to birdsong in our two very comfortable en-suite bedrooms. We pride ourselves on producing wonderful vegetarian cuisine be it for a hearty breakfast or delicious dinner. Our adult only environment is an ideal base to unwind and relax or we can provide instruction and equipment for a range of outdoor activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing