We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
33
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I've just returned after a three night stay at Rockfield House and all I can say is, Excellent!
Excellent Breakfasts, Excellent 3 course dinners and Excellent accommodation.
Martin was on his own the weekend of our stay, as Kate was unfortunately away, but we didn't feel at all neglected. He was right on top of everything and was very warm and welcoming.
Would I recommend, most certainly and without hesitation and not just to vegetarians or vegans, anyone staying at Rockfield House would delight in the food on offer.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybuellrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Rockfield House so much. Thank you for pointing out that you don't have to be vegetarian or vegan to stay here, we'll make sure that everyone can enjoy an excellent break whatever their dietary preferences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We actually stayed in October 2012 and I have only just realised I did not review this delightful place on our return home. So apologises to Martin and Kate who right from booking the room to leaving, could not have done more to make us feel so special and welcome

Breakfasts were super - amazing choice, everything perfect. We stayed in, on two nights for the evening meals and they were both imaginative and top notch tasty food, the best we have had in ANY veggie establishment and we have been veggie for 77 years between us!

Our room (downstairs) was so comfy we still talk about it. Clean, homely and so many thoughtful touches.

The weather was against us during our stay, heavy mist blotted out the view, which only means we will have to go again to see what we missed! Can't wait.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

That's quite a claim.....we are absolutely thrilled that Rockfield House is your "favourite place you have ever stayed", we couldn't aks for a better recommendation than that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rockfield House for just one night and were made to feel very comfortable and at home thanks to Martin who came out to greet us on arrival. He showed us into our room (the double ‘downstairs’ room) which was much bigger than we’d expected and very nicely decorated. He then showed us upstairs to the communal area where we were to have dinner later on, and the view from this rooms bay window was just beautiful.
We then went to get our bags in from the car during which time, Martin brought down some vegan cakes for us which was nice. It’s the little touches, isn’t it?
Later, when we went upstairs for dinner, a table had been set for two with a couple candles for ambience - it was lovely. We were presented with our chosen starter which was the soup. Personally, I am not a huge fan of soup but I can say that this was particularly nice! And the bread - a bit like naan I suppose - was very soft and fresh! We didn’t know what to expect from our main course as neither of us had tried it before but it was truly one of the best vegan meals I have had. Delicious! And dessert was just the right size - perfect! Three course meal - well worth the money. I’d have it all over again in a heartbeat!
The bed itself was incredibly comfy and the bathroom was spotless. It was obvious that they pride themselves on presentation (the house and the food) amongst other things.
Breakfast was exactly as I like it - a feast! All the usual options - coffee, juice, cereals, fruit, toast etc with the choice of a few hot meals if you like. I must say that the blackberry jam was absolutely delicious! As it turns out, Kate had made it herself from berries down the road. We definitely left feeling inspired, we will be ATTEMPTING to cook to their standard every now and then haha. Will take some practice though I‘m sure!

In a nutshell - Rockfield House completely exceeded our expectations in every way. We definitely intend to return, maybe in the summer.

Room tip: Make sure you know where the closest pubs are before you try to find one by foot in the dark haha.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abichloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Praise indeed - if we always manage to exceed expectations we will be very happy indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and only wished we could have stayed for longer. Kate and Martin made every effort to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We felt relaxed within minutes of arriving The setting is very peaceful and the views are lovely. The main highlight of our stay was the food. The meals were outstanding and we were so glad that we sampled the evening meal option as it was of the highest quality. It was great to have a vegan meal that was so different to the predictable and unimaginative options that you find in most restaurants. We would love to visit again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Welcome, comfortable, relaxed and well fed.....sounds like the perfect break. We're gald we 'hit the spot'. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Kate and Martin are great hosts and are both very friendly and helpful. The accommodation is tasteful and comfortable and the home made food is simply delicious, a real treat for vegetarians and vegans. This and the beauty of the Peak district makes for a perfect place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate Y, Owner at Rockfield House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

We like it very much when people say we are perfect - so thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews