We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday. Amazing property, stunning...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Allt Na Breac

Modern bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern bungalow
Living area Skylight in open living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Modern bungalow
Living area
Skylight in open living area
Modern kitchen
Double bedroom with crisp linen
Main bathroom
Luxury ensuite double bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Twin bedrooms
Terrace views
Fishing on your doorstep
Stunning lake views
Portavadie Marina 15 minutes walk
Nearby castle ruins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portavadie, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday. Amazing property, stunning location!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the property with our 4 children (age range 6 - 15) and our family dog. Every single one of us really enjoyed our stay. The house was immaculate and really well furnished. The location is stunning. The children spent most days enjoying water based activities as we took boats etc with us. They also really enjoyed fishing too. It is such a peaceful location. We honestly don't have a negative thing to say about our stay/the property or the location. Really hope to return one day, and we will be recommending to friends and family. Overall a perfect place to spend a relaxing week :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey L
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The owners have two properties, this and the An Cala Bungalow next door. The property had all mod cons, the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed (unusual in my experience). The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds. The views are fabulous and the only noise was from the birds. The house is lovely and so is the area. I highly recommend it.

We arrived in the dark and couldn't find the place so the owner had to drive out and find us. It's down a dirt track which when we went was poorly sign posted (which may now have changed). It's pretty remote so make sure you get clear directions and arrive in daylight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Trying to find it on our first night.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSM51
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect chill out time”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A modern lodge in an 'off the beaten track' location with two cottages adjacent to each other . The other lodge probably has the better outlook as it is orientated 90 degrees differently with more glass facing the loch .
Although has 6 beds it would be a crush for 6 and probably not enough crockery, but was fine for the two of us.
Furnished well , equipped with Next crockery , Jamie Oliver glasses etc and now has a SMALL bench top freezer which may have been added in response to previous criticism.
Comfy beds with thick duvets and cotton covers proving a good nights sleep.
Heating works well , too well until you master the controls !
Has a local water supply which is a little brown but a plentiful supply of bottled drinking water . Wouldn't be washing a white shirt in the washing machine here !!
Electric shower pressure in en suite was a little weak but over bath shower in bathroom had a bit more oomph !
Gravelled area surrounding cottage , but poor dog was like walking on hot coals ! A dirt track road up and over the hill with a few pot holes so watch the front of your car if its low .
No one in the other cottage after the first weekend so we had the area to ourselves with was fab although the other lodge is 6m away if you wanted privacy you may not get it if this was occupied.

No mobile signal or broadband connection for those that need to stay connected .

If you are lucky you may catch a glimpse of the deer on the hill behind the cottage and kites and eagles soaring in the sunshine, yes we had 21 c in Scotland in September , brilliant .

Some lovely hidden beaches just a couple of miles away where you need to walk 20 mins from the car but its worth it to have an expansive sandy beach all to yourself !

If you are heading here from the south it's worth getting the ferry over to Dunoon where you can pop into the off license to get return ticket for 2 with a car for about £23 which saves a long drive up past Loch Lomond and back down peninsula .
Some nice walks nearby but some are more of a rock scramble than a walk .
Pop down to the barn cafe at the cross roads for the best chocolate chip scones with Nutella cream , but dogs not allowed inside. Outside seating if weather is fine .
Had lunch up at the Oyster catcher pub just up the coast and they let dogs in too .
Nearest restaurant is just down the hill in the Marina at Portavardie , once you are back to the road it's just 5 mins away .

Overall did what it was supposed to , chilled and relaxed although had to pull out a day early due to a crisis back at work.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Alt Na Breac and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottuk20...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I cant recomend this enough. House was clean spacious had everything you needed and credit to owners and location was beautiful being next to the loch on a nice day was very pleasing. Area was stunning and local food was very good. Really was great trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Please spread the word. Iain ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage in an extremely scenic spot”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Allt Na Breac and can't recommend it highly enough - beautifully situated on the banks of Loch Ascog, the cottage boost beautifully scenic views. Our West highland terrier loved going for a dip in the Loch when he needed to cool down and we never had to worry about him wandering off,

Allt Na Breac is extremely well appointed and comfortable - very high grade bed linen and towels, stylish and functional crockery and glassware not to mention a washing machine, dishwasher and sky tv!
We found the cottage to be secluded and peaceful - we were lucky not to have anyone staying in the adjacent cottage and therefore had this beautiful spot all to ourselves.
A 5 minute drive (down a dusty single track road) takes you to Portavadie Marina which is very modern and chic with the feel of an upmarket marina in the Costas - you can take the ferry from here to Tarbet (we arrived via this route), or a 10-15 minute drive into Kames or Tighnabruaich.

All in all we found this to be a wonderful break (the glorious weather no doubt helped) and we would love to return. The only negative comment is more in line with the general signposting in the area - we struggled to find Ostel Bay which everyone raved about and initially missed the entrance to the cottage as someone had parked at the end of the road and obscured the signs.
This did not blight our stay however and we would recommend this spot to people looking for a quiet getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, seclusion and general cosiness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Spread the word. Iain ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing