We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveller rating
893
296
81
36
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
893
296
81
36
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities lodge kitchen outdoor pool couples retreat the cottages main restaurant scallops single track spa experience self catering changing rooms steam room relaxing break stunning location first class great facilities short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2020 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 2 night break staying in a premier lodge room which was really nice.The room was large with a king size bed 2 seater settee hanging space dressing table & outdoor seating on a private balcony.Portavadie was quiet but that was the idea a chill couple of days in our own tier before xmas chaos but it ticked all the boxes staff friendly,great food in a cozy enviroment all in all a great wee break & will defo return.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ambassador813174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

We arrived after quite an adventure to get to Portavadie. Was made welcome and had made all our reservations for the restaurant prior to arrival, this is just the new normal for now.
Staff were very helpful professional and friendly. I really can't believe the last person's review, plus they have only ever wrote one review!
We have travelled to alot of places and really good resorts and hotels and this is really up there. The restaurant quality was excellent. I choose the scallops and then langoustines, truly amazing.
The breakfast quality was great. Very helpful service. Quick and efficient with drinks order which is very important to me in the morning with my coffee.
The spa facilities are very good.
We enjoyed a late afternoon swim and jacuzzi and treated ourselves to a massage one of the days.
Can highly recommend the ishga all over body massage.
We liked the layout of the resort next to the marina. We stayed in a studio apartment, so we could have easy access out and about with our dog. We enjoyed watching the ferry and beautiful veiws of portavadie.
Unfortunately the weather was real stormy our first day so we made use of the facilities.
Would highly recommend this resort. We will definitely return.
Such a hidden gem in Scotland.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank pinkedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2020

Fourth (maybe even fifth !) time here and love the lodge rooms - our own little balcony, very clean, and even although there wasn't a service clean a little bag with everything provided for the second day along with fresh towels was provided. The breakfasts are first class and love the fact that you can still get the cold buffet selection to choose from, albeit served by the waiter along with the hot items chosen from the menu brought plated to the table. As for the dinner and cocktails, the food in this place is Michelin star quality - brilliant chefs. All staff though were very friendly and helpful. As for the pools, inside and out, simply amazing. It's a shame that time is limited to an hour at a time but is understandable and accepted in the given circumstances. Will be back soon !

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2020

My boyfriend and myself stayed 1 night at this beautiful seaside escape in our campervan together, and upon immediate arrival felt very unwelcomed. It seemed as though it was directed at our young age, but with an attendant being very judgemental towards our van aspirations whilst doing their evening rounds, the receptionist being extremely hard to adhere with because of a language barrier, and the other shouting over the phone, the evening meal being a total disaster due to not being able to access menus because of the poor system being ran, to then be mislead as to what was truly available. Our food came cold after all of the hassle to get it and then our desserts were forgotten about. Myself and my partner both felt that the two waiters attending us were extremely rude and made us feel that because of our age, we were not worth their profession. After spending almost 3 hours at the table, the food made us both feel very unwell and I understand this may only happen once in a blue moon but never the less should not go unspoken.
Beautiful place, but horrendous customer care which I think degrades the place as a whole unfortunately.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Usermct356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

Strange times we live in. Strange that a hotel would take steps above and beyond the Gov regulations. Children not allowed in the shop, apparently the Portavadie Faculty of science have made a revolutionary breakthrough discovery that children spread Covid-19 more than adults and thus should not be allowed in the shop.

Stayed in a cottage, its ok. Would have been nice to have daily maid service to make beds etc, 5 star hotel without daily maid service? Lets use COVID-19 as a reason to cut back and save money.....

Room tip: Somewhere not so parochial
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martinwD9842PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews