We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Summer House Park(Miller Lake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay Motel(Tobermory)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
26
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain troutgood sizebruce trailboat rentalsporta pottiesyoung manamazing spotget awayone nightprovincial parkrontobermorygilliestrailergravelmtcinflatables
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Our site, F7 was gravel covered and very level. Surrounded by trees so had a very "provincial park" feel to it. The gravel was much appreciated when the rain set in and allowed for good drainage. There is a portable toilet near the site that is the cleanest portable toilet I have ever used, and was consistently for the duration of our stay. Indoor plumbing and showers are a bit of a walk away, also kept very clean. Gillies Lake is beautiful and we enjoyed playing on the inflatables on the lake the day of our arrival. The weather did not cooperate with us so we didn't get to take advantage of the boat rentals, but we hope to next time. There are two small playgrounds for younger kids in two different locations in the camp. Overall a beautiful, quiet spot to enjoy the Northern Bruce Penninsula. About equal distance between Lion's Head and Tobermory.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 0622Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTCBrucePen, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

So happy you enjoyed your stay here at Mountain Trout Camp! You are right the weather was not very cooperative :( My husband Ron worked hard on that site this spring to make it more accommodating for small trailers and pop-up campers as well as tents with the fresh wood chips. Hopefully we will see you next year and the weather will be a little more sunnier and warmer! Kindest Regards, Ron & Kathie Parker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We took my niece for her first ever camping trip here and it was AMAZING! Ron and Kathie are such great people!! They are both SO friendly and helpful, the facilities were spotless and extremely well kept, the sites are beautiful and fairly private compared to most RV campesites. The location on Gillies lake is gorgeous. We found all the prices in the store, for wood, fire starter and boat rentals are more than reasonable. Definitely want to go back there again!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank NKrawczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonKathie, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Wow! So happy you had a wonderful time, your niece was such a cutie and loved her beautiful curls :) Ron & I take such great pleasure in sharing our wonderful little piece of paradise here at Gillies Lake. Hopefully we will see you again sometime too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Quiet wooded sites in a very clean, well maintained facility. They are constantly working to steadily add facilities. This is not a fancy spa kind of place, but a family oriented mix of seasonal, short term trailers and tents plus cabin renters. Accordingly The atmosphere is extremely friendly with the hosts doing everything they can to ensure all guests have fun. About forty minutes from Tobermory for a day there, plus all kinds of other outdoor activities with twenty minutes. Good fishing. Highly recommended to go there, but book early and even if not they will try to accommodate you. We got heavily rained on, but the clean, hot showers helped immensely.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank GreatLakesroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonKathie, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank-you so much for your kind words. Ron and I and very helpful friends try very hard to keep all of our campers happy:) here at Mountain Trout Camp even though it was not so favourable weather last week-end:(. Yes, our summer will be incredibly busy with everything being booked up for July and August!! Now taking just September and October bookings now. Hopefully we will see you again next spring!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This campground is an amazing spot ,on Gilles Lake,overnight sites very private,rental units are very clean and spacious. I go every year at least three times very relaxing spot but also lots of fishing and swimming for families ,very children friendly and pet friendly.Highly recommend.

Room Tip: thiis is a campground not a hotel
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonKathie, Owner at Mountain Trout Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Thanks Sheila for your wonderful review! Ron and I try very hard to keep our hidden treasure of beauty in tip top shape so we may share it with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We were able to get a last minute booking here last fall for the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. Both our family and our friends brought our trailers and were pleasantly surprised to find some of the best, simple and clean sites ever. The large driveway made it easy for us to park (new trailers, nervous drivers). The sites had cedar chips instead of mud, nice gravel and very friendly campers. The lake view is super and the kids played in the woods for hours. Looking forward to going back this spring!

Room Tip: All the sites are good, if your new to trailers let them know and they can suggest a site that is easy to park in.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tripMongrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews