We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rickerby Grange
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$227
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Powe House(Portinscale)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent Bank(Portinscale)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
94
62
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
62
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarmers armslovely breakfast roomnice pubevening meals arewarm welcomelovely little placesingle bedlocal pubhotel is lovelyguest housefamily roomreturn in the futurefull englishcomfy bedexcellent showerample parkingnew owners
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed for two nights at Rickerby Grange over the Easter holidays and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Our room was warm, comfortable and spacious with fantastic views of the nearby fells. The breakfast was excellent: smoked salmon and scrambled egg or a full English (including the nicest black pudding I've ever tasted!), with toast and choice of cereals. Phil and Charlotte were so welcoming and friendly, not to mention very helpful, giving us lots of useful tips on great places to eat, hike and go sightseeing. Also, their kids were just adorable and very polite, eager to help serve up breakfast (how often do you get your toast delivered by Superman?!). The family have only recently taken over at Rickerby Grange and are clearly doing a fantastic job; we definitely plan to book with them again when we next visit the Lake District!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil N, Owner at Rickerby Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks guys. Great to have you to say so SO pleased you made it up Skiddaw. So many more fells to climb now! We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

visisted with the wife and dogs for a last minute bank holiday booking. pricing was very reasonable and altho we had a smaller room in comparison to the price of neigbouring b&b's and the fact we booked last minute it was a very fair.

the b&b is set in portinscale which is a 20 minute leisurly walk into town or a 5 minute drive. the biggest benifit for the location is the massive car park the place has - this will be a big asset in summer when parking is at a premium.

we arrived and was met by the owner phill in the car park who gave us a hand with our bags and showed us our room. the room was clean, warm with a excellent shower with great pressure. nothing worse than a trickly shower!

breakfast in the morning is fruit, ceral and then a full cooked breakfast. all local produce and very nice. the dinning room has a log burner and a couple of settees too.
theres also lots of walks around the area and plenty of eatries in keswick.

from talking to phil and family theyve only just taken over the hotel after a big change in careers. on efffort alone they are doing a fantastic job. they have inherited some of the previous owners 'rules', one of which was that dogs werent to be left alone in the rooms at any time. holidaying in several dog friendly b&b, this is always the case on a night but acceptable at breakfast - as dogs arent allowed in the breakfast rooms. the previous owners didnt even allow this during breakfast - reading through the old reviews someone actually left after booking in because of this. to appeal to the dog walkers this 'rule' would benifit from been relaxed and is something i discussed with phill, who was happy for the feedback. on the flip side we wasnt charged any extra for the dogs, something which we usually are and accept is part of the dog friendly package.

overall it was a very pleasant stay and highly recommend the grange. we will hopefully re-visit at some point and hope to find phill and family have aquired (two) dogs of their own for the children :-)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fredbear_Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil N, Owner at Rickerby Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for such a detailed review - super helpful and we enjoyed having you to stay. Fitbit charger on its way to the post office soon we promise! Phil, Charlotte and boys (ps like the ambition for TWO dogs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

arrived and checked in smoothly, very welcoming. nothing was a problem, very helpful with advice about places to visit.a must is the poached eggs on breakfast they were fab!!!thank for a lovely stay and next time we come to Keswick we will be back, Thank you and the best of luck for a successful future ;-]

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank angelasyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil N, Owner at Rickerby Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks so much for your review and kind words - we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Phil, Charlotte and family, made our stay in the Lake District, very enjoyable. Having just taken over the hotel, they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The hotel, the town of Keswick, in fact, the whole area, is extremely dog friendly. There are ongoing improvements being carried out to the hotel. Although, no evening meals are provided, the breakfast is superb and served in a lovely breakfast room. Using this hotel as a base, the area has many walks, for all abilities. Flat walks around Derwent Water and walks up the many hills. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, including Nip our Border Collie and have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel

Room Tip: The best views are on the car park side of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chopper040997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil N, Owner at Rickerby Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks you so much family Gilbert! We loved having you to stay, it's great to be able to host families - especially ones we can help discover the area and enjoy it as much as we do. We hope to see you again sometime - although we know it's a long way from home! All best, Charlotte, Phil and the boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Our Stay at Rickerby Grange was as good as it gets. We have now visited twice in 4 weeks. Phil & Charlotte are very attentive and Portinscale itself is a delightful village.
We will be visiting again in the near future.
Craig & Hannah

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hannahandcraig2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil N, Owner at Rickerby Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much Hannah and Craig - great to have you back again - hope to see you soon! Phil and Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews