We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for families and day-trips”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rooks' Retreat

Rooks' Retreat front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rooks' Retreat front elevation
Fully fitted kitchen Double bedroom downstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Rooks' Retreat front elevation
Fully fitted kitchen
Double bedroom downstairs
Lounge
Twin bedroom upstairs
Double bedroom upstairs
Lounge - digitally enhanced
Single bedroom upstairs
Double bedroom upstairs en-suite
Double bedroom downstairs en-suite
Enclosed rear garden
Manorbier Beach -1.5 miles
Tenby harbour
Manorbier castle
Stackpole Quay - 6 miles
Caldey island, just off Tenby
Seals at Skomer Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hodgeston, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sueford17...
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not quite up to standard”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My stay got off to a bad start due to the ‘iron man’ competition the house hadn’t bern cleaned, so it was cleaned after I arrived. The cold evenings were not pleasant as the heating wasn’t working, there was an unpleasant smell in one of the bedrooms and the garden was looking very neglected. The house is up for sale which says it all really. Lots of niggles - could do better. Loved the Pembrokeshire countryside and coast so if up to scratch would have bern ideally placed for touring the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
The roads leading to Rooks Retreat had been closed during the annual Welsh Iron man competition, so the cleaners could not access the cottage in time, despite several attempts to gain access. The cleaners reported a very positive response from the guests, after they had cleaned, with no concerns raised. The heating had been accidentally turned off prior to guest arrival, but this was not reported until departure, so we were unable to immediately resolve the issue. A photograph of the heating controls has now been added to the guest handbook and instructions left with the cleaner to ensure that it is functioning, before arrival of the guests.
The lawns are mown weekly and the weeding, whilst scheduled, was not completed in time due to the poor weather. The sale of the cottage has no bearing on cottage quality, we implement yearly improvements, testament to the decade of year on year repeat bookings.
We thank you for your custom and hope that the issues raised did not detract you from your stay in our wonderful part of Pembrokeshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireBW
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We chose this property because it ticked all of our boxes in terms of location, layout & amenities. Previous reviews were good, although we now realise were a few years old.
The house is in a great location, with easy access to the local area, yet tucked away in a nice quiet road. We enjoyed the peace & quiet & had we like the house a little more we'd probably have spent more time in it.
The house is best described as 'in need of some TLC', everything is looking a little tired & worn & it's furnished in an eclectic mix of furniture which doesn't really warrant the term 'Stylish' as advertised. The property is currently on the market & the owners don't live locally which probably explains things.
There were also lots of silly little niggles of things which needed attention like dead light bulbs (6), non-working extractor fan, broken bins, outside light broken, smoke alarm not working, loose floor boards. All little things but add up to make you feel a bit fed up.
The layout is great, if a little cosy in the living area. The downstairs bedroom with en-suite was perfect for my elderly mum. Upstairs the 3 bedrooms are fine & the beds really comfortable. You should note that the only upstairs bathroom/wc is off the main bedroom which can be a pain.
The kitchen is a decent size & pretty well-equipped. That said, like the furniture, it's a mish-mash of non-matching stuff that feels like it's all a bit 2nd hand with stained mugs etc. It's not the end of the world but doesn't make it feel particularly 'lovely'. We were also surprised not to find an oven glove & ended up having to go out & buy one which was a pain. We could have done without the dishwasher flooding the kitchen floor the 1st time we used it & the 45 mins it took to mop everything up. The plumbing under the sink was poorly done & it looked like the pipes had popped out when the cleaner had put her things back in the cupboard. We pushed it back together & reported to the owners who were most apologetic & promised to get it fixed but we have no idea if this happened during our stay as we didn't hear anything more.
The garden could be really lovely but was in need of a good tidy up or at least the grass cutting & big stinging nettles removed. There was also a huge pile of rubbish sacks, attracting flies, which didn’t make sitting out particularly attractive. No need to clean the dirty garden furniture.
All in all a disappointing experience given the price paid. We will certainly return to the area but not to Rooks Retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
We take all reviews into consideration and thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found the location of the property to your liking, peaceful and in a great location with a great layout, especially the downstairs en-suite with comfortable beds. With reference to the reported issues, the dishwasher outlet had become detached, despite being in place for a number of years, but was fixed by the cleaner, once it had been reported. The lawns are mown weekly and the weeding, whilst scheduled, was not completed in time for your stay due to the poor weather. Light bulbs and smoke alarm batteries were replaced, as soon as we had been notified: we will now include a weekly check, to ensure that they can be replaced promptly when required.
We thank you for your custom and hope that the issues raised did not detract you from your stay in our wonderful part of Pembrokeshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannah397
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location for families and day-trips”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We just spent a very enjoyable May half term at Rook's Retreat, sharing the cottage with another family. With five children under six the garden was fantastic, as it is enclosed and big enough for them all to run about. The location of the cottage is very convenient, with shops nearby for milk etc, as well as Pembroke just down the road. We were also within twenty minutes of plenty of choices for days out, and recommend a visit to the Dinosaur Park, Carew Castle, and Tenby for its shopping and beaches. We'd also recommend the Tudor Lodge in nearby Jameston for a dinner out.

The beds and sofas were very comfortable, and although we were a little cramped in the living area on wet days (with so many little ones under foot) with so many options for days out it wasn't really a problem.

I'd also like to mention that the owner was very friendly, helpful and prompt in all communications which sounds like a small thing but actually goes a long way to making the holiday experience good.

All in all we were very happy with the accommodation for the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds, sofas, and the lovely garden
Liked least: The kitchen floor and shower were not particularly clean upon arrival
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Many thanks for the kind review and the positive comments about our communication. Glad that you had an enjoyable stay; Pembrokeshire certainly has a lot to offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin T
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent! Very spacious and very well equipped”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Rooks' Retreat was brilliant. Highly recommended.
We stayed for 6 nights with 2 adults and 4 kids (7-10) and still had plenty of room. VERY well equipped: From washing machine through tumble drier to microwave and dishwasher and three bathrooms. There is a wide selection of board games and puzzles as well as a nice selection of DVDs. Everything was there from towels, bedding, even soap, dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid.
The garden is perfect for the family and even had a little footie goal and a barbecue. The kids also enjoyed the wifi access.
Hodgeston is very quaint. Shopping etc. will have to be done in neighbouring villages or in Pembroke though.
Loads to do in the surrounding area. We enjoyed Folly Farm and the local beaches, but there are also loads of parks and other family outings available.
The home owner and his family are very nice and were very, very helpful with any questions we had.
We will be back as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sannyho
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, spacious, comfortable, relaxing, all you could need and plenty of rooks!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Rooks retreat was fab. We got there a little earlier than check in and met the housekeeper who was warm and accommodating. The cottage is plenty big enough with everything you need. It's beautifully warm and peaceful and very clean. The housekeeper even arranged an Easter egg hunt for my boys. I couldn't fault it. Fab location right near a quaint church and small stream. The garden is fully secure and perfect for young children. We would definitely visit here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
Hello. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your Easter break at Rooks' Retreat - especially the egg hunt. It's lovely to have such positive feedback. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$114
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing