We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful cottage in a wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tilbury Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
West Bagborough, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsten18...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage in a wonderful place”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed for a short break in this wonderful cosy cottage so well equipped and beautifully decorated and in the most idyllic setting above Tilbury farm. We arrived late it night so the welcome package of milk, juice, butter, bread, eggs, bacon and sausages was really nice. Matt waited up for us and was so nice and helpful throughout the stay. The views from the cottage are absolutely magnificent and the walks in the area around Quantock hills are highly recommendable. The kitchen is so well equipped so it it easy to prepare your own food, but we also had dinner at the local pub "the Rising sun" and this was also very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice s
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning Property in Spectacular Location”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 for a stay in April 2011

"Tilbury farm is nestled at the foot of the hauntingly beautiful Quantock Hills and enjoys breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside. The guest accommodation is set in its own gardens a distance from the main farm house and is beautifully appointed with quality linen and furnishings throughout. Tilbury Farm has exceptional charm and oozes comfort, good taste and luxury.

As Tilbury Farm's first guests we were wowed by the owners hospitality, generosity, attention to detail, the spectacular views and the high quality of the guest accommodation. We will definitely return. Highly Recommended".

Dr P & J Sutton

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of Accommodation and Location
Liked least: Nothing at all that I could possibly think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe M
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An amazing place to stay in a stunning part of the world!”
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed here for just one evening in June. It was great fun driving along the windy single lane roads to find the place, with glimpses of beautiful landscape along the way.

Driving in to Tilbury farm, the view across the lower landscapes is just breathtaking and has to be seen to be believed.

On arrival Matt and Jenny and their beautiful children (and not to forget the two friendly goats) welcomed us warmly and we felt very much at home.

The cottage is beautifully done, with high quality furnishings and is spotlessly clean. There is nothing missing as far as I could see.

I would recommend to anyone that they visit this area and they should definitely stay at the Tilbury farm cottage.

My biggest mistake - not staying longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the property, the welcome
Liked least: leaving.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 5 July 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amersham
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing