We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Crucero(Cojimies)
US$68
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Caracola(Cojimies)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Cojimies(Cojimies)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Playa Lodge(Cojimies)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Edilma's Lodge(Cojimies)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Toquilla Hotel(Cojimies)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
11
25
15
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
25
15
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichebeautiful placevalentinaquitobeacheschef
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

One of my favourite places on the coast. Why? Well the sisters who run the place are friendly and helpful, and most importantly, one of them is a chef and cooks some of the best food you'll have in Ecuador. The first time I went, I was super hungry after doing reconstruction work on the coast, and the food blew my mind.

The menu is pretty straightforward... fresh fish or seafood cooked in a variety of different ways. The langoustines encocado and a kind of seafood risotto (the name of which I've forgotten) are my main recommendations. For desert, the coconut flan or chocolate cake are equally dangerous. Breakfast is included and perfectly decent but perhaps not quite up to the incredible standard of lunch and dinner. Even better, you can ask for food that's not on the menu... whether that be a viche soup (not ceviche), or a gluten free option.

Now the truth is that the rooms, swimming pool and grounds could do with a lot more TLC. Fine for me, but certainly not up to the standard of the food. However, you'll get good quality clean sheets and great towels.

I'd recommend the owners:
-Update the rooms (especially the bathrooms) a little.
-Try harder to clean up some of the dog poo (pet friendly place)
-Try and clean up the beach a bit more. I realise that plastic pollution is a big issue here, but we can help by doing our bit. Perhaps the guests could be encouraged as well.
-The swimming pool needs some TLC. At the least, it should have something to help the less mobile to get in (steps!), and the area by the shower needs a proper clean.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fergka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

This was our third visit to this awesome lodge, reasonable prices, excellent food, private beach, lots of space to relax and enjoy nature, two thumbs up because it's pet friendly.
Weak cellular signal, no internet on premises (you can find some spots at beach, good enough to tweet or check fb).

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Santiago P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

The food is great. The best I have had in Ecuador outside my own kitchen. That my Ecuadorian wife is looking over my shoulder has no bearing on that statement. I am from the SF Bay Area and was in the restaurant business for 50 years so I know a little about food. The two sisters, Luisa and Valentina, who are the main cooks and speak English, produce excellent food consistently. I am a celiac and they are able to give me excellent tasty gluten free meals. Since I have a refractory condition, I cannot eat any carbs and I am accomodated. They also make some of the best deserts that I have ever tasted. Just a bit on my tongue is like a symphony DAMN!!! I have only had a couple of flans better than what I make and Valentina's is one. The simple looking dish in the stainless cup is made from butter, crude sugar, ripe banana and rum flamed. Exquisite!!!

The accommodations are simple, clean with an artisans flare in design and execution with original art . I like it so much that I have been there several times. It is quiet. There are miles of beach mostly devoid of scantily clad bodies but with lots of shells, coral, colorful pebbles and sand dollars for the kids.. Also for the owls and the pussycats of all ages there is a beautiful pea green boat in a corner of the dining room that looks as if it is ready to “sail away for a year and a day”. There is a story Valentina has about her and the boat.

A large elaborate wedding was staged while I was there once. For the romantic soul it seems ideal for such an occasion A good time was had by all including the observers.

As of April 2016 there was no internet and a very weak cell signal

Room Tip: I have stayed in four different rooms and all were pleasant and comfortable
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WonderlandinAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

It was so horrible that we left. The rooms are old, dirty and in big need of maintenance. Pool is not inviting at all. The only plus is the beach. But that doesn't make up for the horrible condition of the hotel. It needsa lot of TLC. Will never go back.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank traveler4life71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equinoccion, Gerente at Cocosolo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Su comentario es tan negativo y poco objetivo que por un momento pense en no responderlo, por que, que se puede decir ante su percepciòn, este es un eco lodge con su 30 años y tiene sus cosas buenas y tambien tiene sus falencias que dia a dia vamos superando, mas el calificativo de "horrible" responde a que simplemente no era el tipo de hotel para su gusto y no encontrò una palabra mas adecuada en su lèxico, por ejemplo para mi es "horrible" estar en un hotel todo encementado, sin atenciòn personalizada, con precios astronòmicos y todo parte de un sistema globalizado de una super corporacion, capaz esto hubiese sido mas de su gusto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Needs a little love/maintenance. I got a room which was full of spiders, and by spiders I mean huge nasty spiders that crawled all around every night. Bathrooms had hot water which was excellent, but there were small bugs everywhere. Food was pretty fine, most ingredients are grown on site. Pool wasn't very attractive, but the beach is awesome. Cell phone signal is non-existent in this area. My advise to owners is to put some love into the place, they have an awesome property, they only need to keep it clean, and pay attention to details. Also maybe wifi for guests since communication with the outside world is absolutely poor.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews