We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
17
4
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
4
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caribbean dream hot tub back home snorkel gear starfish point white sand beach rum point the kitchen screen bay house island dock backyard ocean mile georgetown
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Be sure to do your homework on these houses, they are located on a canal, not directly on the ocean. There are piers and grass in the water and their are houses across the canal from these duplex houses. The area is peaceful and the houses are roomy. The screens go two stories high and allow the house to be completely opened by pushing the sliding doors completely back. This allows a nice sitting area and brings the outside in. The second story balcony is even enclosed by the screened in area. Rum Point is near these houses and provide a nice place to swim and snorkel within just a few minutes drive.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank turquoisewaterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Would definitely go again.
I love stingray city! It's a quite island. I think it would be a nice retire to retire there.island houses of cayman Kai.
Trip adviser I ilike. I do have lots of time sharing.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Spent a week here with another couple and it was perfect! Huge space, loaded with everything you could want.

We kayaked day and every night to see the bioluminescence! Do not give up trying if it does t work the first night you try. We experienced different levels of success on different nights!

Do check out Rum Point for snorkeling and the beach.

You will need a rental car as the Kai's are well off the beaten path. But that is the biggest plus about this spot! Quiet, tranquil and tropical. Perfect.

Room tip: All the Kai's are equally well located! No spot to avoid that we could see.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Makettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We travelled to Grand Cayman, Rum Point in late May 2016. We travelled with another family that also stayed in an Island House property (#21 Mango Kai & #17 Kai Kotch). We were a party of 9 - with 4 teenagers and a 10 year old. We normally vacation at all-inclusive resorts, and we were a bit worried that the kids wouldn't have enough to do since this is one of the quieter area's of the island. I'm happy to say, that wasn't the case. We found this area of the island to be a sanctuary. It was beautiful, peaceful, safe and fun. The accommodations at the Island Houses were perfect, each unit had 2 bedrooms each with their own full bathroom. The 2-story lanai was fabulous, the perfect place to start and end your day! There was more than enough room for all of us! The Island House has a small but adequate pool, that most days we had to ourselves. And if we wanted a more lively atmosphere all we had to to was cross the street (a 2 minute walk) to Rum Point Beach. Rum Point Beach offered great food (both casual and formal), amazing drinks (best pina colada & mudslides I've ever had!), music, hammocks, watersports and much more. Each night we ended our day at Rum Point watching some of the most breathtaking sunsets I have ever seen! Our Island House units were equiped with everything we could want, including grills, kayaks, bikes and a hot tub. We were able to kayak and bike to Starfish Point, Kaibo Marina and other areas of the island. We also enjoyed kayaking at night and experiencing the bioluminescent algea! (truly an amazing experience!)

Our favorite restraurants were 'Over the Edge', 'The Lighthouse' and 'Sunset Grill' (great fish tacos).

This was one of the most relaxing vacations I've had in a long time! Definitely planning to go back!

Date of stay: May 2016
2  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

If you are coming to Rum Point and looking for a place to stay, then Kai Time (#14) is the place to stay. It is truly wonderful. If you are deciding *whether* to come to Rum Point, read the bottom of the review.

We stayed in “Kai Time” (#14) for 10 days and it was amazing. The house is the best designed house we’ve ever stayed in, with a huge two storey screened-in lanai with a wall of disappearing glass doors that make the whole ground floor seem open to the outside. The lanai and balconies off the bedrooms offered beautiful views of the inlet. We loved the house’s beachy décor and the cute, beach-themed accents everywhere. The house was positioned to make it seem like we had the place to ourselves –our neighbours on both sides were out of view.

Amenities include 3 kayaks (2 single and a double) that were easily brought to the beach, snorkeling gear including flippers, a safe that held a 15” laptop, with a basket inside so you don’t lose your wallet and keys in the back, games, 2 bikes with helmets, DVD’s, free calls to the U.S. and Canada, free and fast wifi, ceiling fans in every room in the house along with A/C, washer, dryer, dishwasher, barbecue etc. etc.

The walk to Rum Point was about 2 minutes. The restaurant there had excellent fish and chips, cute pastel painted picnic tables, a beautiful pier with easy-access snorkeling, beautiful turquoise water and lots of chairs. It was a 3 minute drive to Kaibo Yacht Club and Starfish Point.

Our favourite activies were (in no order) the Kaibo Beach Barbecue, Starfish Point (an almost deserted beach just past the yacht club where the water is filled with starfish), the night-kayaking on the bioluminescent bay and Stingray City. We went to Seven Mile Beach but found the scene there too crowded for us.

If you are deciding whether to stay in Rum Point/Cayman Kai, here are a few pros and cons:

Pros:
1) the water is very calm, and divided into small bays, so the area is perfect for families with babies and toddlers.
2) There are beach activities for older kids and adults, like paddle-boarding, jetskiing off beach, snorkeling, diving excursions, etc. as well as the beach barbecue on Mondays (all these cost extra).
3) If you go to Starfish Point you have access to peace and quiet. In the Rum Point beach, there are party nights for people who are looking for something livelier.

Cons:
1) you have to rent a car (~$40 U.S./day for a Corolla once you add gov’t fees), and you have to drive on the "wrong" side about 40 mins to get to the house through multiple roundabouts and you have to go back when you need groceries. We found this very stressful.
2) The Rum Point beach is crowded with chairs shoe-horned in multiple rows. There is a good chance you will be right next to a group of people talking so loudly you will not be able to hear yourself think. If you arrive by 9:30am you have your pick of chairs, but cannot pick your neighbours.
3) the beaches here do not compare in beauty to the long stretches of white sand beach you find in Grace Bay or Negril or the beaches of Cuba. The turquoise water is gorgeous, but the beaches themselves on the east end are very short (200 yards?) so you can’t go for beach walks.

Room tip: We looked at all the houses and thought the location of #14 was the best; no view of neighbours, view of the water from all rooms.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Havanistim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman K, Manager at Island Houses of Cayman Kai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews